النسخة السعودية من مهرجان كان السينمائي تُعلن عن لجنة التحكيم

مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي يختار المخرج أوليفر ستون الحائز على جوائز الأوسكار لرئاسة لجنة التحكيم

by

يُشارف مهرجان الأفلام الأوّل من نوعه في المملكة العربية السعودية على البدء، وقد تمّ الإعلان عن أوّل عضو في لجنة التحكيم الخاصة به. حيث تمّ اختيار المخرج الأمريكي الأسطوري “أوليفر ستون” لرئاسة لجنة تحكيم مهرجان فيلم البحر الأحمر الافتتاحي.

سيكون هذا المهرجان الذي سيُقام في جدّة في الفترة ما بين 12-21 مارس بمثابة مرحلة هامّة في تاريخ المملكة المحافظة والتي قامت فقط منذ 3 سنوات برفع الحظر الذي فرضته على دور السينما في السابق لمدة 35 سنة كاملة.

ومع الإعلان عن اختيار المخرج ستون الحائز على جوائز الأوسكار لرئاسة لجنة التحكيم كشف المهرجان عن تفاصيل تتعلق برنامجه، حيث سيُعرض 107 فيلم تتنافس جميعها على ست جوائز، وسيتم تقديم جائزة اليُسر الذهبيّة لأفضل فيلم روائي، وجائزة اليُسر الفضيّة لأفضل مخرج وأفضل سيناريو وأفضل ممثّلة وممثّل، وأفضل تصوير سينمائي. كما تمّ الإعلان عن جوائز نقديّة ستمنح للفائزين بالمرتبتين الأولى والثانية بقيمة 100,000 دولار و 50,000 دولار على التوالي.

وإلى جانب المسابقة، سيقدم المهرجان العرض الأول لفيلم The Assistant للكاتبة “كيتي غرين” المستوحى من فضيحة المنتج هارفي واينستين، و فيلم “المرشّحة المثاليّة” للمخرجة هيفاء المنصور، وفيلم Better Days للممثّل ديريك تشانغ.

كما سيشارك المخرجان المحليّان فارس وصهيب قدس للمرّة الأولى في هذا المهرجان من خلال فيلمهما “شمس المعارف”، والذي تمّ تمويله من قبل المهرجان بعد الإعلان عن منافسة مفتوحة أُطلقت لدعم السينما العربية.

وحول اختيار المخرج ستون لرئاسة لجنة التحكيم، أعرب المخرج محمد الصبّاغ عن تقديره لستون قائلاً “إنّنا سعداء لكون المخرج أوليفر ستون رئيساً للجنة التحكيم” ثم أضاف “إن ستون مخرج فريد من نوعه وأفلامه عن حرب فيتنام والحياة السياسية الأمريكية قد غيّرت نظرتنا إلى التاريخ وأسهمت في تقديم مفاهيم جديدة من شأنها تحدّي الحقائق السائدة.”

 كما أضاف “لا شكّ بأنّ خبرته وحسّه السينمائي سيشكّلان مصدر إلهام كبير للجيل الجديد من السينمائيين الذي يتنافسون على جائزة اليُسر”.

شارك هذا المقال

Saudi Arabia’s Answer to Cannes Film Festival Announces Jury

Red Sea Film Festival lands Oscar-winning director Oliver Stone

by

Saudi Arabia’s first film festival is almost here, and its first jury member has been announced. Legendary American filmmaker Oliver Stone has been appointed as the president of the jury at the inaugural Red Sea Film Festival.

Due to take place throughout March 12-21 in Jeddah, the film festival marks a significant time for the conservative kingdom, which lifted its 35-year-long, ban on cinemas a mere three years ago.

Along with Academy Award winner Stone’s appointment, the festival announced more details of its program. A total of 107 features will be premiered during the festival and will compete for six prizes: The Golden Yusr for Best Feature Film, and Silver Yusrs for Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Actress, Best Actor, and Best Cinematic Contribution. The top two prize winners will be awarded with $100,000 and $50,000, respectively.

Alongside the competition, the festival will also serve as the platform for the Middle Eastern premiere of Kitty Green’s Weinstein-inspired drama ‘The Assistant’, Haifaa Al-Mansour’s ‘The Perfect Candidate’, and Derek Tsang’s ‘Better Days’.

Local director duo Faris and Suhaib Godus are also due to make their debut at the festival. Their film, ‘The Book of Sun’, which was funded by the festival after an open call competition, was launched in a bid to support Arab cinema.

As for Stone’s appointment, festival director Mahmoud Sabbagh was quick to celebrate. We are most pleased to have Oliver Stone leading our Jury,” he said in a statement. “Stone is a one-of-a-kind. His incredible films about the Vietnam War and American political life have changed our thinking of history, giving new perspectives and challenging accepted truths.
“For a new breed of filmmakers competing for the Yusr awards, his watchful eye and sense of authorship will be inspirational,” He added.

Share this article