صور عاطفية لعاملات المنازل في بيروت

Aline Deschamps مصوّرة فوتوغرافية تناضل من أجل جعل صوت عاملات المنازل مسموعاً

كان تأثير فيروس كورونا كبيراً وواسع النطاق ليس فقط على المستوى الصحي وإنما على المستوى الاقتصادي أيضاً. لقد خلقت إجراءات الحجر في العديد من المدن حول العالم انقسامات طبقية عميقة.

إن اقتران الأزمة الاقتصادية الحالية مع الجائحة قد تسبب بانتكاسة كارثية. باستخدام التصوير الفوتوغرافي قررت المصوّرة الوثائقية المقيمة في بيروت Aline Deschamps إطلاق حملتها في محاولة للتأكد من أن أصواتهن مسموعة.

يعتبر لبنان موطناً لأكثر من 250.000 عاملة منازل آسيوية وأفريقية ممّن يعملن بموجب نظام الكفالة، وهو عبارة عن نظام استغلالي يحرمهن من قانون حماية اليد العاملة. في ظل استبعادهن من قانون العمل اللبناني تعتبر إقامتهن القانونية مرتبطة بعلاقتهن مع أرباب العمل.

ووفقاً لمنظمة العفو الدولية، فإنّ العديد منهن يتعرضن أيضاً للاعتداء اللفظي والجسدي، وغالباً ما يتم مصادرة جوازات سفرهن.

مع تدابير الحجر الصحي التي فرضت على الناس الإقامة في منازلهم، تضطر العاملات في المنازل اللواتي يعملن بدوام كامل إلى العمل لساعات إضافية طويلة، الأمر الذي أدى إلى حرمانهن من حقهن في الحصول على يوم راحتهن المعتاد بذريعة الخوف من جلب عدوى الفيروس معهن. من ناحية أخرى، تم تسريح عاملات المنازل اللاتي لا يرتبطن بصاحب عمل واحد وتم حرمانهن من الأجور ومن الرعاية الطبية في خضم الجائحة العالمية.

لطالما كانت مولعة بتوثيق قضايا حقوق الإنسان، انتقلت المصوّرة Deschamps التي تبلغ 28 عاماً إلى بيروت في 18 أكتوبر، وهو اليوم الأول لبدء الثورة اللبنانية. لكن سرعان ما لفتت التجربة المروّعة لمعظم عاملات المنازل انتباهها. تقول المصوّرة “عندما بدأ تفشي وباء كوفيد 19، انتابني الشعور بأنها اللحظة المناسبة لتغطية طريقة تعامل أكثر الفئات ضعفاً بمن فيهم العمال المهاجرون وعاملات المنازل مع الحجر المفروض”.

تقول وهي تتذكر عندما قابلت أولئك النساء لأول مرة واللواتي أجبرن على البقاء في غرفة صغيرة مع 15 امرأة أخرى دون أن يقدّم لهن شيء سوى بعض الفرش التي يتشاركنها مع بعضهن “أردت التركيز على قضية النساء الوافدات من سيراليون لأنهن أكثر من يعاني من الفقر المدقع. كما أردت تسليط الضوء عليهن لأن مجتمعهن صغير نسبياً مقارنة بالشتات الآخر في بيروت، والأهم من كل ذلك هو حقيقة أنّ هذه المجموعة من النساء كن ضحايا الإتجار بالبشر أكثر من العمال المهاجرين الآخرين الذين التقيت بهم”. 

في حين أن عاملات المنازل ينتقلن إلى لبنان بهدف إرسال حوالات إلى عائلاتهن في الموطن الأصلي، نجد أنّ الأزمة الاقتصادية والتضخم الجامح في لبنان قد حول خططهن إلى حلم بعيد المنال. تشرح Deschamps: “بدأت دول مثل الفيليبين بعملية إعادة عاملات المنازل إلى ديارهن حتى قبل تفشي فيروس كورونا”، ثم تضيف “في حالة السيدات السيراليونيات، فقد تركن دون مأوى يلجأن إليه. ومع عدم وجود سفارة أو قنصلية، حتى لو تمكّنّ من الحصول على تذكرة طائرة فإن هؤلاء النساء سيتم حظرهن في المطار”.

بعد إطلاقها حملة لجمع التبرعات عبر الإنترنت لدعم عودتهن إلى وطنهن، تحاول Deschamps مساعدة حملة #sendthemhome في الحصول على رؤية أكبر. وتتابع قائلة “نحن ننظم الحملات لإيقاظ السلطات ولدعم هؤلاء العاملات المهاجرات في عودتهن الطوعية”.

بعد أن أمضت شهوراً في توثيق حياتهن اليومية، تقدم صورها المفعمة بالهدوء والسلام والبهجة رؤية جديدة لعاملات المنازل وهن ينظرن بصدق إلى عدستها. على الرغم من حرصها على عدم إغفال المعاناة المتأصلة في قصصهن، ترغب Deschamps الاحتفاء بشيء تم حرمانهن منه وهو: فرح السود.

لوسي وهي إحدى النساء السيراليونيات أخبرت Deschamps بأنّها تشعر برغبة في إطلاق أغنية للمساعدة في زيادة الوعي. وافقت Deschampsعلى تصوير الفيديو الموسيقي في حين كتبت لوسي كلمات أغنيتها المسماة  Bye and Bye وغنّتها أيضاً. تقول المصوّرة “إنها رسالة حب ووداع لأطفالها الذين فقدوا الأمل في لم شملهم”، ثم تضيف “وهذا النوع من المشاريع مهم جداً لأنه يسهم في تغيير طريقة النظر إلى عاملات المنازل والنساء السود في البلاد من خلال مواهبهن وإبداعاتهن “.

تم التصوير في منازلهن وفي الشوارع القريبة من مساكنهن في “طريق الجديدة”، تجسّد أغنية Bye and Bye رفضهن البقاء غير مرئيات. وبفضل Deschamps لم يقتصر الأمر على رؤيتهن فقط بل على سماع أصواتهن أيضاً.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CDB292BA_cv/

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

مقالات رائجة

Intimate Portraits of Beirut’s Domestic Workers

Fighting for domestic workers to be seen

by

The impact of the Coronavirus has been far and wide—not just on a sanitary level, but on an economical level too. In many cities across the world, lockdowns have laid bare profound class divides.

Paired with the current economic crisis, the pandemic has been a disastrous setback for Lebanon’s domestic workers. Using photography, Beirut-based documentary photographer Aline Deschamps decided to campaign in a bid to make sure that their voices are heard.

Lebanon is home to more than 250,000 Asian and African domestic workers, who are employed under the Kafala sponsorship system—an exploitative system that denies them labour protection. By being excluded from Lebanese Labour Law, their legal residency is tied to their relationship with their employers.

According to Amnesty International, many of them are also subject to verbal and physical abuse and often get their passports confiscated.

With quarantine measures trapping people at home, full time domestic workers have been forced to work extreme hours and have been denied their usual rest day, for fear that they could bring back the virus. On the other hand, domestic workers who aren’t tied to one single employer have been laid off and deprived of wages and medical care, in the midst of a global pandemic.

Having always been passionate about documenting human rights issues, 28-year-old photographer Deschamps moved to Beirut on October 18, the very first day of the Lebanese revolution. But very quickly, the harrowing experience of most domestic workers caught her attention. “When the Covid-19 outbreak started, I thought it was the right moment to cover how the most vulnerable, including migrant and domestic workers, were coping with the lockdown”, she says.

“I wanted to focus on the story of the women from Sierra Leone because they were the ones in the most destitute situation. I also wanted to shed light on them because their community is proportionally very small compared to the other diasporas in Beirut, and most importantly, all of this group of women were victims of human trafficking – which was the not the case for the other migrant workers I met”, she says, recalling when she first met the women, who were forced to stay in a tiny room with 15 other women, with nothing but a few mattresses to share.

While domestic workers move to Lebanon in the aim of sending remittances to their family back home, Lebanon’s economic crisis and hyperinflation is turning their plans into a distant dream. “Countries like the Philippines, have started the repatriation process for their domestic workers, even before the Corona outbreak”, explains Deschamps before adding, “in the case of the Sierra Leonean ladies, they are left with nowhere to go. With no embassy or consul on the ground, even if they manage to get a plane ticket, these women would be blocked at the airport”.

Having launched an online fundraising campaign to support their repatriation, Deschamps is turning up the pressure to help the #sendthemhome campaign acquire greater visibility. “We’re campaigning for authorities to wake up and support these migrant workers in their voluntary returns”, she continues.

Having spent months documenting their everyday-life, her slow, peaceful and cheerful photos offer a new vision of domestic workers as they gaze candidly at her lens. Although she’s careful not to erase the suffering from their story, Deschamps also wants to celebrate something that’s so often denied to them: black joy.

Lucie, one of the Sierra Leonean women, told Deschamps she felt like releasing a song to help raise more awareness. Deschamps agreed to shoot the music video, while Lucie wrote and perform her song called Bye and Bye. “It’s a goodbye love letter to her children who she had lost hope of reuniting with”, says the photographer before adding, “this kind of project is very important because it enables a shift in how domestic workers and black women are perceived in the country through their talent and creativity”.

Shot in their house and on the streets of their neighbourhood in Tariq el-Jdide, Bye and Bye expresses a refusal to be made invisible. And thanks to Deschamps, they not only feel seen—but heard.

View this post on Instagram

Thewanthdean means « United sisters » or « One sisterhood » in Sierra Leone. That is how this group of domestic workers from Sierra Leone, stranded in Lebanon, chose to name their band to highlight their spirit of resilience and sisterhood. « Bye and Bye » is entirely written and performed by them. It is a song made by domestic workers, for domestic workers. Lucie, the lead-singer of the group, also wrote this song as a love and goodbye letter to their children they have lost hope of reuniting with. Due to the the current political and economic context in Lebanon, these women feel trapped in the country. They are currently over thirty living under the same roof in Tariq el-Jdide district. Most of their neighbors are Palestinians (you can see them spontaneously clapping at the end of the video.) After experiencing diverse types of abuses from their employers, these women are desperately seeking to go back home. To know more about their story, please read our article published in April 2020 : https://www.africasacountry.com/2020/04/fear-and-solidarity In July 2020, all these women are still waiting for repatriation. You can support their voluntary returns by sharing the video and/ or support this fundraising: https://fundrazr.com/relief_domesticworkers_lebanon All links are in the YouTube description of the video. Thank you for your support 💛 // Song written by : Lucy Turray Performed by : Thewantdean Shot, edited and directed by : @alinedeloscampos Director Assistant and creative advisor : @pfargues Recorded by : @carl.ferneine Music production : Liam Toohey Arabic subtitles : @thisislebanon961 Special thanks to everyone who gave time, donation, food, clothes and care to support these women.

A post shared by Aline Deschamps – อริน (@alinedeloscampos) on

Share this article