جامعة نيويورك أبو ظبي في مهمة للحفاظ على الفن البصري العربي

نظرة إلى "المركز العربي لدراسة الفن" الجديد

by

تأخذ جامعة نيويورك أبو ظبي على عاتقها مهمة الارتقاء بدراسة الفن العربي إلى أعلى المستويات الأكاديمية.

فقد أعلنت المؤسسة للتو عن إطلاق “المركز العربي لدراسة الفن” الجديد القائم في حرم جامعة نيويورك أبو ظبي في السعديات، وهو مركز للفنون البصرية والتصوير الفوتوغرافي مكرّس للفنانين من دول غرب آسيا وشمال أفريقيا.
قالت سلوى المقدادي أستاذة تاريخ الفن في جامعة نيويورك أبو ظبي لصحيفة The National “نحتاج إلى وضع معاييرنا الخاصة وروايتنا التاريخية الخاصة بهذه المنطقة من داخل المنطقة”. ثم أضافت “نحن نتطلع إلى إعادة النظر في قانون تاريخ الفن لهذه المنطقة.”

يضم المركز برنامجاً غنياً بالمؤتمرات وورش العمل بالإضافة إلى المقابلات الصوتية والمرئية مع الفنانين والمتخصصين في الفن، كما ستصبح كل الفعاليات رقمية ومتوفرة على موقع المركز على الإنترنت.

ستتولى المقدادي مسؤولية تطوير الموارد الأرشيفية لتسليط الضوء على تاريخ الفن العربي الذي لطالما أغفلته المؤسسات والمعارض الفنية.

فيما يتعلق بالأدب والدراسات البصرية، سيرأس البروفيسور شمعون زامير بحثاً يعتمد على الأرشيف البصري لجامعة نيويورك أبو ظبي الذي تأسس في عام 2014 في مركز “عكاسة” والذي يتضمن التصوير الفوتوغرافي التاريخي والمعاصر من دول غرب آسيا وشمال أفريقيا.

كما يجري العمل على تطوير العديد من المشاريع الأخرى التي تربط بين الفنون والعلوم الاجتماعية، وكلها تحت إشراف الباحثة الاجتماعية وأستاذة السياسة العامة مي الدباغ، كما سيكون هناك منصة حوارية متنقلة للتواصل مع الفنانين وعلماء الاجتماع في المنطقة.

nyuad.nyu.edu

 

الصورة الرئيسية: مجموعة ياسر علوان مصر حوالي عام 1900 – حوالي 1950

شارك هذا المقال

NYU Abu Dhabi is on a Mission to Preserve Arab Visual Art

Inside the new ‘Arab Center for the Study of Art’

by

New York University Abu Dhabi seems to be on a mission to take the study of Arab art to the highest echelons of academia.

The institution just announced the launch of  a new ‘Arab Center for the Study of Art’ situated at NYUAD’s Saadiyat campus, which will be dedicated to visual art and photography of Western Asia and North Africa. 

“We need to set our own standards, our own historical narrative about this region from this region,” NYUAD art history professor Salwa Mikdadi told the National. “We’re looking at revising the canon of art history for this region.”

The center will have a rich program of conferences and workshops, as well as audio and video interviews with artists and art professionals. Everything will be digitized and made available on the center’s website.

Mikdadi will take charge of the development of archival resources to bring light to the overlooked history of Arab art institutions and art exhibitions. 

As for literature and visual studies, Professor Shamoon Zamir will lead research based on NYUAD’s 2014 visual archive ‘Akkasah’, which comprises historical and contemporary photography from Western Asia and North Africa.

Several other projects bridging between arts and social sciences are also in the works, all under the supervision of social research and public policy professor May Al-Dabbagh—amongst which is a mobile conversational platform to engage with artists and social scientists in the region. 

nyuad.nyu.edu

 

Main Photo: Yasser Alwan Collection Egypt c.1900-c.1950

Share this article