Rencontrez les artistes qui représentent la région à la biennale de Venise

Nous appelons tous les passagers pour Venise

by

Près de 60 ans plus tard, la Biennale de Venise est enfin de retour après deux ans de pause.

L’exposition d’art moderne se déroule consécutivement, avec quelques interruptions seulement, depuis 1895. Il est logique que le monde de l’art soit plus qu’enthousiaste quant à ce rendez-vous biannuel pour accueillir, une fois de plus, certaines des voix les plus expressives du monde de l’art.

Maintenant à sa 59e édition, le prestigieux événement a débuté le 23 avril et il n’a pas manqué de représentation arabe. L’édition de cette année voit six pays arabes invités à présenter leurs talents et à mettre en valeur les esprits créatifs locaux.

De l’Égypte aux Émirats arabes unis, voici la cohorte d’artistes à découvrir.

Anwar Sonya, Hassan Meer, Budoor Al Riyami, Radhika Khimji et Raiya Al Rawahi – Oman

Hassan Meer, Reflections From Memories

Hassan Meer, Reflections From Memories

Le Sultanat d’Oman présentera les œuvres de cinq artistes mettant en avant les 50 dernières années d’art contemporain omanais lors de sa première Biennale de Venise. Les artistes sont issus d’un collectif local appelé Circle Group, fondé par Hassan Meer à la fin des années 1990. Anwar Sonya, Hassan Meer, Budoor Al Riyami, Radhika Khimji et Raiya Al Rawahi seront les ambassadeurs à Venise.

Ayman Baalbaki et Danielle Arbid – Liban

beirut biennale venice

Ayman Baalbaki, Janus Gate

Ayman Baalbaki et Danielle Arbid sont les deux artistes qui représenteront le pays du cèdre lors de cet événement mondial. Mandatés par le ministère libanais de la Culture, ils expliquent leur choix en affirmant que « Ce projet invite à un voyage symbolique dans notre monde contemporain à travers un thème, une ville, et deux artistes qui entretiennent un dialogue politique et esthétique à distance, en présentant des œuvres qui sont si loin et pourtant si proches ».

Muhannad Shono – Arabie Saoudite

 

Muhannad Shono sera le seul représentant de l’Arabie saoudite en Italie cette année. L’État du Golfe participera à cet événement de renommée mondiale pour la troisième fois de son histoire. Le projet, initialement commandé par la Commission des arts visuels du ministère de la Culture, mettra en lumière la scène artistique florissante de l’Arabie saoudite en explorant les thèmes de la création, de la régénération, de la nature et de la mythologie.

Saousan Al Zubi, Ismael Nasra, Adnan Hamideh, Omran Younis, Aksam Tallaa, Giuseppe Amadio, Marcello Lo Giudice et Lorenzo Puglisi – Syrie

syria venice

Saousan Al Zubi, Ismael Nasra, Adnan Hamideh, Omran Younis, Aksam Tallaa, Giuseppe Amadio, Marcello Lo Giudice and Lorenzo Puglisi

Alors que le pays peine encore à sortir la tête de l’eau, une multitude d’artistes contemporains se rendront à Venise pour exprimer leurs pensées et leur voix sous forme de culture. Utilisant plusieurs médiums artistiques différents, la poignée de créatifs sélectionnés est là pour apporter une autre vision à un pays qui a été trop longtemps en proie à des conflits.

Mohamed Ahmed Ibrahim – Emirats arabes unis

mohamed ibrahim venice

‘Between Sunrise and Sunset’

Le pavillon des Émirats arabes unis devrait abriter le papier mâché coloré de Mohamed Ahmed Ibrahim. « Between Sunrise and Sunset » est le titre de son oeuvre, qui s’inspire de la lumière changeante de la ville natale de l’artiste vétéran, Khor Fakkan.

Weaam Ahmed El-Masry, Mohamed Shoukry and Ahmed El-Shaer – Egypte

eden like garden egypt at venice art biennale

Mohamed Shoukry, Weaam El Masry, Ahmed El Shaer
Eden-Like Garden

Le trio égyptien, El-Masry, Shoukry et El-Shaer,  fait partie des artistes modernes les plus connus d’Égypte, et ils collaboreront ensemble sur un projet intitulé Eden Like Garden. Le Ministère de la Culture, à travers le Conseil Suprême de la Culture, présidé par Hisham Azmy, a choisi cette initiative pour représenter l’Egypte.

 

Partagez cet article

Meet the Arab Artists Representing the Region at Venice Biennale

Calling on all passengers to Venice

Almost 60 years deep, Venice Biennale is finally back after a two-year break. 

The modern art exhibition has consecutively been running, with a few interruptions only, since 1895. It only makes sense that the art world is more than excited for the bi-annual rendez-vous to play host to some of the world’s most expressive voices of art once again. 

Now in its 59th edition, the prestigious event kicked off on April 23 and it wasn’t short of Arab representation. This year’s edition sees six Arab countries invited to showcase their nurtured talents work and highlight their local creative minds. 

From Egypt to the UAE, these are the cohort of artists to check out.  

Anwar Sonya, Hassan Meer, Budoor Al Riyami, Radhika Khimji and Raiya Al Rawahi – Oman

Hassan Meer, Reflections From Memories
Hassan Meer, Reflections From Memories

The Sultanate of Oman will be showcasing the works of five artists uncovering the past 50 years of Omani contemporary art at its first Venice Biennale. The artists are drawn from a local collective called Circle Group, founded by Hassan Meer in the late 1990s. Anwar Sonya, Hassan Meer, Budoor Al Riyami, Radhika Khimji and Raiya Al Rawahi will be the ambassadors at Venice. 

Ayman Baalbaki and Danielle Arbid – Lebanon

beirut biennale venice
Ayman Baalbaki, Janus Gate

Ayman Baalbaki and Danielle Arbid are the two artists that will be representing the Cedar country at the global event. Mandated by the Lebanese Ministry of Culture, they explain their choice by claiming that ‘This project invites on a symbolic journey into our contemporary world through a theme, a city, and two artists who maintain a political and aesthetic dialogue from a distance, by presenting artworks which are so far and yet so close”.

Muhannad Shono – Saudi Arabia

https://www.instagram.com/tv/Cckq0qwo2zn/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Muhannad Shono will be Saudi Arabia’s sole representative in Italy this year. The Gulf State will be competing in the world-renowned event for the third time in its history. The project, which was originally commissioned by the Ministry of Culture’s Visual Arts Commission, will shed light on Saudi Arabia’s flourishing art scene by exploring the themes of creation, regeneration, nature, and mythology.

Saousan Al Zubi, Ismael Nasra, Adnan Hamideh, Omran Younis, Aksam Tallaa, Giuseppe Amadio, Marcello Lo Giudice and Lorenzo Puglisi – Syria

syria venice
Saousan Al Zubi, Ismael Nasra, Adnan Hamideh, Omran Younis, Aksam Tallaa, Giuseppe Amadio, Marcello Lo Giudice and Lorenzo Puglisi

As the country is still struggling to get its head above water, a slew of contemporary artists will be heading to Venice to express their thoughts and voice in the form of culture. Making use of several different mediums of art, the handful of selected creatives are here to bring another vision to a country that has been under too much strife for far too long.

Mohamed Ahmed Ibrahim – United Arab Emirates

mohamed ibrahim venice
Mohamed Ibrahim ‘Between Sunrise and Sunset’

The UAE pavilion is set to be home to Mohamed Ahmed Ibrahim’s colourful papier-mâché. ‘Between Sunrise and Sunset’ is the title of his piece, which was inspired by the changing light of the veteran artist’s hometown, Khor Fakkan.

Weaam Ahmed El-Masry, Mohamed Shoukry and Ahmed El-Shaer – Egypt

eden like garden egypt at venice art biennale
Mohamed Shoukry, Weaam El Masry, Ahmed El Shaer Eden-Like Garden

The Egyptian trio — El-Masry, Shoukry, and El-Shaer — are among some of Egypt’s most well-known modern artists, and they will together collaborate on a project titled Eden Like Garden. The Ministry of Culture, through the Supreme Council of Culture, chaired by Hisham Azmy, has chosen this initiative to represent Egypt.

Share this article

Related stories