في ذكرى انفجار بيروت المدمر: هذا ما يقوله الشباب اللبناني اليوم

بالرغم من مرور عام، لم تلتئم الجراح بعد وما زالت مشاعر الغضب في أوجها.

by

يعتقد الناس بأنّ الشعور بالانتماء إلى الوطن لا ينبع من المكان الذي نتواجد فيه جسدياً وإنّما من الشعور بالانتماء الوجداني إليه.

لقد مر عام على الحدث المدمر الذي هز بيروت، حيث شهد اللبنانيون المنتشرون في جميع أنحاء العالم مدينتهم وهي تعاني لحظات قاسية مليئة بمشاعر الحزن والألم. ففي الرابع من أغسطس من العام الماضي هز انفجار ضخم ميناء بيروت ليسجل حدثاً إضافياً في الشرق الأوسط ملطخاً بدماء الأبرياء، أسفر عن خسارة حقيقية للملايين من الناس.

بالرغم من انتشار الوباء العالمي الذي فرض المزيد من الضغط على هذا البلد الذي ما زال يكافح لبناء نفسه، إلا أنّ انفجار بيروت سجل حدثاً كارثياً لا يمكن نسيانه في التاريخ اللبناني.. 

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ الكميات الكبيرة من نترات الأمونيوم التي كانت مخزنة في قلب العاصمة قد أودت بحياة مئات الأرواح في غضون ثوانٍ، ناهيكم عن ترك آثار نفسية مؤلمة لدى كثيرين ممن ما زالوا يجدون صعوبة في تخطي هذا الحدث حتى الآن.

وعلى هذا الصعيد، وفي الفترة المفضية إلى الذكرى السنوية لوقوع هذه المأساة، التقينا مع خمسة شبّان لبنانيين وتحدثنا باستفاضة عن مشاعرهم حيال هذه المأساة التي تتباين بين الغضب والشعور بالذنب والتوق الشديد لتحقيق العدالة والمساءلة.

إليسار حيدر، 23 عاماً.

بصراحة، كنا نعتقد بأنّ انفجار بيروت هو الحدث الكارثي الأكثر سوءاً على الإطلاق، إلا أنّ الأمور منذ ذلك الحين بدأت تتجه نحو الأسوأ، فلم نلبث أن عانينا من التضخم ونقص الوقود والوضع المصرفي السيء، حتى بات من الصعب العثور على حل يخرجنا من هذا المأزق. بالطبع تعتريني مشاعر الضغينة التي يشعر بها جميع اللبنانيين في أعماقهم، لطالما كنا نجهل أننا عشنا جميعاً لمدة 7 سنوات في ذلك الميناء بالقرب من نترات الأمونيوم التي تعتبر قنبلة موقوتة. لقد تسبب الإهمال الحكومي بهذه الكارثة التي كان من الممكن تجنبها. وبالرغم من أنّها أودت بحياة 218 شخصاً لم يتم تحقيق العدالة بعد، ولا تزال الشوارع تغص بعائلات الضحايا الذين يحتجون مطالبة بتحقيق العدالة أو على الأقل الحصول على إجابات.

أعتقد أن تضامن المجتمع المحلي الذي رأيناه مباشرةً بعد الانفجار هو الشيء الوحيد الذي يمنحني جرعة من التفاؤل. بالرغم من أننا لم نحصل على أيّ إجابة من السلطات اللبنانية، إلا أنّ الناس من جميع أنحاء لبنان قد نزلوا إلى الشوارع لتنظيفها وجمع التبرعات في محاولة لإعادة بناء ما قد دمر. لطالما كانت هذه المجموعات المجتمعية المحفّز الأساسي للتغيير المستدام وهي كل ما أثق به بشكل شخصي. من الواضح أننا نعيش في الوقت الراهن بلا دولة أو بنية أو نظام أو حتى أيّ نوع من الضمان الاجتماعي، لذلك فإن الناس هم كل ما لدينا، ومن وجهة نظري أنّ الشيء الوحيد الذي يمكن للبيروتي الآن أن يتطلع إليه هو تحقيق العدالة وإعادة هيكلة مشهدنا السياسي بالكامل.

كميل لورفينج، 23 عاماً.

اليوم وبعد مرور عام على هذه الكارثة، بات الشعور بالظلم والاضطهاد هو الشعور السائد عالمياً، فقد ازدادت الأمور سوءاً وكأن البلاد قد سقطت في الهاوية. كنّا نتوقّع أن تتغير الأمور وتتحسن تدريجياً، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك انخفضت قيمة الليرة اللبنانية وأصبح لبنان في مهب الريح في مواجهة أزمة اقتصادية مروعة.

طارق المندلق، 27 عاماً.

بصراحة، ما زلنا نعاني من مشاعر القلق ولم نشعر بالراحة منذ حدوث الانفجار، أشعر بالحزن والأسى، فبالرغم من كل ما يحدث، إلا أنّ الشيء الوحيد الذي يؤرقني ويثقل كاهلي هو ما حدث في الرابع من أغسطس، فقد كان الحدث عنيفاً ومن الصعب جداً وصف هذا الشعور بالكلمات.

كما أنّ هناك أمر آخر يؤرقني وهو أن أجد الناس يطلقون الأحكام عليك فيما ما إذا كنت ستخرج للاحتجاج أم لا. أنا شخصياً لن أذهب، أنا لا أريد أن أتعرض للضرب أو لإطلاق النار – لا أريد أن أعاني المزيد. أعتقد أنني اكتفيت وسأعبر عن مشاعري بطريقتي الخاصة، . لا أحب أن يطلق عليّ أحد الأحكام أو ينتقدني، لأن لكل شخص طريقته الخاصة في التعبير عن مشاعره وحزنه واحتجاجه.

كل ما نتطلع إليه هو تحقيق العدالة، ورفع الحصانة عن المتورطين ومحاكمتهم، نطمح  لبعض التغيير أو تحقيق أيّ شيء مختلف، نحتاج للتخلص من هذه اللامبالاة التي اعتاد الناس عليها. كل ما نحتاج إليه هو جرعة من الأمل، بالرغم من أن ذلك قد يكون مستحيلاً في هذه المرحلة.

حسن طرابلسي، 22 عاماً.

بالرغم من مرور عام كامل، إلا أنني ما زلت لا أصدق ما حدث، لطالما عانى لبنان من أزمات جديدة تحول دون استيعاب ما يجري من حولك، أو ربما تجبرك على نسيان سابقتها لتتمكن من معالجة القضايا الجديدة الراهنة، أشعر الآن بالغضب والارتباك والعجز لمرور عام كامل بينما الأمور ما تزال على حالها، دون توفر إجابات تفسر ما حدث.

من الغريب أن أقول هذا، ولكن بعد حدوث الانفجار لمست وحدةٍ بين الناس جعلتني أشعر وكأنّ الانفجار كان بمثابة جرس إنذار للبنان، وتحذير بأننا في طريقنا لنشهد تغييرات كبيرة من شأنها تحسين حياة الناس. اليوم وبعد مرور عام على هذا الحدث نواجه أزمة اقتصادية ومالية كبيرة، أسفرت عن فقدان عملتنا لأكثر من 90٪ من قيمتها، وصار الناس في وضع أسوأ مما كنا عليه بعد وقوع الانفجار مباشرةً … نحتاج للكثير حتى نتنبه ونصل إلى نقطة التحول المطلوبة.

مايا عكرا، 30 عاماً.

كان من الصعب جداً اختبار هذه التجربة من بعيد والعجز عن تقديم المساعدة على الأرض، بالرغم من شعوري بالألم والأسى، إلا أنني لم اختبر الصدمة بنفس الطريقة التي عاش بها الناس في بيروت إثر الانفجار، لقد شعرت بالعجز لأنني لم أستطع فعل أيّ شيء.

في المرة الأولى التي مررت فيها بموقع التفجير في ديسمبر الماضي، صرخت بأسى لأنّ هذا الحدث المذهل كان يفوق قدرتي على التحمل، وخاصة وأنّ لبيروت مكانة عزيزة في قلبي، إنّ مجرد رؤيتها محطمة كان أمراً محبطاً ومؤلماً ولا يمكن تحمله، لطالما كنت أرى بيروت مدينة قوية، ورؤيتها بهذا الشكل كان أمراً محزناً للغاية.

عندما أكون في بيروت ينتابني الشعور بالقلق المستمر خشية حدوث أيّ شيء، إنّ مجرد ألا أكون في بلدي وعدم قدرتي على العودة إليه لافتقادي الشعور بالأمان – هو شعور صعب وقاس جداً، وأعتقد أنّ كل لبناني يعيش في الخارج قد اختبر هذا الشعور ايضاً.

أشعر برغبة عارمة بالخروج إلى الشوارع والاحتجاج، لاستعادة هذا الشعور الوطني الذي أتوق إليه، والذي فاتني في العام الماضي للمساعدة في إعادة بناء بلدي.

شارك هذا المقال

Remembering the Beirut Blast: Here’s What Lebanese Youth Have to Say Today

A year later, the feeling of anger hasn’t faded at all.

by

People often say that the feeling of home isn’t about where you are physically but where you belong. 

Day for day, one year ago, Lebanese people from all over the world helplessly witnessed a mournful moment in the city many call home. On August 4, an explosion rocked Beirut’s port, sadly marking yet another blood-stained headline emanating from the Middle East. In reality though, it was a true personal loss for millions.

On top of the global pandemic which had put strain on a country that was already struggling to find breath, the Beirut blast is an event in Lebanese history that many will find hard to forget. 

Taking the lives of hundreds in a matter of seconds, the large amount of ammonium nitrate stored at the heart of the capital psychologically scarred many who still find it difficult to move on. 

In the lead up to the anniversary of the tragedy, we spoke with five young Lebanese on how they navigated through the tragedy between anger, guilt as well as the dire craving for justice and accountability. 

Elissar Haidar, 23 

Honestly, the Beirut blast felt like rock bottom but things have gone from bad to worse since then. Inflation, fuel shortages, and the banking situation have only gotten worse since then and it’s hard to see a way out. I definitely hold a grudge and it’s a common sentiment amongst Lebanese people, the ammonium nitrate in the port was basically a ticking-time bomb that we all lived near for 7 years without knowing. It was a completely avoidable disaster that resulted from governmental negligence, 218 people lost their lives and no justice has yet been served. The victims’ families are still protesting for justice or at least answers.

I think what we saw immediately right after the blast and the only thing that keeps me hopeful personally is the community. There was no response from Lebanese authorities but people from all over Lebanon took to the streets to clean up, fundraise, and re-build. Community-based groups are the catalyst for sustainable change and that’s all I have faith in personally. Right now as it stands, there’s no state, structure, system, and no kind of welfare society so really all we have is the people. The only thing a Beiruti can hope for now in my eyes is justice and a complete restructuring of our political landscape.

Camille Lorfing, 23

Globally after a year, the feeling is injustice – things have gotten worse and worse and it’s as if the country was free falling straight to hell. We expected stuff to change and slowly get better and instead we got the depreciation of the LBP and the horrific economic crisis.

Tarek ElMendelek, 27 

To be honest it has been non-stop anxiety ever since. I feel like there is a rock in my stomach. The only thing I can think of is August 4th although there are a million other things happening at the same time. It has just been heavy, and it’s quite hard to put the feeling into words.

The other thing I find disturbing is people judging on whether you are going down to protest or not. Personally, I won’t be. I don’t want to be beaten up or shot at – I don’t need that. I have too much to lose. I think I’ve done my fair share and will be paying my respects in my own way but I don’t like the judgmental feeling because everyone is coping and grieving in their own way.

All we want is justice, to lift the immunity from the people involved and taken to court, some change or anything different. This apathy needs to go away. People got too used to this. I feel like we just need hope itself although it may seem impossible at this point. 

Hassan Trablousi, 22

Even one year later, it still doesn’t feel real. In Lebanon there is always a new crisis happening which doesn’t allow you to digest what is going on, or even possibly forces you to forget as you have to deal with the new issues at hand. So right now, I feel angry, confused and powerless at the fact that one year on things are still the same and there are still no answers for what happened.

It’s a bit strange to say this but after the blast there was a unity among the people that I have never seen before. At one point it felt like the blast was a wakeup call for Lebanon and that we were on route to see big changes that will better the lives of people. Now one year on, we are facing an economic and financial crisis where our currency has lost over 90 percent of its value. People are in a worse position than we were right after the blast hit… so much for the wakeup call and the supposed turning point. 

Maya Akra, 30 

It was quite hard to experience this from away and to not be able to help on the ground. I feel like I didn’t go through the trauma the same way as people did in Beirut when it happened. Although it still hurts, to not say more, I really felt like I couldn’t do much from where I was. 

The first time I went past the location of the bombing last December I started screaming frantically because it was too much to handle and Beirut holds a real dear place in my heart. Seeing it fall to pieces was really depressing and agonising and not something I’m used to. I always see Beirut as a strong city and to see it the way it is saddening. 

I am always anxious now when I’m in Beirut. That something might happen and so I live in fear. It was the hardest thing to not be in my country and couldn’t go back because my country doesn’t feel safe –  this was the hardest part and everyone who lives abroad must feel the same to some extent.

I feel like going to the streets now and protest, to reclaim this patriotic feeling that I deserve and missed last year to help and rebuild my country. 

Share this article