هل مواعدة شخص من خارج مجتمعنا بهذا السوء؟

الحب بالنسبة للشخص العربي هو في الحقيقة مشاكل لا تنتهي

by

تعتبر المواعدة بالنسبة لي أمراً في غاية الصعوبة والتعقيد، خاصة أنني لم أكن قط ذلك الشخص الاجتماعي الواثق من نفسه والذي يمكنه جذب فتاة متى أراد ذلك. بصراحة، لم أكن سوى مجرد شاب أعزب يبذل جهداً كبيراً للانخراط مع الآخرين. وغني عن القول بأنني شعرت بسعادة غامرة عندما وجدت أخيراً فتاة أحلامي (والتي أتمنى أن تبادلني ذات الشعور). لقد كانت فتاة بيضاء وأنا من عرق مختلف… من مكانين مختلفين. قد يجد البعض أنّ مواعدة أشخاص من خارج مجتمعهم أمر ممتع ومثير للغاية، لكن ما الذي جلبه لي هذا الأمر؟ لم يجلب لي سوى الشعور بالتوتر والقلق الذي لا نهاية لهما.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ جميع من حولي كانوا ينصحونني بإلحاح على الزواج. هل يبدو ذلك أمراً مألوفاً؟ أعتقد أنّ الجميع قد مر بهذه المرحلة. باختصار، هذا يعني الحرص على مواعدة أشخاص ينتمون لنفس الثقافة والعرق وحتى المعتقدات الدينية. هل تسألون “عن السبب”؟ بصراحة هناك العديد من الأسباب، وبالنسبة لي كلها بالطبع سخيفة وواهية للغاية، فهي لا تخرج عن نطاق الأسباب الطائفية التافهة أو أسباب أخرى أكثر قابلية للفهم والإقناع، ولكن لن أخوض في هذا النقاش معكم اليوم.

عندما كنت في الثامنة عشرة من عمري، وقعت في حب فتاة، وكنت أعيش لحظات الحب بكل معانيه غير مكترث بكل هذه الأسئلة والمخاوف التي كنت أحرص على تجاهلها قدر الإمكان؛ إلا أنها بدأت تظهر وتزداد كلما أصبحت علاقتي بالفتاة أكثر جديّة، فقد قابلت عائلتها عدة مرات، وبالرغم من أنّهم أناس لطفاء إلا أنّهم كانوا في بعض الأحيان يبدون لي غريبي الأطوار، وكنت أحاول جاهداً ألا أركز بشكل كبير على تصرفاتهم بالرغم من أنني بصراحة كنت أعتقد بأن بعض ردود أفعالهم تجاهي كانت لا تخلو من الغرابة. لماذا ينبغي عليّ أن أواجه تحقيق بوليسي كامل في كل مرة أزورهم فيها أو عندما أحاول أن أمضي إجازة هادئة مع حبيبتي؟ لماذا كنت أشعر دائما بأنهم ينظرون إلى بازدراء واستهجان، وكنت أشعر بأنني لم أكن مناسباً لها، وكما لو كان الجميع ينتظرون مني قرار الانفصال عن الفتاة التي كانت ذات يوم نصفي الثاني.

في البداية، لم أرغب في الوقوع في فخ الضحية، لطالما كنت أشعر بأنني رمز لتحامل العالم الغربي على الأشخاص الذين يشبهونني. لقد اختبرت فترات طويلة من الشك والتساؤل. لماذا لا يحبونني؟ لماذا لا يعاملونني مثل شركاء شقيقاتها الأكبر سناً منها؟ لقد انتهى بي الأمر إلى الاقتناع بأنني مجرد شخص دون المستوى وصرفت النظر تماماًعن فكرة التحيز المحتمل الذي قد تشعر به العائلة ضدي.

هل قابلت صديقتي عائلتي؟ بالطبع لا. فقد أخفيت عنهم وجودها في حياتي، ومع كل يوم كان يمضي كانت تزداد صعوبة إطلاع والدي على هذا السر. لماذا؟ لأنني اعتقدت أن مواعدة أجنبية هو أمر مرفوض تماماً. فقد وقعت بجهل في فخ فكرة الاستشراق بانفتاح العائلات ذات البشرة البيضاء وانغلاق العرب، لطالما أثقلت هذه القضية كاهلي مثلما أثقلت كاهلها. ربما شعرت بذلك خشية أن تعاملني هي بنفس الطريقة التي تعاملني بها عائلتها. وكلنا نعلم أنني إذا افترضت حسن نيّة عائلتها وأنّها ليست عنصرية أو مختلفة، لا يمكنني أنّ أتوقع ذلك من عائلتي، وأنا أتحدث عن تجربة، إذ لطالما تم وصفنا بالتعصب الديني أو قصر النظر. 

في نهاية المطاف، كان عليّ أن أتحدث بصراحة إلى والدي، وأخبره عن الجزء الخفي من حياتي، وأنتم تعرفون ردود أفعال العائلات العربية تجاه مثل هذه المواضيع. ولكنني دهشت تماماً (أو لا، لقد شعرت بالحيّرة)، فقد رحب والدي بالأمر؛ حتى أنّه طلب مقابلتها. نحتاج حقاً لوضع حدٍ لهذه المحرمات والمخاوف الغبية التي تثير مخاوفنا فهي بالية وسخيفة، امنحوا والديكم فرصة يا رفاق! إن استطعتم.

على أي حال، لنعد إلى القصة الرئيسية. بعد فترة وجيزة من العلاقة، انتهى بنا الأمر إلى الانفصال، ليس بسبب الحب وإنّما بسبب كل ما يحيط بنا. لا زلت أذكر النقاشات السخيفة التي لا تنتهي حول ما إذا كنا سنحتفل بعيد الميلاد أم لا، وهل سيكون لدينا شجرة ميلاد في المنزل أم لا، وهل سنتبادل الهدايا أم لا. بصراحة أنا لا أمانع في فعل كل ذلك، إلا أنّ هذه الأمور في الواقع ليست جزء مني ولا من الثقافة التي نشأت عليها… وعلى أيّ معتقد ديني سينشأ أطفالنا؟ هل سنتزوج في كنيسة أم في مسجد؟ كيف سنتعامل مع ثقافتينا وما إلى ذلك من أسئلة… لكن واجهنا في مثل هذه السن المبكرة الكثير من المشاكل والقرارات لاتخاذها والالتزام بها مدى الحياة؛ من الواضح أنني لم أكن قادراً على مواجهة هذه التحديات في تلك المرحلة، ولسوء الحظ جاء الوباء ليغيّر كل شيء.

لقد تألمت لفترة طويلة بعد انفصالنا إلى أن صادفت صديقاً لعائلتها لم يكن يعرف عن علاقتي بها، وهو أحد الطلاب السابقين في المدرسة التي كانت تعمل فيها والدتها، وكنت أعتقد أنّه يكره الأم لأنه كان طالباً عندها، إلا أنني اكتشفت أن دوافعه لبغضها كانت غير ذلك تماماً، فقد أخبرني بأنّها كانت تُعرف في المدرسة بأنّها عنصرية من الدرجة الأولى، وبأنّها المعلمة التي لديها عقدة المخلّص الأبيض والتي يمكن أن تعيد الأطفال الأفارقة إلى زيمبابوي لتشعر بالرضا عن نفسها.


منذ ذلك الوقت تغيرت الأمور في داخلي، لم يعد الأمر يتعلق فيما إذا كنت جيداً أو سيئاً في نظرهم، لقد أصبح الأمر شخصياً، لأنني مهما فعلت لن يشعروا بالرضا تجاهي، لطالما كان هذا الأمر هاماً منذ البداية. لقد تغيّرت مفاهيمي بالكامل، لقد اختبرت إنكار الذات لفترة طويلة، هل تسببت لروحي بمشكلة نفسية من أجل هذا؟ لقد كنت خائفاً طوال الوقت من رفض عائلتي كونها ذات عقلية منغلقة في حين أنهم هم من كانوا كذلك، لقد انتابني الشعور بالمرارة لأنني تعرضت لهذا السلوك المشين ولم أكن محمياً، ولكن بصراحة ما زلت في حيرة من أمري حول من سأحب.

 

هل المواعدة من خارج المجتمع بهذا السوء؟ ربما، أنا في حيرة. ماذا يجب عليكم أن تفعلوا؟ حاولوا أن تفعلوا كل ما بوسعكم وأحبوا بصدق وإخلاص.

Illustration: Still from Shéhérazade, Jean Bernard Marlin (2018)

 

Read also: We Asked 5 Muslim Women If They’d Date Non-Muslims

شارك هذا المقال

Is Dating Out of the Community Really that Bad ?

Loving as an arab really is a never-ending headache

by

Not going to lie, dating is quite hard for me. I’ve never really been the outgoing, super-confident bloke that could pick up a girl whenever he wanted to. Basically, I was a single pringle that was struggling to mingle. Needless to say, the day I found myself a precious one was a pretty good day for me (I hope for her too). She was white and I was me. I was from here and she belonged there. Some people can find it fun or even exciting to be dating outside of their community. What it brought me ? Sugar-coated stress and never-ending anxiety. 

Growing up, I was always strongly advised to marry in. Doesn’t sound familiar? Don’t worry, let me 101 you through it. To cut it short, it basically means to date people from the same culture, ethnicity and sometimes even faith as you. “Why” do I hear you ask? That’s the main question. For loads of reasons, all quite silly if you ask me. It can go from trivial sectarian ones to relatively more understandable ones, but that’s not the hill I want to die on today. 

Freshly 18, I was living life with my boo. I was out and about living love at its fullest with all these questions and concerns pushed to the back of my head. They were there, I just didn’t want to look at them. And as the relationship grew more serious, so did they. I had met her family a handful of times. Nice people. A bit odd at times but I tried my best to not focus on it too much. I had thought that some of their reactions towards me were honestly weird. Why did I have to go through a whole police investigation each time I was around or tried to go on laid-back baecation? Why was I always feeling looked down upon, frowned at constantly. I remember feeling that I was never enough. As if everyone was waiting for me to break up with what was once my other half. 

At first, I didn’t want to fall into a victimary trap. To point at myself as the figurehead of the western world’s prejudice towards people that look like me felt like too obvious of a conclusion. It was a long period of doubt and questioning. Why didn’t they like me? Why didn’t they treat me like the partners of the older siblings? I ended believing in this whole narrative of me just being mediocre whilst having completely erased the potential bias the family might have had against me. 

Did my girlfriend meet my family? No, not at all, of course not. It was this huge massive secret that I had a girlfriend. And every single day that went by made it more and more difficult to break the news to my own parents. Why? Because I thought that dating out was going to be a big no-no. I was blindly falling into the orientalist trap of white families being open and for Arabs to be closed. It was such a burdening weight. For me as much as it was for her. Maybe it was also by fright of her being treated the same way her family was treating me. And we all know that if I gave her family the benefit of the doubt for not being racist or backwards, no one would have given any to mine. I’m talking from experience. We are always one mistake away from being labelled as religious fanatics or short-sighted peeps. 

Eventually, I had to own up to my Dad and walk the talk. Tell him about the hidden part of my life. And you know how Arab families are, these topics aren’t the easiest to bring up. To my complete surprise (or not, I don’t know anymore), he was completely fine with it; even asking when he could meet her. We really need to address these stupid taboos and apprehensions because they really are no good and not relevant anymore, give your parents a chance guys! 

Sometimes. If you can.

Anyways, back to the main story. Fast forward a bit, we ended up breaking up. Never out of love but because of everything surrounding us. I remember the countless petty arguments we had about whether we’d celebrate Christmas or not, have a tree at home and a whole festive moment with presents and all. In its essence, I really wouldn’t mind but it’s just that that’s not me nor the culture I grew up with really.. What faith would our kids be? Would we marry in a church or a mosque? How would we deal with both of our cultures and so on… So many headaches and life long decisions to commit to and make at such a young age; clearly my shoulders were not fit for the task at that point.  Oh, and it was the pandemic too.  

It really hurt for a long time before I bumped into a family friend of hers who didn’t know of me. One of her mum’s former students who despised her for most reasons why students hate their teachers, but also for a motive I wasn’t expecting to hear. She was known as the underlyingly racist teacher of the school. The one with the white saviour complex that would take kids to Zimbabwe to feel better about herself. 

From there things changed, it wasn’t so much about how good or bad I was to their eyes. It became personal, I could’ve basically done anything and they still wouldn’t have been satisfied. As if that even mattered to begin with. My whole perception changed, I was in denial for so long and put myself through this whole psychological trouble for this? This whole time being scared of my family to be the close-minded ones when it was them this whole time. I did feel a bit bitter. For having been exposed and not protected from this abject behaviour and quite frankly I still am confused on who to love from now on.

Is dating out really that bad? Maybe, I don’t know anymore. What should you do? Try your best. At what? Loving true and truly.

Illustration: Still from Shéhérazade, Jean Bernard Marlin (2018)

 

Read also: We Asked 5 Muslim Women If They’d Date Non-Muslims

Share this article