ما الذي يعنيه النجاح الكبير الذي حققه رامي يوسف للعرب؟

معنى أن تنشأ في ظل أحداث 9/11 في أميركا

by

“هل هذا معنى التمثيل الاجتماعي؟” هذا ما قلته لنفسي عندما شاهدت مسلسل رامي يوسف، بعنوان “رامي” ومسلسله الأخير “مشاعر” من إنتاج إتش بي أو. وقد اتضح أنه كذلك بالفعل. فلأول مرة، أرى نسخة من نفسي على شاشات التلفزيون ذاتها التي كبرت وأنا معتاد على أنها تصوّر العرب الأميركيين مثلي كمليارديرات فاحشي الثراء أو إرهابيين.

أنا لست كذلك، ولكنني مثل رامي نشأت كعربية مسلمة في الفترة التي تلت أحداث 11/9  في أميركا. فلقد كنت محصورةً بصورة نمطية معينة وتعرضت للتمييز والاضطهاد من قبل الرجال والنساء من ذوي البشرة البيضاء أكثر من ألف مرة – ولأول مرة، أرى تجربتي تتجلى أمامي على شاشة التلفزيون، مع خلفية موسيقية رائعة تضم الجميع من الرائع عبد الحليم حافظ إلى المصريين.

لكن رامي ليس مثالياً. فقد كانت شخصية رامي بالنسبة للبعض هي عبارة عن رجل مسلم آخر يتطلع إلى تبرير رغبته في مواعدة النساء من البشرة البيضاء. ففي إحدى الحلقات التي سافر فيها إلى مصر، كان تصوير رامي لعائلته المصرية خالٍ من التفاصيل الدقيقة، ومختصراً لشخصياتهم بأنهم ذوو أصواتٍ عالية ومحبَطين وتواقين للحصول على الهدايا. ربما كان هذا انطباعه عن عائلته بالفعل (كونه لم يعش في وطنه الأم). ولقد كان هذا انطباعي أنا أيضاً قبل العودة إلى مسقط رأسي في تونس.

ومع ذلك، يحكي كل من برنامجه التلفزيوني وعروضه الخاصة قصة نادراً ما تروى. والأهم من ذلك بأنهم فتحوا الأبواب أمام النقد الموجه إليهم من مشاهديهم العرب والمسلمين في جميع أنحاء العالم وأتاحوا الفرصة لجمهورهم الأمريكي من غير العرب وغير المسلمين لفهمٍ أفضل للطقوس الإسلامية مثل الصوم خلال رمضان والمزيد من التفاصيل الأخرى مثل إرشادات االحجاب وبأن النساء عادة لا يرتدين الحجاب في المنزل مع الأقارب.

على الرغم من أمنيتي في أن يتعمق رامي أكثر بتعقيدات مسألة المواعدة بين العرب (حيثُ كانت شخصيته وشخصية أخته في برنامجه التلفزيوني مرتبطة في المقام الأول بالشخصيات ذات البشرة البيضاء)، إلا أنني بعد تفكيرٍ أطول تقبلت حقيقة أن شخصيتَي رامي، سواء كممثل كوميدي أو كشخصيةٍ في  برنامج تلفزيوني، كانتا حاضرتين لرواية قصة الشتات، قصة عربية أمريكية بشكل قاطع.

على الرغم من أن تجربته الشخصية تتقاطع مع مجموعة متنوعة من النقاط (بما في ذلك بعض التيارات المحلية الحصرية)، لكنها تمثل تجربة مختلفة بطبيعتها عن تجربة العرب الذين نشأوا في المنطقة  ويعيشون فيها. تبقى رؤية جميع جوانب التجربة العربية ذات أهمية كبيرة – لكل من المغتربين وأولئك الذين ما زالوا يعيشون في بلدانهم الأم، لذلك فإن ما يقدمة رامي هو عبارة عن خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح.

شارك هذا المقال

What Ramy Youssef’s Meteoric Rise Means for Arabs

The realities of growing up in post 9/11 America

by

“Is this what representation feels like?” I thought to myself as I watched Ramy Youssef’s series, Ramy and his latest HBO special, Feelings. It turns out it was. For the first time, I saw a version of myself on the same TV screens where I’d grown accustomed to Arab-Americans like me typecast as ultra-rich billionaires or terrorists. 

I am neither, but like Ramy, I’d grown up Arab and Muslim in post 9/11 America. I’d been pigeonholed into stereotypes, discriminated against, and fetishized by white men and women a thousand times over—and for the first time, I saw my experiences reflecting back at me on a TV screen, with an all-too-familiar soundtrack that featured everyone from the great Abdel Halim Hafez, to Al Masrieen. 

But Ramy isn’t perfect. To some, Ramy’s character was yet another Muslim dude looking to justify his desire to date white women. In one episode where he travels to Egypt, Ramy’s portrayal of his Egyptian family was short of nuances, reducing their characters to loud, frustrated, gift-hungry monsters. Maybe that truly was his impression of his family (having never lived in his native country). It certainly was mine prior to moving back to my hometown in Tunisia. 

Nevertheless, both his TV show and stand-up special tell a story that’s rarely told. More importantly, they’ve opened the doors for critique from their Arab and Muslim viewers across the globe and left wider non-Arab and non-Muslim American audiences with the chance to get a better grasp of Muslim rituals like fasting during Ramadan, and more miniscule specifities like the guidelines of the hijab, and that women typically don’t wear their scarves at home with relatives. 

Despite the fact that I wish that he delved deeper into the complexities of intra-Arab dating (both his and his sister’s characters in his TV show were primarily linked to white characters), secondary thoughts led me to come to terms with the fact that Ramy, both the stand-up comedian and TV show character were there to tell a diaspora story, one that’s categorically Arab-American. 

And although the character’s experience intersects on a variety of points (including some exclusively local undercurrents) it portrays an inherently different experience to that of Arabs who have grown up and live in the region. The importance of seeing all aspects of the Arab experience remains of great importance – for both the diaspora and those who still live in their home countries, so Ramy is a cemented step in the right direction.

Share this article