موسيقى الراب التونسية تحقق انتشاراً كبيراً

لم تعد هذه الموسيقى مخفية أبداً

by

قليل هم مغنّو الراب العررب الذين حققوا مشاهدات على يوتيوب تفوق المليون، ومنهم عصام من المغرب الذي حققت أغنيته “تراب بلدي” 13 مليون مشاهدة والرابر المصري أبيوسف والرابر كلاش وهو واحد من أشهر مطربي الراب في المملكة العربية السعودية خاصةً مع أغنيته “100 بارز” التي حققت 10 مليون مشاهدة على يوتيوب. 

ولكن في مقدمة القائمة الرابر سمارة مع أغنيته “ما دايم ويلو” التي حققت 73 مليون مشاهدة. أما أغنيته “إل موندو” التي أصدرها في شهر يونيو والتي حققت 49 مليون مشاهدة. أما أغنية “معلش” التي أصدرها من 5 أيام فقط (في وقت كتابة هذا المقال) فحصدت 2.8 مليون مشاهدة حتى الآن.

وكل هذا دليل على أن الراب العربي أصبح من أكثر أنواع الموسيقى انتشاراً ولم يعد محدوداً أو خفياً. وهذا الأمر ينطبق على الراب التونسي تحديداً، فسمارة ليس الوحيد بل هناك الرابر بلطي الذي يتمتع بمشاهدات تفوق 600 مليون على يوتيوب لأغانيه المنتشرة بقوة في تونس اليوم. 

ولكن يعتبر بلطي من الرابرز الذين يتجنبون المواضيع السياسية الحساسة أما سمارة فقد صنع شهرته بالتركيز على هذا النوع بالتحديد من الكلمات. فأغنيته “ما دايم ويلو” (أو لا شيء يدوم إلى الأبد) تنتقد بشدة الوضع الاجتماعي والسياسي في تونس والصعوبات التي يواجهها الشباب التونسي بصورة مستمرة. 

نجاح سمارة غير المسبوق في تونس وخارجها (إذ يتم لعب أغانيه في النوادي الليلية في بيروت ولندن)، يعود لأسلوبه الجريء. في حين أن العديد من مغني الراب يتجنبون الشتائم لتجنب اعتبارهم مبتذلين، إلا أن سمارة يستخدمها. إذ تحدث عن كونه هدفا للشرطة وعن أفراد أسرته المسجونين، كما تحدث حتى عن تعاطي المخدرات.

ثم هناك سيف عمري، المعروف باسم “ألفا”، ومثل سمارة، فقد مهّد طريقاً خاصاً به وحده. إذ يُعتبر ألفا وهو من مدينة القصرين، واحداً من أوائل مغني الراب الذين جاءوا من جنوب تونس وصنعوا لنفسهم اسماً وبذلك أعطى صوتاً لشريحةٍ مهملة إلى حد كبير من السكان.

ورغم حداثة وجوده على الساحة لكنه صنع لنفسه مكانة مميزة. فقد أصدر ألبومه الأول “Kima Na”، منذ ما يزيد عن عام، وسرعان ما حققت أغنيته “Youma Ma” مليوني مشاهدة على يوتيوب. يمتاز أسلوبه بجرأة كبيرة مثل سمارة تترافق مع نغمات هادئة وبطيئة، والألبوم من إنتاج الموسيقي سهيل قاسمي، المعروف باسم Ratchopper.

ولكن هناك بعض أوجه التشابه بين سمارة وألفا. أسلوب ألفا بلا شك أكثر رقة وأقل حدّة ومدروس أكثر. إذا كانت هناك طريقة لوصفه، فهو انعكاس خالص للشباب الذي يتحدث إليه، وهو جيل الألفية الذي ينتمي إليه.

في واحدة من أغانيه الأخيرة، بعنوان “جميلة”، تعاون ألفا مع مجموعة متنوعة من سكان تونس، وهي مجموعة تتناقض مع الصورة النمطية والعنصرية التي عادةً ما نراها على وسائل الإعلام (ذ ظهر معه سكان جنوب تونس ومعظمهم من أصحاب البشرة السوداء).

ولقد قدم في هذه الأغنية أسلوباً مدروساً بعناية من حيث كلمات الأغاني والصورة البصرية المرافقة لها.

على الرغم من أن الاختلافات بين ألفا وسمارة كثيرة، إلا أنه يوجد بينهما شيء واحد مشترك. فلقد حققا معاً شهرة كبيرة في تونس ولكن ما يزال الوصول إلى العالمية صعباً. فالانفجار الفني الذي شهدته تونس على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية ما يزال محدوداً، ولكن ليس بسبب نقص المواهب.

وإنما السبب هو أن الفنانين التونسيين مقيدين بحقيقة بسيطة لكن مؤسفة وهي أنهم لا يستطيعون الانتشار خارج الإنترنت. بالإضافة إلى صعوبة الحصول على التأشيرات وعبور الحدود لمشاركة عملهم مع الجماهير التي تحبهم.

شارك هذا المقال

Tunisian Rap Has Officially Gone Mainstream

The days of the underground are over

by

When it comes to Arab rappers, few artists have racked up views in the millions. A couple examples are: Issam from Morocco, whose video for ‘Trap Beldi’ now boasts 13 million views, Egypt’s most prominent rapper, Abyusif, and Klash, whose fanbase have made him Saudi Arabia’s most popular rapper (his song ‘100 Bars’ has now hit 10 million views on YouTube.)

But topping the list is Tunisian rapper Samara, with his hit ‘Me Dayem Welou’, which is just shy of 73 million views. His song ‘El Mondo’ dropped in early June and has already racked up 49 million views. And his latest track, ‘Ma3lich’, which was released just a week ago has already amassed 2.8 million views.

If the above is proof of anything, it’s that rap in the Arab world is past the stage of being underground. Which is particularly the case for Tunisia’s rap scene. And Samara isn’t alone. Balti, who was amongst the first to emerge, has hits that have reached over 600 million views on YouTube. His songs are practically Tunisian anthems at this point. 

But Balti’s success, whilst remarkable, isn’t quite as notable as the rappers who followed in his footsteps. Balti is amongst those who shy away from hard hitting topics. Samara on the other hand, has made a name for himself by focusing on just that. His hit song ‘Me Dayem Welou’ (meaning ‘Nothing Lasts’ in English) boasts lyrics that unabashedly criticize the socio-political climate in Tunisia, and the hardships Tunisian youth face on a regular basis.

Samara’s unprecedented success in Tunisia and beyond (his tracks are played at nightclubs in Beirut and London), is rooted in his brazen approach. Whilst many rappers avoid cursing to avoid being deemed vulgar, Samara has embraced it. He has directly spoken out about being a target of the police, his jailed family members, and has even spoken out about drug use.  

Then there’s Saif Amri, who’s better known as Alfa. Like Samara, he has paved a lane of his own. A native of Kasserine, Alfa is one of the first rappers to hail out of southern Tunisia and make a name for himself – in turn, giving a voice to a largely ignored part of the population.

He only recently emerged on the scene but has already solidified himself as a key figure. His first album ‘Kima Na’, dropped a little over a year ago and his song ‘Youma Ma’ quickly hit two million views on YouTube. His flow, as blunt as Samara’s, is juxtaposed against more laidback beats, produced by musician Souheil Gasmi, better known as Ratchopper.

But there are few similarities between Samara and Alfa. Alfa’s approach is unquestionably softer, less raw, and more studied. If there’s one way to describe him, it’s that he’s a pure reflection of the youth he speaks to. Like his audience, Alfa is a millennial. 

In one of his most recent songs, entitled ‘Beautiful’, Alfa featured a diverse cast that’s strikingly representative of Tunisia’s population; which is not as racially monolithic as depicted in the media (Tunisia’s southern population is largely black, for example). 

It’s this meticulous approach to both the song’s lyrics and the visuals that accompanied it that set him apart.

But although the differences between Alfa and Samara are abundant, they do have one thing in common. Despite hitting the mainstream, it’s still just as difficult to go global. The artistic explosion that Tunisia has witnessed over the last few years is limited, and that’s not due to a lack of talent.

Tunisian artists are limited by the simple fact that they cannot exist outside of the internet. They are limited by the difficulty that they (and most Tunisians) face in obtaining visas and crossing borders to share their work with the audiences that cherish them.

Share this article