التعامل مع الاكتئاب من خلال الدين: تجربة شخصية

العلاقة بين علامات الاضطراب والصلاة

by

في الواقع غالباً ما أميل للتدخين تجنباً للخوض في الكثير من الأحاديث التي قد تثير غضبي، ولكن عندما أفعل ذلك لفترة طويلة أجد نفسي في النهاية غارقاً في تفكير عميق بينما أجوب بعض الأزقة المظلمة داخل عقلي والتي لا يرغب أحد بالتجول فيها.

في فترة ماضية من الزمن استحوذ الشعور بالقلق والضغط النفسي على لحظات السعادة القليلة من حياتي والتي كنت أحاول جاهداً الاستمتاع بها بطريقة أو بأخرى، وقد تمكن مني بالفعل ليصبح عقبة كبرى تعيق مسار حياتي، وبعد مرور 22 عاماً من الانغماس في التفكير العميق في الأشياء التي كانت تؤرقني من الداخل، وجدت هذه الضغوطات النفسية طريقها إلى الخارج لتتجسد في قضم أظافري التي أصبحت مشوهة (بالطبع هي ليست وجبتي الخفيفة المفضلة، فأنا أفضل تناول بعض الكنافة بدلاً عنها).

بصراحة إن الاعتياد على ارتعاش قلبي الذي يُعاني من القلق والتوتر بدلاً من التمتع بخفقانه الطبيعي ليس بالأمر السهل أبداً عليّ أو على عائلتي أو أصدقائي المقربين. لقد نشأت في منزل متدين، وبالرغم من أنّ معظم القيم التي نتشاركها معاً ونعتز بها هي أشياء لها مكانتها الغالية في قلبي، إلا أنني ومع مرور السنين لاحظت نشوء فجوة بيني وبينهم.

بالرغم من وجود الكثير من الآيات القرآنية والطقوس الدينية التي يمكن أن تساعدك على التخفيف من الألم والتوتر والتخلص من الأفكار المرهقة، إلا أنها لسبب ما لم تسهم في مساعدتي، وبالطبع هذا لا يعني أنني لست مسلما جيداً. لقد عانيت الشعور بالذنب لأنني أقرأ القرآن أو ادعو الله فقط عندما أكون في ضيق أو لطلب حاجة ما، في حين أنني أنصرف عن فعل ذلك عندما أكون مرتاحاً وبصحة جيدة، وهو الأمر الذي عزز لديّ الشعور بأنني قد أكون منافقاً، ولكن حتى عندما فعلت تلك الأمور، لم أكن أشعر بالراحة التي أحتاجها. من وجهة نظري، أعتقد أنّ الله يمنحنا بركاته بطرق خفيّة ويوفر لنا ما نحن بحاجة إليه وليس ما نسعى للحصول عليه دون أن ندرك ذلك.

وكما يُقال، فإن الخطوة الأولى نحو التعافي تكمن في إدراك الألم، ولكن بمجرد الاعتراف به، يبدأ زملائي وكبار السن بدفعي نحو تعاليم القرآن والصلوات (التي قد تكون مفيدة) متجاهلين فكرة أن الطب النفسي هو علم لديه طرق مناسبة للتعافي من هذه المشاكل، تماماً كما هو الحال مع المشكلات الصحية الأخرى والأدوية التي تساعد على العلاج. وغني عن القول بأنّ الأمر لا يتعلق بنقص عدد الأطباء أو الدواء في المنطقة، فكلنا ندرك حقيقة الصورة النمطية التي تجعل الآباء يتوقعون من أطفالهم أن يصبحوا في المستقبل أطباء – وصدقوني هناك الكثير منهم في مجتمعاتنا.

لطالما عانيت من مشاكل نفسية جسيمة، وبصراحة الصلاة من أجل الصلاة لم تكن الهدف المرجو، بالرغم من أنني أشعر بالذنب لقولي هذا، إلا أنني لم أستطع التواصل مع هذا العالم الذي يمكن لمعظم الناس فيه بدءاً من عائلتي أن يربطوا أنفسهم به، لقد وصلت إلى النقطة التي سيطر فيها الشعور بالذنب على معظم جوانب الإيمان في حياتي في كل مرة حاولت ممارسة الطقوس الدينية، وهو الأمر الذي جعل الأمور معلّقة لديّ. فمن جهة بدأت أتوقف عن الاتصال بالدين في كل مرة أدعو الله فيها طالباً تحقيق أمنية ما لأجد أن عليّ الانتظار لتحقيقها، كما أنّ فكرة الذهاب إلى الطبيب النفسي (الذي يمكن القول بأنّه إله الملحدين، أو على الأقل كما أراه) جعلتني من جهة أخرى أستمر بالابتعاد أكثر فأكثر، فإن لم يستطع الله أن يساعدني فمن عساه يفعل ذلك؟ لقد كنت عالقاً فيما بدا لي بأنه طريق مسدود، وقد سيطر عليّ الشعور بأنني أستحق ما أنا عليه، وأن عليّ أن أعاني من طريقة فهم عقلي المعذب للواقع، حتى استحوذ عليّ بالكامل الشعور بأني شخص محكوم عليه بالفشل اليوم وطوال الحياة.

مع مرور الوقت، تمكنت من اتخاذ الخطوة الأولى لإدراك ما يخفيه لي المستقبل، لقد استغرق مني الأمر بعض الوقت، ولكن كما نقول “أن تصل متأخراً خير من ألا تصل أبداً”. هل يمكن لهذا أن يساعد؟ ربما، إلا أنني ما زلت أصلي لكي ينجح طبيبي النفسي في التخلص من العبث الذي يثير الفوضى في عقلي، إنّه شيء مثير للسخرية، أليس كذلك؟ لكن على الأقل بدأت الأمور تتحسن وأصبحت علاقتي بالإيمان أفضل من ذي قبل إلى حدٍ معين، إنني ببساطة أشعر بمزيد من الصدق عندما أمارس الطقوس الدينية – وهذا يشعرني بالرضى بعض الشيء ولا أعتبره من المسلّمات.

عندما نكتشف أن الدين ليس الحل الوحيد لبعض القضايا المحددة في حياتنا، سنضع حداً للكثير من المعاناة التي يمر بها الكثير من جيل الشباب، بالطبع يمكن للصلاة والأوقات المخصصة للعبادة أن تمنحنا السلام وهي كفيلة بأن تبعث النور في أعماقنا المظلمة، ولكن ليس في كل الأمور، ولا بأس في ذلك. بالرغم من أنني لم أتخلص بالكامل من المشاكل النفسية، إلا أنّ الخطوات التي اتخذتها منذ بدء طلب المساعدة من المختصين لا يمكن قياسها، ومجتمعنا بحاجةٍ ماسة للبدء في التفكير بهذه الطريقة من أجل الوصول إلى حياةٍ أكثر صحة وتوازناً من الداخل.

شارك هذا المقال

Dealing with Depression Through Deen: A Personal Tale

It’s all about stress signs and prayers

by

I usually tend to smoke to keep my lips busy from talking too much. Because talking is venting my mind out, and when I do so for too long it has a copious habit of making me think too much and walk me down some dark alleys that no one really wants to wander through. Or at least I don’t. Not anymore. 

Once upon a lifetime ago, anxiety and stress had crippled me from the few moments of happiness I had in front of me and tried to somehow enjoy. 22 long years of overthinking that have been eating me inside out and that usually translates itself through the poor state of my nails (not my favourite snack I must say, I’d rather have some knafeh instead). 

Getting used to my heart shaking instead of beating properly on a daily basis wasn’t easy. Nor was it for my family or close entourage. Growing up in a religious household, most values we share and cherish are things that I tend to still keep close to my heart until today. But as the years went by, I did notice a gap between me and them. 

Although there are loads of religious verses and rituals in the Quran to help you ease from pain and burdening thoughts, for some reason they just didn’t to me. Doesn’t mean that I am not a good Muslim. Or at least I hope not. It just for some reason felt deeper than that. I felt guilty of whispering verses to myself only in desperate times of need, thinking about how hypocritical it was of me to summon God when I was stuck and unhealthy, and didn’t when I was in good health and satisfied. And even when I did, I never felt any better than I was in the first place. But that’s maybe the whole point of religion and God himself, he blesses you in ways we don’t see and provides us with what we need rather than what we want without us noticing.

As we say, the first step towards healing is recognising the pain you’re going through. But once it was recognised, my peers and elders tend to send me back to Quran teachings and prayers (which may be useful don’t get me wrong) without necessarily taking into account that psychiatry is a science and that there are proper ways of healing and dealing with it just like there is with other health issues and relevant medicine. And it really isn’t about the lack of doctors or medics in the region, we all know about the stereotype of parents wanting their kids to be doctors – and there’s a whole lot of them, trust me when I say this. 

My mental health was bad. And still is to be honest. And praying for the sake of praying wasn’t hitting the spot anymore. You can’t imagine how guilty I feel saying this. I couldn’t connect with this whole realm that most people, starting from my own family, could string themselves back to. It got to the point where guilt had taken over most aspects of faith each time I tried practicing it. From there, things started dangling. From my side of things, it felt as if each time I would call God, I was being left on hold so I just stopped dialing. On the other hand, the idea of going to a psychiatrist, arguably the god of atheists, or at least that’s how I saw it, kept on being pushed further and further away. Because if  God can’t help, who can? I was stuck in between what seemed like dead-ends, I remember feeling as if I deserved being where I was at. To be suffering from my mind’s tormented interpretation of reality. Not only did I feel like I was doomed in this life but I was already stressing about how I was about to be also doomed in the next. 

Overtime, I managed to take the first step and see what was out there for me. Took me some time. But better late than never as we say. Did it help? Probably, but I did still pray for my psychiatrist to be able to unknot my mental mess. Ironic isn’t it? But at least things were looking up and my relationship to faith as a whole became less heavy. Not that I’m the best at it, it simply feels more genuine whenever I do – and that is still something I can take away with me. It shouldn’t be taken for granted.

It’s like if only people understood that religion isn’t the only answer to these specific issues then most of us youngsters wouldn’t be struggling as much as we are. Praying and devoting time to pray can provide peace. It alone might suffice for some to see light at the end of the tunnel, but not for all. And that’s fine. I’m still far from taking my life back from anxiety but the steps taken since I went to seek professional help are unmeasurable and I cannot stress how much the community needs to start heading that way for a healthier atmosphere to stand out from within it.

 

Also Read: We’re in the Middle of a Mental Health Crisis – not a Jinn Epidemic

Share this article