تعرفوا إلى منير راجي، مصور الحياة اليومية في المغرب

لنلقي نظرة إلى سلسلة "يالا"

by

إن كنتم من عشاق تصفح إنستاغرام، فمن المحتمل أنّكم تعرّفتم إلى المصور منير راجي. لماذا؟ لأن أحدث أعمال الفنان المغربي المولود في هولندا قد لاقت رواجاً كبيراً على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، ناهيكم عن أنّ راجي يستمد الإلهام والجمال من الأشياء البسيطة في الحياة.

بالرغم من أن جذور المصور البالغ من العمر 38 عاماً تنتمي إلى قارتين مختلفتين، إلا أنّه يلتزم بالتقاط صور تجسّد جوهر الحياة اليومية الحقيقية في وطنه الأم.

وحول هذا قال الفنان لMille: “يغمرني حب كبير للمغرب، كما أن الصور التي ألتقطها في المغرب تمثل الأشياء التي أفتقدها”. ثم تابع قائلاً:”ولأنني منبهر بالحياة اليومية في وطني ولأنّها تذكرني بالعديد من الإجازات الصيفية التي قضيناها هناك”.

إن شغف الفنان بإبراز التفاصيل المستمدة من هويته وتراثه، جذبت بعضاً من أشهر الأسماء في الصناعة بما في ذلك  Vogue وNike وDaily Paper للتعاون معه. خاصةً وأنه يتمتع بحس عالٍ وقوي، كما أنّه بارع في استخدام عدسة الكاميرا لاستراق اللحظات السريعة المرتبطة بحياتنا، إلا أننا لا نعلم كيف ولماذا.

إننا معجبون بشكل خاص بسلسلته الأخيرة بعنوان “يالا”، وهي مجموعة من الصور المتناظرة لأشخاص يتنقلون على دراجات نارية وهو مشهد رأيناه جميعاً مرة أو اثنتين.

وبهدف الاستفاضة بالحديث عن هذا المبدع المغربي الهولندي، وتتبع شغفه بالتصوير، واستكشاف الأهمية الكامنة وراء أرضه الأم وأحدث سلسلة له، التقينا بالفنان منير راجي وأطلعنا على جزء من مسيرته الإبداعية.

لطالما تعودنا في التصوير الفوتوغرافي التركيز على الشخص أو الشيء الذي يقف أمام الكاميرا. إلا أننا نتطلع هذه المرة للتعرّف إلى من يقف وراءها. من هو منير راجي؟

ولد منير راجي ونشأ في زاندام (هولندا) ويعمل مصوراً فوتوغرافياً في أمستردام. إنه مسلم ولديه عائلة، ومشجع لرياضة كرة القدم. وهو ابن زوقار ولطيفة وشقيق فريد ونورا وسمير وفؤاد وهو خطيب “إيسا”.

ما الذي جذبك للتصوير الفوتوغرافي؟

لقد وقعت في حب التصوير الفوتوغرافي في عام 2005 خلال قضاء عطلة مع الأصدقاء، حينما التقطت أول صورة بعدسة كاميرا DLSR كان قد أحضرها أحد أصدقائي، وقد شعرت بالدهشة والانبهار لمدى عمق تلك الكاميرا. لذا وبعد انقضاء تلك العطلة بدأت بتوفير المال لشراء كاميرا خاصة بي. لقد أعجبت بهذه التقنية ورغبت بالتعرف على آلية عملها، لذا التحقت بمدرسة خاصة بتعليم فن التصوير، وبدأت في مساعدة المصورين الآخرين. ومن هنا كانت البداية.

لقد تطور حبي لاستخدام الكاميرا حتى أصبحت أداة لسرد القصص، والتي أفضل أن تكون قصصي الخاصة.

ما مدى تأثير خلفيتك وهويتك على اتجاهك الإبداعي وأسلوبك؟

لقد كان لخلفيتي وهويتي أثر رئيس في تشكيل ما أنا عليه اليوم، لطالما كنت شغوفاً باستكشاف الهويات. إن مجرد نشأتي كطفل مغربي في بيئة مليئة بالأشخاص البيض إلى حدٍ ما، لم يكن بالأمر المريح بشكل تام، مما جعلني طوال حياتي أشعر بالارتباط بعلاقة أقوى مع الأشخاص الملونين. في الواقع إنني أتمتع بحب الاستطلاع والفضول الذي يدفعني لاستكشاف: ما هي قصتك؟ من أين أنت؟ ما هي خلفيتك؟ أعتقد أنّ هذا الفضول والارتباط يتجسد بشكل واضح في صوري.

حققت مجموعة “يالا” الخاصة بك نجاحاً كبيراً عبر الإنترنت. لماذا التركيز على مثل هذه الموضوعات المتعلقة بهذه الدراجات، التي تعتبر جزءاً من مشهد الحياة في شمال أفريقيا؟

تشعرني سلسلة “يالا” بسعادة غامرة وأنا ممتن جداً لأن الناس يشعرون بالحماسة تجاهها.

لقد أمضيت صيف 2019 في المغرب بينما كنت أعمل على كتابي القادم بعنوان “أرض الأحلام”، وفوجئنا بوفاة والدي، الأمر الذي فطر قلبي وأفقدني عين المصور، حيث لم أعد أقوى على رؤية الجمال في أي ّ شيء، لذا وخلال فترة الحداد توقفت عن التقاط الصور. بعد ثلاثة أسابيع، جاءت بعض النساء لتقديم التعازي لوالدتي، لذا قررت الصعود إلى السطح لتصوير ملعب لكرة القدم، وفي تلك اللحظة رأيت الدراجات النارية تعبر الدوار، مما أثار رغبة عارمة في داخلي لالتقاط صور للدراجات النارية. لقد شعرت بأنها هبة منحتني القوة لتدفق طاقتي الإبداعية من جديد.

لطالما كانت الدراجات النارية تجسيداً لنمط الحياة في المغرب والتي نفتقدها في هولندا. إننا ملتزمون بالقواعد التي تأتي في بعض الأحيان على حساب التفكير المنطقي.

تعرض سلسلة “يالا” مواضيع تتمحور حول العائلة والتمكين والحرية، وتروي كل صورة قصة خاصة بها؛ لحظة توقف في رحلة شخص ما. لكن بالنسبة لي، لا تقف سلسلة “يالا” عند هذا الحد، فهي تدور حول الانتقال بين كل مراحل الحياة بغض النظر عن الظروف. لأنّ الحياة تستمر، وعلينا المضي قدماً.

من الصور الشخصية إلى اللقطات الأكبر، لماذا تسلط الضوء بشكل مستمر على الإنسان والوجوه المتعددة للمغرب؟

حبي للمغرب لا يُضاهيه شيء، والأشياء التي أصورها في المغرب هي الأشياء التي أفتقدها. آمل أن يكون كتابي القادم “أرض الأحلام” إشادة بالمغرب، فهو يبرز أجزاء من المغرب الذي أعرفه وأختبره. فأنا أصور الحياة اليومية التي تسحرني أو تذكرني بالعديد من الإجازات الصيفية التي قضيناها هناك.

هل سيكون هناك مجلد ثان من سلسلة “يالا”؟ ماذا تخبئ لنا في جعبتك للأيام القادمة؟ 

لقد انتهيت في الوقت الحالي من إتمام سلسلة “يالا”. كل ما يشغل تفكيري في الوقت الراهن  هو أن أتمكن من إقامة معرض “يالا” في المغرب وفرنسا. في غضون ذلك، أتمنى أن تسنح لي الفرصة للعودة إلى المغرب في وقت قريب لأواصل العمل على كتابي.

شارك هذا المقال

Meet Mounir Raji, the Photographer Capturing Morocco’s Raw Approach to Life

A deep look into his series ‘Yallah’

by

If you’ve spent some time on Instagram recently, there’s a good chance you’ve already come across his photography. Why? Because Holland-born Moroccan artist Mounir Raji’s latest series has recently gone viral. Also, because Raji finds inspiration and beauty in the simple things in life—making it easy for all of us to appreciate. 

The 38-year-old photographer splits his roots across two different continents but it’s in his native country that he finds the most drive to capture the essence of his homeland.  

“My love for Morocco is huge and the things I photograph in Morocco are the things I miss,” he tells MILLE. “The everyday life that fascinates me or reminds me of the many holidays we spent there each summer,”  he continues.

Drawing from his identity and heritage, his attention to detail has charmed some of the biggest names in the industry including Vogue, Nike and Daily Paper. Sensitive and powerful, many interpretations can be plucked out of Mounir’s photography as his lens always seems to steal a precise moment of life that all of us can relate to but don’t know how or why. 

We’re especially fans of his latest series “Yallah”, a collection of symmetrical photographs of people commuting on mopeds we’ve all at least seen once in our lives.

We sat down with the Moroccan-Dutch creative to dig in deeper into his passion, trail this lust whilst probing the significance behind his motherland and latest series. Meet Mounir Raji.

In photography we tend to focus on who, or what, is in front of the camera. This time we’d like to know who is behind it. Who is Mounir Raji?

Mounir Raji is a man born and raised in Zaandam (Netherlands) and works as a photographer in Amsterdam. He’s a Muslim, a family man and a football fan. He is the son of Zouggar and Latifa and the brother of Farid, Noura, Samir & Fouad and engaged to Isa.

What drew you to photography?  

I fell in love with photography back in 2005 when I was on a holiday with friends. I had my first point and shoot camera and one of my friends brought a DLSR camera. When I saw the depth field of that camera I was like, that’s amazing and so beautiful. After that holiday, I saved money to buy my own. I love the technique and wanted to know exactly how a camera works. So, I went to a private photography school and started assisting other photographers. That’s how it started.

Now I love to use the camera as a tool to tell stories, preferably my own stories.

How does your background and identity influence your creative direction and style? 

My background and identity formed me in a way that I’m always looking for identities. Growing up as a Moroccan kid in a relatively white surrounding, you’ve never really fit in. So, my entire life I’ve always felt a stronger connection to people of colour. I’m always curious and want to know: What’s your story? Where are you from? What’s your background? I think you can see that curiosity and connection in my photography.

Your YALLAH series was met with great success online. Why focus on such subjects on these specific bikes, which are by the way, well embedded in North Africa’s scenery?

I’m so happy with the YALLAH series and so grateful that people are so enthusiastic about it.

In the summer of 2019, I was in Morocco working on my forthcoming book entitled ‘Dreamland’, when my father unexpectedly passed away. I was emotionally broken and I lost my photographic eye, I didn’t see the beauty anymore. I couldn’t take pictures in that first period of mourning. After three weeks some women came by to give my mother their condolences and I decided to go to the rooftop to photograph a football field. It was that moment when I saw the motorcycles crossing the roundabout. I wanted to capture the motorcycles for a while, but I didn’t yet have in mind how I wanted to do that. It really felt as a gift and it helped me to get my creative energy flowing again. 

The motorbikes for me stand for the Moroccan approach to life. It shows a mentality that I sometimes miss in the Netherlands. We are guided by rules which sometimes comes at the expense of logical thinking.

The YALLAH series shows themes of family, empowerment and freedom, each picture tells a story of its own; a paused moment in someone’s journey. But for me personally the YALLAH series as a whole is more than that, it is about going from a to b regardless of the circumstances. Life goes on and you have to move on.

From portraits to larger shots, you always seem to aim attention at the human and the many faces of Morocco. Why?

My love for Morocco is huge and the things I photograph in Morocco are the things I miss. Hopefully my forthcoming book ‘Dreamland’ can be an ode to Morocco, it will show fragments of my Morocco how I know it and experience it. The everyday life that fascinates me or reminds me of the many holidays we spent there each summer.

Will there be a second volume of the YALLAH series? What can we expect from you in the times to come?

I think the YALLAH series is done for now. I hope the YALLAH exhibition can travel and do an exhibition in Morocco & France that’s the focus at the moment. In the mean time I hope I can go back to Morocco soon and continue working on my book.

Share this article