منصّة Mizna تحتفي بحياة سارة حجازي

تكريم مفعم بالمشاعر

by

في حدث هام ومثير للاهتمام، كشفت منصة الفن العربي الأمريكي “مزنة” عن تعاونها مع ورشة عمل الكتاب الأمريكيين الآسيويين لنشر مطبوعة خاصة تحتفي بحياة سارة حجازي.

وهنا تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ حجازي هي كاتبة وناشطة اجتماعية مثلية مصرية تم اعتقالها وتعذيبها في بلدها مصر لأكثر من ثلاثة أشهر جراء رفعها علم قوس قزح في حفل مشروع ليلى في عام 2017 في العاصمة القاهرة، وقد توفيت الشابة بشكل مأساوي في أوائل صيف 2020 في تورونتو بكندا، وقد أثبتت التحريات أنّ وفاتها كانت بسبب الانتحار.

وفي هذا الشأن، تناقلت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بعد وقت قصير من وفاتها رسالة كتبتها حجازي بالعربية موجّهة إلى إخوتها وأصدقائها والمجتمع ككل توضح فيها سبب قرارها وضع نهاية مفاجئة لحياتها، حيث جاء في مضمون الرسالة “إلى إخوتي – حاولت النجاة وفشلت، سامحوني. إلى أصدقائي – التجربة قاسية وأنا أضعف من أن أقاومها، سامحوني. إلى العالم – كنت قاسياً معي إلى حدٍ كبير، ولكني أسامح.”

وقد تحدثت وسائل الإعلام العالمية عن خبر وفاة سارة وأصبحت حكايتها قصة متداولة عبر معظم المنصات الإخبارية الدولية مما دفع منصة “مزنة” للمساهمة في هذا الحدث من خلال نشر مقالة افتتاحية بعنوان “I Want Sky” وهي عبارة عن مجموعة من الكتابات التي تهدف لتكريم حياة سارة حجازي التي لا يمكن تعويضها، وحياة مجتمع المثليين العرب داخل المنطقة وخارجها.

المجموعة متوفرة للبيع عبر الإنترنت، يمكنكم طلب نسختكم عبر الرابط التالي: mizna.org   

شارك هذا المقال

The Zine Celebrating Sarah Hegazy’s Life

A passionate tribute

by

Arab-American art platform Mizna is working in collaboration with the Asian American Writers’ Workshop to publish a special print honouring the life of Sarah Hegazy. 

Hegazy is better remembered as an Egyptian socialist, writer and activist who was arrested and tortured in her own native Egypt for over three months after flying a rainbow flag at a Mashrou’ Leila concert back in 2017 in the capital city of Cairo. The young woman tragically passed away in the early summer of 2020 in Toronto Canada, where it was confirmed that her death was the result of a suicide. 

A short letter written by Sarah herself in Arabic travelled through social media shortly after her death shedding light as to why she decided to put a sudden end to her life. The letter read: “To my siblings – I tried to survive and I failed, forgive me. To my friends – the experience was harsh and I am too weak to resist it, forgive me. To the world – you were cruel to a great extent, but I forgive.” 

Reported across most international news outlets with tributes to her activism becoming a recurring theme, Mizna is making its own contribution through this dedicated editorial. Titled “I Want Sky”, the short notebook will be a collection of writings all aiming at honouring Sarah Hegazy’s one irreplaceable life, and the lives of all LGBTQ+ Arabs and people of the SWANA region and its diaspora. 

Already online and available for sale, you can order your own copy here: mizna.org   

Share this article