موعد إطلاق مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي السعودي يقترب

سيتم تنظيم الحدث في حي البلد التاريخي في جدة

by

بالرغم من تأجيل الدورة الافتتاحية لمهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي بسبب الوباء، إلا أنّ المنظمة لن تتوانى عن متابعة مهمتها في تسليط الضوء على المشهد السينمائي المزدهر في المملكة العربية السعودية والمنطقة.

من مسابقة صانعي الأفلام المحليين الطموحين إلى معرض استرجاعي لتكريم المخرج المصري خيري بشارة، أثبتت المنظمة حضورها الدائم في المشهد السينمائي، والآن، تم تحديد موعد لإطلاق مهرجان سينمائي في المملكة.

من المقرر أن يقام مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي بين 11 و 20 نوفمبر، ولن يكون مجرد حدث افتراضي، لأنّ المهرجان مصمم على الجمع بين عشاق السينما المحليين والمخرجين ورواد صناعة السينما العالمية في قلب حي البلد التاريخي في جدة التي صنفتها منظمة اليونيسكو موقعاً للتراث العالمي.

 يحمل المهرجان عنوان “تحولات – Metamorphosis” تأكيداً على قدرة السينما على إحداث تحوّلات إيجابية تتأقلم مع عصر ما بعد الصناعة والحقبة الرقمية. ويركز البرنامج الذي سيتم الكشف عنه في الأشهر المقبلة على إحياء المشهد السينمائي في المملكة بعد عامين من رفع الحظر المفروض على السينما والذي دام لمدة 35 عاماً، كما يسلّط الضوء على تغيّر الدور الذي تلعبه المرأة في صناعة السينما.

وبهدف انتقاء وجلب أفلام من جميع أنحاء العالم، قامت المنظمة بالتعاون مع أمناء قيّمين سعوديين وعالميين ومتخصصين في الأفلام وخبراء في الصناعة. كما ينضم إلى فريق مهرجان دبي السينمائي الدولي المدير الإداري شيفاني بانديا ومدير البرامج العربية وكلاسيكيات الأفلام أنطوان خليفة.

وسيتولى الناقد السينمائي كليم أفتاب والمنتجة جمانة زاهد والمديرة زين زيدان قيادة العديد من المبادرات بما في ذلك مسابقات الأفلام وحاضنة البحر الأحمر “Red Sea Lodge” (وهي مؤسسة حاضنة لصانعي الأفلام السعوديين والعرب) وسوق البحر الأحمر “Red Sea Souk” (وهو منصة للموزعين ووكلاء المبيعات والمنتجين والعاملين في صناعة السينما).

 

redseafilmfest.com

شارك هذا المقال

Saudi Arabia’s Long Awaited Red Sea Film Festival is Almost Here

And it’s happening at Jeddah’s historic Al Balad district

by

Red Sea Film Festival’s inaugural edition might’ve been postponed due to the pandemic, but the organization never stopped following in its mission of highlighting Saudi Arabia’s and the region’s burgeoning film scene. 

From a local aspiring filmmakers’ competition to a retrospective honoring Egyptian director Khairy Beshara, the organisation’s absence wasn’t felt, and for good reason. Now, the Kingdom’s first film festival finally has a date. 

Red Sea Film Festival is set to run between November 11 and 20, and it won’t be just another virtual event. The festival is determined to bring together local film lovers, directors, and international film industry leaders to the heart of the UNESCO world heritage site of Jeddah’s historic Al Balad district.

Entitled ‘Metamorphosis’, the theme is a celebration of cinema’s ability to adapt to the post-industrial and digital era. The programme, which will be revealed in the coming months, will focus on the revival of the Kingdom’s film scene two years after lifting its 35-year ban on cinema. The role of women in the industry is also at the core of the conversation.

To make it happen, the organization has recruited A-list Saudi and international curators, film specialists, and industry veterans. Joining from the team of Dubai International Film Festival are Managing Director Shivani Pandya and Director of Arab Programs & Film Classics Antoine Khalife. 

Film Critic Kaleem Aftab, producer Jumana Zahid and manager Zain Zedan will lead various initiatives including film competitions, the Red Sea Lodge—the foundation’s incubator for Saudi and Arab filmmakers—and the Red Sea Souk, the festival’s industry platform for distributors, sales agents, and producers.

 

redseafilmfest.com

Share this article