معرض Art Dubai في زمن الكورونا: ما هو جديده

لمحة عن برنامج المعرض الجديد مع تركيزه على بلدان الجنوب

by

توقف عالم الفن لأشهر متتالية جراء انتشار فيروس كورونا، وقد واجه المشهد الفني في الشرق الأوسط نفس المصير، حيث تم إلغاء أو تأجيل أكبر الأحداث في المنطقة، أو في أفضل الأحوال إعادة تكييفها مع العالم الرقمي. كما هو الحال بالنسبة لمعرض Art Dubai الذي أقيم بالكامل على الإنترنت في مارس الماضي.

بالنسبة لهذا العام، أعلن المعرض الفني أنه سيعود بشكل مادي خلال دورته لعام 2021 والتي من المقرر أن تقام في الفترة 17-23 مارس. ولكن قبل ذلك كله أعلن معرض Art Dubai عن إطلاق برنامج معارض فردية جديدة على الإنترنت لمنح المشاهدين فرصة التعرّف على المعرض القادم.

سيقيم البرنامج الجديد الذي أطلق في 29 سبتمبر بعنوان Art Dubai Portrait Exhibition معرضاً فردياً كل أسبوعين وسيضم بعضاً من أفضل الفنانين من بلدان الجنوب مع التركيز بشكل خاص على منطقة الشرق الأوسط والمغتربين.

تبدأ المعارض الفردية مع معرض “أبجدية عالمية” للفنان تيمو ناصري حيث يعرض أحدث أعماله التي تستكشف التصاميم الهندسية ومعانيها. في حين سيتم على التوالي عرض أعمال الفنان الإماراتي محمد أحمد إبراهيم والفنان العراقي الرائد المقيم في لندن ضياء العزاوي الذي اشتهر بدعمه للمشهد الفني العربي الحديث، بالإضافة إلى أعمال تجمع الثنائي “نقش” المقيمتان في عمان ودبي.

بالنسبة لإقامة دورة المعرض المادية في مارس، لن يعود معرض Art Dubai إلى موطنه في مدينة جميرا بشكل كامل. وبدلاً من ذلك سيتنقل بين مدن مختلفة في جميع أنحاء الإمارات العربية المتحدة للاحتفاء بالذكرى الخمسين لتأسيس الدولة الخليجية. في ظل الالتزام بتدابير السلامة اللازمة لمنع انتشار كوفيد-19 سيتخذ المعرض شكلاً جديداً من خلال إقامة مجموعة من الفعاليات في الهواء الطلق.

artdubai.ae

 

الصورة الرئيسية: Dia al-Azzawi, After Sunset2018, Acrylic on canvas, 120 x 150 cm

شارك هذا المقال

Art Dubai in The Age of Coronavirus: What to Expect

Inside the fair’s new programme and its focus on the global south

by

With the pandemic at play, the art world came to a halt for months on end. The Middle East’s scene witnessed the same fate, with the region’s biggest events having been cancelled, postponed—or at best, readapted to the digital realm. That was the case for Art Dubai’s, which held an entirely online edition last March

As for this year, the art fair announced that it will make a return with a physical fair for their 2021 edition, which is set to take place in March 17-20. But ahead of it all, Art Dubai announced a new online solo artist exhibitions programme to give viewers a peak into the upcoming fair. 

The new programme, which kicked off on September 29 and is entitled ‘Art Dubai Portrait Exhibition’, will run a solo exhibition every two weeks featuring some of the Global South’s best artists, with a particular focus on the Middle East and its diaspora. 

Kicking it off is ‘A Universal Alphabet’, a showcase by artist Timo Nasseri featuring his latest works, featuring works that explore geometric patterns and their meanings. The exhibitions that follow will showcase the works of Emirati artist Mohamed Ahmed Ibrahim, London-based pioneering Iraqi artist Dia Azzawi, who is known for pushing the modern Arab art scene forward, as well as Amman and Dubai based artist duo Naqsh Collective. 

For their physical edition in March, Art Dubai will return to its home of Madinat Jumeirah. But it’s moving beyond it too, part of the fair’s programme will be presented in different cities across the UAE to celebrate the Gulf nation’s 50th anniversary. Taking into consideration the necessary safety measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19, the fair will take a new format with a host of outdoor events.

artdubai.ae

 

Main image: Dia al-Azzawi, After Sunset2018, Acrylic on canvas, 120 x 150 cm

Share this article