7 علامات تدل على أن لديكم عقليّة استعمارية

كيف أثّرت قرون من الاستعمار في تكوين نظرتنا لأنفسنا

by

يمكننا لمس آثار الاستعمار طويلة الأمد في كلّ شيء نفعله في المنطقة. في ظلّ وجود العديد من دول العالم العربي التي نالت استقلالها من الحكم الاستعماري منذ فترة قصيرة لا تتجاوز 60 عام، لا يمكننا إنكار حقيقة وجود العقليّة الاستعماريّة (مصطلح يمثّل الشعور بالدونيّة الثقافيّة الداخليّة) حتّى الآن.

على مرّ التاريخ غزت بريطانيا ما يقارب 90 % من دول العالم بما في ذلك معظم الدول الخليجيّة بالإضافة إلى السودان ومصر. أمّا بالنسبة لدول شمال أفريقيا وبلاد الشام فقد سيطر المستعمر الفرنسي على المنطقة خلال القرنين التاسع عشر والعشرين لتنتهي حقبة الاحتلال باستقلال الجزائر في عام 1962.

ومنذ ذلك الوقت ونحن نسعى لتخليص أنفسنا من رواسب الاستعمار. في ظل النقاشات الحاليّة حول تفوّق العرق الأبيض والتي تتصدّر العناوين الرئيسية في جميع أنحاء العالم، لن يكون هناك وقت أفضل من هذا لبدء البحث في العمق. إن لم تتعرّفوا بالفعل على مفكّري ما بعد الاستعمار مثل إدوارد سعيد وفرانز فانون وغيرهم، فقد جمعنا لكم قائمة دلالات مختصرة قد ترغبون بالبدء في تطبيقها.

تجنّب البشرة السمراء
شأنهم شأن العديد من المناطق في العالم تمّ استعمار الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. ما هي رواسب الاستعمار؟ التمييز على أساس لون البشرة. لطالما كان العالم العربي ضحية السمات الأوروبيّة التي من ضمنها تجنّب التعرّض لأشعة الشمس تفادياً للحصول على بشرة داكنة، اعتقاداً منّا بأنّ البشرة البيضاء هي رمز المثاليّة العالميّة.

لا تهتم بالفنون والثقافة المحلّية
تستحوذ أمريكا على معظم الصناعات الترفيهيّة في جميع أنحاء العالم، كما أنّ الأحداث الثقافية في أوروبا ذات أهميّة كبيرة على مستوى العالم. إنّ إنكار كل الإنتاج الثقافي العربي متأصّل في نسيج الثقافة العربيّة وهو الذي يجعلنا نحطّ من قيمة أنفسنا وبالتالي يدفعنا إلى إنكار كل أشكال الفنون والثقافة الأصيلة.

تقييم ثقافة الشخص من خلال قدرته على التحدّث باللغة الإنجليزية أو الفرنسية
من المحتمل أنّك تتقن اللغة الإنجليزية نظراً لتلقّيك التعليم في الغرب، أو ربّما تعلّمت اللغة لمجرّد كونها لغة عالميّة. في كلتا الحالتين ليس هناك مبرّر للتقليل من قيمة اللغة العربية وإذا فعلت ذلك فربّما يعود السبّب إلى حقيقة أن المستعمرين غالباً ما يروّجون بأنّ لغاتهم متفوّقة، كما أنّهم على الأرجح سوف يستمرّون في تصنيع “النخبة” المحلّية التي تلقّت تعليمها في بلاد الغرب لتخليد دونيّة اللغات الأخرى. يتطرّق كتاب “معذبو الأرض” للكاتب فانون إلى تفاصيل رائعة حول هذا الموضوع.

تكره شعرك الطبيعي وشكل أنفك
مرّة أخرى نواجه السمات الأوروبيّة التي تُعتبر رمزاً لمقاييس الجمال العالمي والتي جلبها لنا الاستعمار ومن بينها الشعر المستقيم والأنف الصغير المنحني. على الرغم من أنّ حركة الشعر الطبيعية تعتبر موضة رائجة في كلّ أنحاء العالم إلا أنّ الكيراتين وعلاجات تمليس الشعر الأخرى تلقى رواجاً كبيراً في شمال أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط، شأنها شأن عمليّات تجميل الأنف السائدة.

تعتقد أنه من الطبيعي وجود الأوروبيين في مناصب قيادية
اعتمدت سياسة المستعمرين على قمع الآخرين وجعلهم يشعرون بالنقص من خلال تولّي المناصب القياديّة في المجتمعات، وهذا الأمر ينطبق على كافّة جوانب الحياة. في المقابل، بدأ المستعمرون يشعرون بعدم الاستحقاق من مساحاتهم الخاصة والتي يمكن تفسيرها بأنّها الخوف من التحدّث علناً ​​ضدّ السلطة بسبب الشعور بالدونيّة. وهذا يعني اليوم أنّ المناصب القياديّة الكثيرة قد تمّ تحديد أولويّاتها وتسليمها للأوروبيين في المنطقة على حساب العرب وهو أمر مسلّم به عالمياً على الرغم من أنّه نوع من أنواع الاستعمار.

تعاني من متلازمة الدجّال
ببساطة، إنّ متلازمة الدجّال هي الشعور بأنّك لا تنتمي إلى مساحة جديدة. وهذا الشعور يمكن أن يتجسّد في إحساسك بأنّك لست ذكي أو ثري بما يكفي أو أنّك لست جديراً بالنجاح بسبب عرقك أو طبقتك الاجتماعيّة (وهو أسلوب استخدمه المستعمرون تاريخياً كأداة للقمع). كما أنّ هذا الأمر متعلّق بحقيقة أنّ معظم المساحات يشغلها أشخاص بيض أو عابرون عرقيّون لإدامة هيمنة تفوّق العرق الأبيض.

تبحث عن رضا المجتمع الغربي
في ظلّ حقيقة أنّنا ما زلنا نعيش في مجتمعات نالت استقلالها من الحكم الاستعماري منذ بضعة عقود فقط، لا تزال العقليّة الاستعماريّة مستمرّة في داخلنا. إنّ مجرّد الاقتراب من المؤسّسات الغربيّة أو الحصول على رضا وموافقة المجتمع الغربي يُعتبر نوعاً من آثار التفوّق الاستعماري الملفّق.

شارك هذا المقال

7 Signs You Have Colonial Mentality

How centuries of colonialism has shaped how we see ourselves

by

The long-lasting impact of colonisation in the region can be felt in everything we do. With much of the Arab world having only been free of colonial rule for short of 60 years, we would be remiss to think that colonial mentality (a term which represents internalized cultural inferiority) hasn’t persisted to this day.

Over the course of history, Britain invaded close to 90 per cent of the world, including most Khaleeji nations as well as Sudan and Egypt. As for North Africa and the Levant, French colonialists dominated the region for the better part of the 19th and 20th century, ending with Algeria gaining its independence in 1962.

And we have been in the process of decolonizing ourselves ever since. With the current conversation about white supremacy dominating headlines across the world, there is no better time to start looking inwards. If you haven’t already explored excellent post-colonial thinkers like Edward Said and Frantz Fanon (among many others), we’ve compiled a shortlist of signsthat you might want to start putting in the work.

You avoid getting a tan
Like many places in the world, the Middle East and North Africa both have been colonised. One of the remnants? Colourism. The Arab world has long-been a victim of Eurocentric tropes, one of them being avoidance of the sun in order to avoid getting darker skin, with white skin being viewed as the universal ideal.

You don’t consume local arts and culture
America rules most entertainment industries across the world, and Europe’s cultural events are significant on a global scale, but the flat-out rejection of all Arab cultural production is rooted in the homogenization of Arab culture, which facilitates the positioning of ourselves as inferior, ultimately encouraging the rejection of indigenous forms of arts and culture.

You equate being educated with one’s ability to communicate in English or French
Perhaps you speak English due to having been educated in the west, or maybe you learnt simply because of the rise of English as a global language. Either way, there’s no reason to undervalue Arabic—and if you do, it’s probably to do with the fact that colonizers often branded their languages as superior, and even went on to manufacture a local ‘elite’ who were also western educated, perpetuating the inferiority of other languages. Fanon’s the Wretched of the Earthgoes into great detail about this topic.

You dislike your natural hair and your nose
Again, with colonization came the setting of European features as global beauty ideals. Among them is straight hair and a tiny ski-slope nose. Despite a natural hair movement being sparkedall over the world, keratin and other straightening treatments remain extremely popular in both North Africa and the Middle East – much like the sweet sixteen nose job that continues to prevail.

You find it normal to have Europeans in leadership positions
A tactic of colonisers was to oppress others by making them feel inferior through taking up leadership roles in communities, as well as in all aspects of life. In turn, the colonized began to feel undeserving of their own spaces, which ultimately translates into a fear of speaking out against authority due to feeling inferior. Today, that means that innumerable leadership roles are prioritized and handed to Europeans in the region over Arabs – something that has been universally accepted despite its clear cut colonial overhang.

You suffer from imposter syndrome
In simple terms, imposter syndrome is the feeling that you don’t belong in a new space. This can take on the form of thinking you aren’t intelligent enough, not rich enough or just not ‘worthy’ of success because of your ethnicity or class (which have both historically been used as tools for oppression by colonizers). This also has to do with the fact that most spaces are occupied by white or white-passing people which perpetuates the dominance of white supremacy.

You seek out western validation
Considering we are still living in societies that have only been free of colonial rule for just a few decades, colonial mentality persists. And the mere proximity to western institutions or validation in western social circles is a remnant of fabricated colonial superiority.

Share this article