الفنّانة الإماراتية فرح القاسمي تتوجّه إلى نيويورك

وتدعم بذلك مشهد الفن العربي

by

تمكّن القليل من الفنّانين الإماراتيين من ترك بصمة مؤثّرة في مشهد الفن العالمي، إلا أنّ فرح القاسمي أثبتت أنّه من الممكن ترك بصمة تُحدث كل الفرق في هذا المشهد.

لقد شقّ عمل قاسمي طريقه من مدينتها الأم أبوظبي ومن ثم امتد إلى ممفيس وباريس ونيويورك، حيث أقيم معرضها المنفرد الأول “More Good News” في غاليري Helena Anrather في عام 2018. وقاسمي الآن بصدد التحضير لمعرضها المنفرد الأول الذي يقدّمه Public Art Fund.

بمساعدة من منسّقة Public Art Fund كارترينا ستاثوبولو (والتي عملت في السابق على معارض كبيرة مثل Being Modern في متحف الفن الحديث في باريس ومعرض الفنّان وليد رعد في متحف الفن الحديث)، سيكون معرض قاسمي تحت عنوان Back and Forth Disco، حيث تكشف من خلاله مفهوم التخفّي، وتكشف عن الحقائق الخاصة بالبيئات المختلفة التي تعيش فيها هذه الفنانة المقيمة في أبوظبي.

كان آخر أعمال قاسمي فيلم يدعى “أم النار“، والذي سلّطت فيه الضوء على الإمارات العربية المتحدة، لكننا نجدها الآن توجه أنظارها نحو مدينة نيويورك.

أرادت قاسمي في فيلم “أم النار” دراسة التأثيرات الأوروبية على الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث تدور أحداث الفيلم الذي مدته 40 دقيقة أثناء سنوات الحكم الاستعماري البرتغالي والبريطاني في رأس الخيمة. ينتمي الفيلم لفئة الرعب الكوميدي وتقوم فيه شخصيّة “جن” (التي يؤديها ممثّل مغطّى بغطاء مطبّع بالورود الملوّنة) بأداء مونولوج بنمط تلفزيون الواقع يمسّ القضايا الاجتماعية.

لقد ابتكرت قاسمي في “Back and Forth Disco” سلسلة جديدة من الصور التي “تعزل وتسلّط الضوء على جمال اللحظات العابرة وسط مدينة نيويورك”. وذلك بهدف كسر الحواجز التي عادةً ما تجعل من تلك المدينة منعزلة أو مجهولة.

كما يُعتبر معرض قاسمي المنفرد جزءاً من موسم Public Art Fund 2020 والذي سيشهد خمسة معارض لفنّانين عالميين مشهورين ومنهم ديفيد سيمو وميلفين إدوارد وأول إيريزكو وسام موير.

يقول نيكولاس بوم مدير ورئيس المنسّقين في Public Art Fund ” تمكّن هؤلاء الفنّانين المتميّزين من خلال استخدام البرونز أو الحجر أو الفولاذ أو الصور الفوتوغرافية من تطوير لغة فنيّة مميّزة وآسرة استطاعوا من خلالها التعبير عن رؤية شخصيّة أخّاذة”. 

“بعض الأعمال سوف تثير نقاشات حول قضايا من الوقت الراهن مثل السجن الجماعي أو العمل الجماعي، في حين يُعيد آخرون تخيّل البيئات الحضرية الحديثة بأسلوبٍ شاعري. إنّ هذا المعرض يمثّل نقطة تحوّل كبيرة لجميع الفنّانين المشاركين، سواء كانت تلك أوّل تجربة عمل رسميّة لهم أو سواء كانوا يتمتعون بسنوات طويلة من الخبرة.”

يبدأ “ Back and Forth Disco” من 29 يناير 2020 ولغاية 20 أغسطس 2020 في Public Art Fund في مدينة نيويورك.

شارك هذا المقال

Emirati Artist Farah Al Qasimi Heads to New York

Pushing Arab art

by

Few Emirati artists have made an impressionable mark in the global art scene, but Farah Al Qasimi is proving it possible. 

Qasimi’s work has made its way from her native city, Abu Dhabi, to Memphis, Paris and New York City, where her first solo More Good News was held at the Helena Anrather gallery in 2018.  Now, Qasimi is due to hold her first institutional solo, presented by the Public Art Fund. 

Curated by the Public Art Fund’s assistant curator, Katerina Stathopoulou (whose curatorial credits include Being Modern: MoMA in Paris, and Walid Raad at MoMA), Qasimi’s exhibit is entitled Back and Forth Disco, and explores the concept of camouflage, with an underlying a mission to uncover the realities of various environments the artist lives within. 

Whilst her last piece of work, a film she called Um Al Naar  (‘Mother of Fire’ in English), Qasimi placed her focus on the UAE, this time she has her sights set on NYC. 

For Um Al Naar, Al Qasimi examined European influences on the UAE, setting the 40-minute film during the centuries of Portuguese and British colonial rule in Ras Al Khaimah. The horror-comedy sees a jinn (played by an actor covered in a colourful flower-printed sheet) performing a reality TV-style monologue that touches on societal issues.

For Back and Forth Disco, Qasimi has created a new series of photographs said to “isolate and highlight the beauty of ephemeral moments amidst New York City”, with the goal of breaking the barriers that leave the city categorised as individualistic, or anonymous. 

Qasimi’s solo show is part of Public Art Fund’s 2020 season, which will see five solo exhibitions by internationally acclaimed artists including Davina Semo, Melvin Edwards, Awol Erizku, and Sam Moyer. 

“Working variously in bronze, stone, steel or photography, each of these five remarkable artists has developed a highly distinctive and compelling artistic language through which to articulate a striking personal vision,” says Public Art Fund Director and Chief Curator Nicholas Baume. 

“Some works will ignite conversations around timely issues like mass incarceration or collective action, while others poetically re-imagine urban infrastructure. All represent major career milestones, whether as an artist’s first public art commission or the culmination of a long and celebrated career.”

‘Back and Forth Disco’ January 29, 2020- August 20, 2021 at Public Art Fund, New York City

Share this article