شيرين عقيقي تغير وجه تصميم الأزياء العربي

لماذا تقوم المصممة المولودة في بيروت بتصميم الأزياء للنساء المنشغلات بمهمات الحياة

by
من بين المواهب الناشئة من لندن، هناك مصممة الأزياء المولودة في بيروت وخريجة سنترال سانت مارتن: شيرين عقيقي والبالغة من العمر 25 عاماً. تتميز أعمال عقيقي بأقمشتها المجعدة وخياطتها غير المستقيمة و غير المتناظرة للدلالة على المرأة المتمردة، فقد صرحت لموقع “دايزد” بأن تصاميمها تدور حول “النساء .”الهاربات

ولكن هناك تيار خفي أكثر عنفاً لتصاميمها. إذ تربط عقيقي الذكريات المتعلقة بمناطق الصراع في الشرق الأوسط بعملها، مثل الحاجة إلى الاستعداد بسرعة للهروب في أي لحظة. فارتداء الملابس بالنسبة لعقيقي هو نوع من السياسة، وهو تعبير عن حالة الصراع.

فمن خلال تصاميمها ذات القصات المبسطة، تأخذ هذه المصممة المواد التقليدية المناسبة لأية سيدة (كقمصان الساتان والقفازات الحريرية والحقائب الجلدية) وتعدلها بطريقةٍ تجعل هذه القطع أقرب إلى الأشياء الفنية بدلاً من الملابس العادية أو العملية. وتطرح عقيقي من خلال القيام بذلك، مسألة دور المرأة في التاريخ وكيف أن ارتداء الملابس المحافظة كان نوعاً من أنواع الأداء بالنسبة للمرأة بدلاً من أن يكون وسيلةً للتعبير عن الواقع الأنثوي.

تصاميها مبهرة جداً. فقد سارت عارضات الأزياء على المنصة في عرض أزياء سنترال سانت مارتن لهذا العام مع ورق الألمنيوم في شعرهن ومكياج يشبة القطط على وجوههن؛ فعقيقي لا تسمح لامرأتها بالتأنق على الإطلاق.

تُظهر ملابس عقيقي المرأة مرتدية نصف ملابسها وبسيطة ومشتتة ومشوشة قبل أن تتمكن من التأنق لتصبح “امرأة حقيقية”. وهي فكرة لم تكن موجودة من الناحية النظرية إلا بعد أن لفتت الانتباه إليها الفيلسوفة الأمريكية جوديث بتلر، ولكنها ما زالت مفتَرَضة في صناعة الأزياء اليوم.

نالت عقيقي إثر نجاح عرضها في فبراير، جائزة “لوريال بروفيشنال كريياتف” عن مجموعتها. ومن خلال مجموعة جديدة وفيلم قصير والعديد من المشاريع التعاونية، نؤكد لكم بأن عقيقي من الأشخاص الذين يستحقون المتابعة.

شارك هذا المقال

Sheryn Akiki is Changing the Face of Arab Fashion Design

Why the Beirut-born designer makes clothes for women on the go

by
Of the talent rising out of London, 25-year-old Beirut-born fashion designer and Central Saint Martin graduate Sheryn Akiki is hard to miss. Spun around “women on the run”, as she expressed to Dazed, Akiki’s work is tripped-up with creasing fabrics and off-kilter tailoring to signify a woman running against the status quo. 

But there’s is a much more violent undercurrent to her designs, adjoined with the fourth-wave feminist message. Akiki relates memories of Middle-Eastern conflict zones in her work, like the need get ready quickly to flee at a moment’s notice. To Akiki, the act of dressing is political, and touches the embodiment of conflict. 

Lebanese Fashion Designer Sheryn Akiki

With clearly deconstructed clothing, she takes traditional materials fit for a lady (think satin shirts, silk gloves and leather purses) and skews them in a way that brings the items closer to resembling an art-object rather than utility-wear. And by doing so, Akiki puts to question the role of women in historical function, how sensibility was constantly preened closer to performance rather than presenting female reality. 

And the clothing is nothing short of performative. Models walked down the catwalk in this year’s Central Saint Martin’s MA show with tinfoil in their hair, kitten-like makeup smeared across faces; Akiki doesn’t allow her woman to dress-up at all. 

Lebanese Fashion Designer Sheryn Akiki

Half-dressed, distressed and deconstructed, Akiki’s clothing shows ‘the woman’ before she can ever dress-up to ‘become woman’. A notion that hasn’t existed theoretically since American philosopher Judith Butler ripped it apart, but is still assumed in the fashion industry today.

Lebanese Fashion Designer Sheryn Akiki

After the success of her show in February, Akiki was awarded the L’Oréal Professionnel Creative Award for her collection. With a new collection, a short film, and several collaborative projects in the row, Akiki is certainly one to watch.

Share this article