وفاة الفنانة والكاتبة اللبنانية إيتل عدنان عن عمر يناهز96 عاماً

لترقد روحها بسلام

by

ببالغ الحزن والأسى تلقينا نبأ رحيل الشاعرة وكاتبة المقالات والرسامة والمؤثرة اللبنانية إيتل عدنان في منزلها في باريس يوم الأحد عن عمر يناهز 96 عاماً، وغني عن القول بأنّها فنانة نادرة ومتكاملة ذات موهبة متقدة وفريدة.

اشتهرت عدنان بروايتها الشهيرة “ست ماري روز” التي نشرتها في عام 1978 وتتناول أحداث الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية. وقد تمت ترجمة هذه الرواية المستوحاة من قصة حقيقية إلى أكثر من 10 لغات وحصدت العديد من الجوائز.

كما تميّزت هذه المبدعة بكتابة الشعر، ونشرت مجموعات متعددة، كان آخرها في أكتوبر 2020، كما اشتهرت في عالم الفن منذ بداية من الثمانينيات. ويجري حالياً عرض أحدث أعمال عدنان بعنوان “Etel Adnan: Light’s New Measure” في متحف غوغنهايم في مدينة نيويورك.

ولدت عدنان عام 1925 في بيروت لأب سوري وأم يونانية، ودرست في جامعة السوربون في باريس قبل أن تصبح أستاذة فلسفة في كاليفورنيا. وقد قضت حياتها بالتنقل بين باريس وكاليفورنيا.

شارك هذا المقال

Lebanese Artist and Author Etel Adnan Dies at 96

RIP

by

A poet, essayist and painter, Etel Adnan wore many hats in her lifetime. The influencial Lebanese artist has died in her Paris home on Sunday. She was 96 years old.

Adnan is best known for her acclaimed novel ‘Sitt Marie Rose’ which was published in 1978 and set during Lebanon’s civil war. The novel, which is based on a true story, went on to be translated into more than 10 languages and earned her numerous awards.

The creative force later became known for her poetry, publishing multiple collections, the latest of which in October 2020. She was also renowned in the art world, beginning the 80s. Adnan’s latest exhibition ‘Etel Adnan: Light’s New Measure’ is currently on display at the Guggenheim Museum in New York City.

Adnan was born in 1925 in Beirut to a Syrian father and Greek father. She studied at the Sorbonne in Paris before becoming a philosophy professor in California. Eventually, Adnan went on to split her time between Paris and California.

Share this article