نقدم لكم مهرجان حيفا السينمائي الذي حطم كل الحدود

يقدم هذا المهرجان أفلاماً عن الكويرية

by

من بين الصراعات الكثيرة التي يواجهها المثليون الجنسيون العرب، يبقى الإحساس الفطري بالعزلة هو القاسم المشترك الذي يجمع عدد لا يحصى من هؤلاء الناس. وهذا ما يخطط مهرجان كوز السينمائي لتسليط الضوء عليه هذا العام.

يهدف المهرجان الذي يستمر ثلاثة أيام إلى تسليط الضوء على الأفلام المحلية والإقليمية والدولية التي تحمل موضوعات قريبة ومهمة لأفراد المجتمع، بما في ذلك القضايا التي لا تتم مناقشتها كثيراً حول الجنسانية (الجندرية) والتوجه الجنسي والهوية الجنسية.

يُعتبر هذا المهرجان الي سيُقام في مدينة حيفا شكلاً من أشكال المقاومة الفلسطينية كونه يحارب التمييز الذي يتعرض له الكثير من الناس، وهذه المرة من وجهة نظر مجتمع المثليين الجنسيين الفلسطيني.

تعبر الأفلام التي ستعرض في الدورة الرابعة لهذا المهرجان، عن عدد لا يحصى من وجهات النظر حول الطرق الكثيرة التي تتشكل فيها المقاومة والتي على عشاق الأفلام الفلسطينية مشاهدتها بكل تأكيد. فلذلك حتى لو لم ترغبوا بحضور المهرجان، ننصحكم بمشاهدة كل فيلمٍ من هذه الأفلام.

وأول هذه الأفلام هو “Mr. Gay Syria” “ملك جمال المثليين السوريين”، من إخراج المخرجة عائشة توبراك والذي يروي حياة اثنين من اللاجئين السوريين مثليي الجنس في محاولتهما إعادة بناء حياتهما وهما: حسين، اللاجئ في اسطنبول والذي يخفي ميوله الجنسية عن أسرته المحافظة، ومحمود الذي يعيش في برلين حيث يشارك في مسابقة “ملك جمال المثليين” كطريقةٍ منه للبوح بميوله الجنسية التي لم يعد يريد إخفاءها بعد اليوم.

كما تواجدت الأفلام القصيرة وبقوة خلال هذا المهرجان، حيثُ سيتم عرض فيلم وثائقي يستحق المشاهدة للمخرجة تيريسا سالا منذ عام 2018 بعنوان “ This is Not Love “، والذي يروي قصة امرأة من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة تدعى باربرا وعلاقتها بجسدها.

ويعد فيلم المخرجة الأردنية هبة النابلسي “ Below Sea Level- تحت مستوى سطح البحر” من أبرز الأفلام المشاركة، حيثُ يتحدث عن تأثير الصداقات السيئة والخطرة، وهو الأمر الذي يحدث مع كل واحد منا. ولا تدعوا فيلم ملاك مروة الرائع “Divine Rupture – ذاكرة جسد” يفوتكم، وهو يحكي قصة مايا (التي تُجبر على الخضوع لعلاج بالصدمات الكهربائية عندما تكتشف والدتها ميولها الجنسية الحقيقية) ..

أما فيلم “سينما الفؤاد” الوثائقي لعام 1994 للمخرج محمد سويد، فيروي قصة حياة مهاجر سوري وُلد ذكراً ولكنه يحلم بإجراء عملية تحويلٍ للجنس، ثم يجد نفسه واقعاً في حب مناضل فلسطيني. إنه فيلم جنوني بقدر ما يبدو، وهو يجسد  تماماً أهمية إقامة مهرجان كمهرجان كوز في هذا المجتمع.

ويُختتم المهرجان بفيلم “خوسيه” للمخرج لي تشنغ والذي يروي قصة خوسيه وعلاقته بالمهاجر لويس القادم من ساحل البحر الكاريبي الريفي.

يُعد مهرجان كووز السينمائي الذي تنظمه مؤسسة «أصوات» غير الربحية (وهي المركز النسوي الفلسطيني للحريات الجنسية والجندرية)، جزءاً من برنامج المقاومة والفن والتغيير الاجتماعي الذي يوفر مساحة آمنة للفنانين الشباب الناشئين والفلسطينيين بشكل خاص .

ينطلق مهرجان كوز السينمائي في 5 ديسمبر

شارك هذا المقال

Introducing Haifa’s Boundary-Breaking Film Festival

Representing queer cinema

by

Of the many struggles one faces as a queer Arab, the innate sense of alienation is still a common thread that countless people relate to. And that’s what Kooz Film Festival, is planning to highlight this year.

The three-day festival aims to is shine a light on local, regional, and international films that carry themes near and dear to members of the community, including little-discussed issues surrounding gender, sexual orientation and gender identity. 

Taking place in Haifa, KFF proudly stands as a defiant form of Palestinian resistance by fighting against the discrimination that many people face, this time through the lens of Palestine’s queer community. 

The films due to be screened during this year’s festival (which is their fourth edition) exemplify a myriad of perspectives of the many ways resistance is shaped. These are all a must-watch for fans of Palestinian films, so even if you’re not attending the festival, do make a note of each film.

First on the roster is ‘Mr. Gay Syria’, directed by Ayse Toprak, the film follows the lives of two Syrian refugees who are trying to rebuild their lives: Hussein, who is an Istanbul refugee who hides his identity from his conservative family, and Mahmoud, who lives in Berlin, where he participates in a beauty contest in an effort to feel more visible.

Short films are also a strong focus during the festival. Teresa Sala’s 2018 documentary ‘This is Not Love’ will be shown, and it’s worth a watch. It explores the story of a disabled woman named Barbara and her relationship with her body. 

Jordanian director Hiba Nabulsi’s film ‘Below Sea Level’ is also a standout. With a plotline that explores the burden of toxic friendships, it resonates with any and all of us. Malak Mroueh’s spellbinding short, ‘Divine Rupture’, which tells the story of Maya (who is forced to undergo electroshock therapy when her mother discovers her true identity) is a hard-hitting must-see.. 

‘Cinema al Fouad’ is the 1994 documentary by Mohamad Soueid which trails the life of a Syrian migrant who was born male, but dreams of undergoing gender transition surgery, then finds herself in love with a Palestinian freedom fighter. It’s as crazy as it sounds, and exemplifies the importance of a festival like Kooz in the community. 

Closing the festival is Li Cheng’s ‘Jose’, a film that tells the story of Jose and his relationship with Louis, a migrant from the rural Caribbean coast.

Organised by non-profit organisation, the Aswat Palestinian Feminist Center for Sexual and Gender Freedoms, Kooz Film Festival is part of their Resistance, Art and Social Change program, which has been forging out a safe space for emerging young artists, and Palestinians in particular. 

Kooz Film Festival opens on December 5

Share this article