الحياة المزدوجة على طريقة العرب في القرن الحادي والعشرين

وهي مهمة في غاية الصعوبة

by

لطالما كان سوبرمان البطل الخارق المفضل لدي منذ الطفولة، فقد كان يعمل كصحفي في النهار ومكافح ضد الجريمة في الليل، إنّ قدرة كلارك كينت على استبدال نظارته بعباءته الحمراء الشهيرة بينما يبقى متخفياً أمام أعين العالم جعلت منه واحداً من الشخصيات المميّزة لدي في صناعة السينما فهو يمثلني بالفعل.

بالرغم من أنّ سوبرمان لم يكن عربياً بأيّ شكل من الأشكال، إلا أنّ هناك قاسم مشترك بين ميزاتنا وسماتنا كعرب وبينه،  يتجسد في حقيقة أنّ العديد منا في العالم العربي يعيش حياة مزدوجة ويحرص دائماً على إخفائها عن الآخرين من حوله.

لقد ولدت في المملكة المتحدة لأبوين مغربيين، وكانت البيئة التي احتضنتني محافظة للغاية، وكان من الصعب عليّ موازنة حياتي بين الثقافة العربية والدين وبين حياة أي مراهق عادي يطمح دائماً لتخطي الحدود التي وضعها آباؤه. لم يقتصر الشعور بالذنب تجاه والديّ فقط، بل تعدى ذلك إلى المجتمع، وبدلاً من محاولة تحقيق التوازن بين الاثنين، وجدت نفسي أعيش حياة مزدوجة: ياسين بشخصيتين متناقضتين تماماً.

حتى أصبحت حياتي أشبه بأغنية إيرل سويتشيرت التي يقول فيها “سوداء جداً للأطفال البيض وبيضاء جداً بالنسبة للسود” ولكن في حالتي أنا، كانت الأمور رهينة الحرام والحلال – الأمر الذي يُعتبر نوع من الازدواجية الكاملة بين التناقضات المرهقة للغاية، ناهيكم عن الارتباك الذي كان يصيب حياتي كلما أصبحت أكثر نضجاً وإدراكاً لحقيقة أنّ معظم الشباب الذين هم في عمري سينظر إليهم معظم الآباء العرب في بلدي الأم على أنّهم “أسوأ” مني، وغني عن القول أنني كنت أجهل مع أيّ جانب أقف.

لقد شعرت بالضغط من كل الاتجاهات، وكان الجميع يوجهون لي كل أنواع الأسئلة ويقدمون كل أنواع الإغواءات، ويحاولون جاهدين لضمي إلى صفهم. حيث كان يقول الجميع “هيا يا ياسين، إنه مجرد شراب لا ضرر في ذلك”؛ وبالمقابل يقول الطرف الآخر “هل أنت قادم لصلاة الجمعة يا ياسين؟” بالرغم من أني أقدر جهود الجميع ومحاولاتهم لتكوين صداقات معي وضمي إلى مجموعتهم، إلا أنّ كل ذلك جعل من الصعب عليّ تحديد ومعرفة ماهية مبادئي الأساسية، حيث كنت أتأرجح بشكل أعمى بين كل ما يطرح عليّ.

وبالتالي، بدأت أعاني من تدهور صحتي النفسية التي كانت منغمسة في حياة مزدوجة بين شخصين مختلفين تماماً وفقاً للمجموعة التي كنت أرافقها، ولكن في حال اصطدم كلا العالمين المنفصلين عندي (إما عندما تتجمع مجموعة كبيرة من الأصدقاء، أو الأسوأ من ذلك عندما يلتقي أحد أصدقائي بوالدي)، كنت أشعر برغبة عارمة بالتخلص من أحد الطرفين. في تلك اللحظات كنت أشعر بأنّ الوقت يمر ببطء شديد وقاتل، وكنت أتوسل لزملائي ألا يتفوهوا بشيء خاطئ أو يتصرفوا تصرفاً سيئاً أمامهما، والأكثر من ذلك كنت أخشى من ردة فعل والديّ تجاه أي تصرّف قد يصدر عنهم، فقد تكون رائحة السجائر أو البيرة أو حتى بقعة خفيفة من أحمر الشفاه على ياقة قميص أحد أصدقائي كافية لإطلاق الأحكام عليه بأنّه شخص سيء، وغني عن القول بأنّ الآباء العرب يتفقون مع المثل القائل “قل لي من تصاحب أقول لك من أنت”.

بصراحة لم أشعر بالراحة إلا بعد رحيلي، حيث تحسنت الأمور نوعاً ما، أو على الأقل هذا ما أشعر به. لقد ابتعدت عن والدَي اللذين لم يتوقفا عن الشك ببعض الأمور التي أقوم بها، فهما يميلان إلى غض الطرف عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحالات التي ذكرتها سابقاً. بالرغم من أني لم أجد حلاً لأزمة هويتي، إلا أنّها أصبحت أخف ثقلاً على كاهلي في الوقت الحالي على الأقل.

أما بالنسبة لباقي جوانب حياتي، فقد بدأت بشكل طبيعي ببناء علاقات مع أشخاص يعانون من نفس المشاكل والمعضلات التي أعاني منها، وبالرغم من أنّهم لم يجدوا بعد إجابة لكل شيء، إلا أنّهم يوازنون بين ما هو حلال وحرام. كلما استفضنا في الحديث أكثر، كلما تمكنا من تفكيك بعض العقد ووجدنا المزيد من الإجابات والأسباب حول هويتنا وما نطمح لأن نكون في هذه الرحلة الطويلة. في الواقع لم نجد حلولاً بعد، لكننا على الأقل نشعر بمزيد من الراحة والحرية عندما نكون حول بعضنا البعض، وفي الوقت الحالي، أشعر بأنني محظوظ لوجودهم حولي ومساعدتي على الشعور بهذه الطريقة. أنا بانتظار حافز آخر لأرى كيف يمكننا حل المزيد من التناقضات التي تؤرقنا.

شارك هذا المقال

Leading a Double Life: Chronicles of A 21st Century Arab

One thing’s for sure, it’s not easy at all.

by

Superman was definitely one hell of a superhero. A journalist by day and a sordid crime fighter by night, Clark Kent’s ability to swap his own pair of glasses for his iconic bandana and red cloak whilst remaining incognito to the eyes of the world made him one of the very few figures in the entertainment industry I actually admired and made me feel as if I was represented. 

Trust me when I tell you that back then I already knew what was Arab and what wasn’t, he surely wasn’t Arab by any means. There was just something about him that crystallised what I could identify ourselves with, which was the fact that he, like many of us from the Arab World, led a double and had to make sure that no one would be aware of one at any cost. 

Born in the UK to Moroccan parents, the environment I was drenched in from my younger age was very white. Having to balance a life between Arab culture, religion and the life of any average teenager wanting to always push the boundaries set by their parents was extremely difficult. Not only did I feel the very heavy weight of guilt towards my parents but there was guilt towards the whole community that I was trying to carry on my shoulders. Instead of trying to balance both, I gave birth to two versions of myself: two polarised Yassines that were practically at the opposites of one another. 

It was a bit like that Earl Sweatshirt song that goes “too black for the white kids and too white for the blacks” but in this case, it was more like too haram for the halals and too halal for the harams – a whole dichotomy of contradictions that was very burdening. Add to that the confusion when I reached a more mature age and realized that most of the young men my age in my native country would be considered “worse” off than me by the measure of most Arab parents. Needless to say, I honestly did not know where to stand. 

The pressure was coming from all sides. Right, left and centre, everyone asking me all sorts of questions and offering all sorts of enticement, trying their best to reel me into their own respective circles. “C’mon Yass, it’s just a drink mate, no harm in that”; “Coming to Jumu’ah this Friday Yass ?”, “Have a puff it’ll calm you down.” I appreciated everyone’s efforts to try and make friends with me and include me into their clan, but all it did is make it difficult to establish and figure out what MY normative tenet was as I was blindly roaming  between any that were laid out in front of me. 

But it was my mental health that suffered from it the most. I was two completely different people depending on the crowd I was hanging out with. If both my two separate worlds ever collided (either when a big group of friends would gather, or, even worse, when one of my olé olé friends would bump into my parents) I’d literally wish someone could just zap me off the surface of this planet. In those moments, seconds felt like minutes and minutes felt like hours, blissfully praying for my mates to not say the wrong thing. And it’s not only about what I could have potentially done, it was also about what they could have done and how it would be interpreted by my parents. The smell of a cigarette, beer or even a light stain of lip-stick on one of my friend’s shirt collars could be enough for some to be labelled as bad frequentations. Afterall, Arab parents lived by the proverb of  “show me who your friends are and I’ll show you who you are”. 

I won’t sugarcoat it. My peace of mind only came when  I moved out. That’s when things kind of got better. Or at least they feel like they have. My parents, who probably continue to have big suspicions on some of my errands, have loosened up. At the very least, they tend to turn a blind eye when it comes to the above-mentioned situations. Still hasn’t healed nor sorted my identity crisis out, though.  But it has definitely made it lighter to bear with. For now at least. 

As for the rest, I naturally started surrounding myself with people experiencing the same endeavours and dilemmas that I do. Not that they have found an answer to it all, but the halal/haram ratios match. The further we talk, the further we untie some knots and find more answers and reason as to who we are and what we aspire to be on this long journey. We are yet to find solutions but we at least feel more comfortable and freer when we are around each other. And for now, I feel blessed to have them around me and help me feel this way. After all, I’m only waiting on another catalyst to see where things go. 

Share this article