Halima, Kim Kardashian and Virgil are Headlining a Virtual Fashion Show

Carine Roitfeld brings fashion’s biggest stars to fight Covid-19

by

Another day, another virtual event? It feels like it. Thankfully, in the age of quarantine, cancelling large-scale events doesn’t mean that they aren’t happening. After Lady Gaga’s Global Citizen concert (which brought together Billie Eilish, Lizzo, Burna Boy and J-Balvin to name but a few), Carine Roitfeld, the former editor-in-chief of Vogue Paris, and founder of CR Fashion Book, is set to host ‘CR Runway for Roitfeld’. 

In collaboration with amfAR, the virtual fashion show will bring together the industry’s biggest designers and models in a bid to raise awareness about Coronavirus. Among the announced names are Halima Aden, Kim Kardashian, Virgil Abloh, Hailey Bieber, Alexander Wang, Winnie Harlow, Irina Shayk and Ashley Graham. With each of them having already made a donation to kick-start the initiative, they will be wearing outfits from their own closets, styled by Roitfeld herself beforehand. 

“As we face times of great uncertainty, our support for one another is more important than ever. Embracing fashion as the creative expression through which to support the health and safety of our global communities, we hope this show can offer a small moment of hope, inspiration, and uplifting connection. A modest contribution as our world unites to collectively weather the storm of this pandemic together”, said Carine Roitfeld in a statement.

The 30-minute, self-filmed fashion show will be hosted by American journalist Derek Blasberg and will be available on live stream via YouTube on Friday, May 1st at 8:00 PM GMT / 1:00 PM (Los Angeles) / 4:00 PM (New York) / 9:00 PM (London) / 10:00 PM (Paris) and May 2nd at 12:00 AM (Dubai). Expect some surprise performances and behind-the-scenes clips.

Share this article