5 أفكارٍ سائدة عن شمال إفريقيا يجب تغييرها

ومنها السحر والزواج من أجل التأشيرة على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ...

by

منذ الحادي عشر من سبتمبر، تم لصق الكثير من المفاهيم الخاطئة بالعرب، مما أثر بدوره وبشكلٍ مباشر على الطريقة التي يُنظر بها إلى العرب والمسلمين والطريقة التي تتم معاملتهم بها في جميع أنحاء العالم.

إلا أن تغيير هذه الصور النمطية التي تجسدنا كإرهابيين وأثرياء للغاية، لن يحدث ما لم يتم اتخاذ إجراء جماعي. والمشكلة أننا لم نحاول القيام بذلك حتى الآن. فنحن بحاجةٍ أولاً إلى التخلص من الأفكار السائدة المسببة للخلافات والمنتشرة داخل منطقتنا قبل أن نتمكن من معالجتها على نطاقٍ عالمي.

ومعظم هذه الصور النمطية ملتصقة ببعض أبناء شمال إفريقيا، وبالكثيرين من مناطق الخليج وبلاد الشام، حتى أن أبناء شمال إفريقيا لا يُعتبرون “عرباً” على الإطلاق. وهذا مجرد غيض من فيض.

ولكي نكون منصفين، ليس كل سكان شمال إفريقيا من العرب، فالكثير منهم أمازيغ (بربريون). حيثُ أن تركيبة شمال إفريقيا معقدة للغاية من التاحيتين الجينية والثقافية، وهي حقيقة تضيف الوقود إلى النار.

فيما يلي بعض المفاهيم الخاطئة الشائعة والأفكار السائدة السلبية عن شمال إفريقيا والتي ينبغي تغييرها على الفور.

نساء شمال إفريقيا ساحرات
يعاني المغرب بشكل خاص من وصمة عار في موضوع السحر. وباعتبار أن السحر كان متداولاً ومزدهراً منذ فترة طويلة من الزمن وفي جميع أنحاء المغرب بالإضافة إلى تونس والجزائر كذلك، فغالباً ما تُستخدم هذه الصفة كشيءٍ مهين.

يتزوج رجال شمال إفريقيا من النساء بهدف الحصول على التأشيرة فقط
أتُهم الرجال في شمال إفريقيا باتباع هذا السلوك لفترة طويلة من الزمن، وتم ترسيخه من خلال برامج تلفزيون الواقع مثل برنامج “Day Fiancé 90”. وعلى الرغم من صعوبة حصول العديد من سكان شمال إفريقيا على تأشيراتٍ للسفر إلى الخارج حقاً، حيث تم بالفعل توثيق ظاهرة زواج الإقامة الدائمة “green card” بشكلٍ كبير على مدار السنوات الأخيرة، إلا أنه علينا عدم التعميم في هذه القضايا أبداً.

كل سكان شمال إفريقيا يتحدثون اللغة الفرنسية
استعمر الفرنسيون جزءاً كبيراً من شمال إفريقيا لمدة قرن تقريباً، ولذلك أصبحت اللغة الفرنسية متأصلة في لهجات التونسيين والمغاربة والجزائريين على حدٍ سواء. ولكن على الرغم من أن نظام التعليم الفرنسي شائع بالفعل لدى جميع أبناء الطبقات العليا في الدول المذكورة، إلا أن هذه الطبقات لا تمثل سوى نسبة صغيرة من السكان – وليس الأغلبية.

يتمتع سكان شمال إفريقيا “ببشرةٍ بيضاء”
يُعتبر سكان شمال إفريقيا متنوعون من حيث السكان. وبطبيعة الحال، مثلما هناك عدد منهم من ذوي “البشرة البيضاء” أو “البشرة الحنطية”، هناك أيضاً  من هم من ذوي البشرة السوداء وكل درجات الألوان الواقعة بينهما.

كل أبناء شمال إفريقيا مسلمون
لقد كانت شمال إفريقيا في يوم من الأيام موطناً لأكبر عددٍ من السكان اليهود في المنطقة. وتستمر الجاليات اليهودية في الازدياد والنمو بأماكن مثل جربة في تونس، التي تُعد موطناً لكنيس الغريبة اليهودي الأقدم في تونس، كما أنها وجهة حجٍ لليهود في جميع أنحاء العالم. ناهيكم عن أن المجتمع القبطي في مصر يصل إلى حوالي 20% من إجمالي سكان البلاد، وهو ما يعادل حوالي 4.1 – 7.1 مليون مسيحي يعيشون في هذه الدولة الواقعة في شمال إفريقيا.

Photo: @norfafrica

شارك هذا المقال

5 North African Stereotypes That Need to be Broken

Witchcraft and visa marriages to name a few…

by

Since 9/11, plenty of misconceptions about Arabs have been perpetuated, and have in-turn directly impacted the way in which Arabs and Muslims are perceived and treated across the world. 

Dismantling the stereotypes that have painted us as both terrorists, and excessively wealthy, won’t happen unless collective action is taken. But we’re not even close yet. We need to look closely at the divisive stereotypes that are rife within our own region before we can tackle it on a global scale. 

A variety of stereotypes are targeted towards individuals from North Africa, and to many in the Gulf and the Levant, North Africans aren’t even considered to be ‘Arabs’ to begin with. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg. 

Now in all fairness, not all North Africans are Arab, many are Amazigh (berber). The makeup of North Africa, both genetically and culturally, is very complex. And this is a fact that adds fuel to the fire. Here are some common misconceptions and harmful stereotypes about North Africans that we should cancel immediately.  

North African women are witches
Morocco in particular suffers from the stigma of witchcraft. Whilst witchcraft has long-been a flourishing practice across the nation, as well as in places like Tunisia and Algeria, the statement is often used as derogatory slur.

North African men marry women for visa purposes
This stereotype has been cast on North African men for a long time, and is perpetuated by reality TV shows like ‘90 Day Fiancé’. Although it is genuinely difficult for many North Africans to secure visas to travel abroad, and the phenomenon of ‘green card’ marriages has been heavily documented over recent years, blanket statements are something we should be eradicating from the conversation.

All North Africans speak French
The French colonized much of North Africa for almost a century, hence why the French language is engrained in the dialects of Tunisians, Moroccans and Algerians alike. But although the French education system is indeed common throughout the upper classes of said countries, they only make up a small percentage of the population—not the majority. 

North Africans are ‘white’
North Africans are as diverse of a population as any. ‘White’ or ‘White-passing’ North Africans, of course do exist, but there are also black North Africans and every shade in between. 

All North Africans are Muslim
North Africa was once home to one the region’s biggest Jewish populations. Jewish communities continue to flourish in places like Djerba, Tunisia, which is home to the El Ghriba synagogue, the oldest in Tunisia, and is a pilgrimage destination for Jews across the globe. Not to mention Egypt’s Coptic community is estimated to be proportionate to as much as 20 per cent of the country’s total population, which equates to around 4.1 – 7.1 million Christians living in the North African nation.

Photo: @norfafrica

Share this article