4 أفلام من الشرق الأوسط تتوجه إلى مهرجان تورونتو السينمائي الدولي

علامة رئيسية جديدة للتمثيل

by

على الرغم من أنّ Covid-19 قد تسبّب في توقف إنتاج الأفلام، إلا أنّ عام 2020 سيدخل التاريخ شئنا أم أبينا فهو العام الذي اتجهت فيه صناعة الأفلام نحو التمثيل اللائق.

في ظل اختيار 17 مخرج أفلام عربي للانضمام إلى لجنة تحكيم جوائز الأوسكار، ومع انضمام المنتجة التونسية درة بوشوشة إلى لجنة تحكيم مهرجان البندقية السينمائي، وحصول رامي يوسف على ثلاثة ترشيحات لجائزة Emmy يحظى الحضور الكبير لمخرجي الأفلام من شمال أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط في المؤسسات السينمائية الرئيسية بزخم كبير.

عقب الإعلان عن مجموعة أفلامهم البالغة 50 فيلماً، سيكون مهرجان تورونتو السينمائي الدولي لهذا العام مزيجاً من العروض المادية والرقمية المر الذي يجعله مهرجاناً مميّزاً، بالإضافة لكونه من أوائل المهرجات التي تقام بعد الحجر الصحي بوجود جمهور فعلي.

كما سيُعرض فيلم المخرجين طرزان وعرب ناصر الروائي الثاني الحائز على جائزة الفيلم المفضل “غزة حبي” الذي يروي قصة حب تدور أحداثها في مسقط رأسهما في غزة حيث يؤدي الممثل سليم ضو دور “فودة”. تتبع القصة حياة صياد من غزة يقع سراً في حب بائعة في السوق (الممثلة هيام عباس التي أدت دوراً في مسلسل “رامي”). 

من مصر ستقوم المخرجة مي زايد البالغة من العمر 35 عاماً بعرض فيلمها الروائي الثاني “عاش يا كابتن” وتعني بالإنكليزية (Lift Like a Girl). إن هذا الفيلم مثير للاهتمام فهو يستكشف ويعيد تشكيل مفهوم “الأنوثة” في العالم العربي حيث يتبع ويوثق حياة أنثى طموحة في مصر تعشق رياضة رفع الأثقال.
كما سيُعرض فيلم Bandar Band الجديد للمخرجة الإيرانية Manijeh Hekmat والتي تتناول في معظم أفلامها قضايا العنف ضد المرأة والمطالبة بحقوق المرأة، وهو فيلم سينمائي تقليدي عالي المستوى يروي قصة فرقة في رحلة تستغرق يوماً كاملاً تفيض بالمناظر الطبيعية خلال الطريق إلى طهران. كما سيعرض الفيلم الروائي الثاني 180 Degree Rule للمخرجة الإيرانية Farnoosh Samadi الذي يحكي قصة مدرسة من طهران يمنعها زوجها من حضور حفل زفاف في شمال إيران.

يستمر مهرجان تورونتو السينمائي الدولي من 10 إلى 19 سبتمبر
tiff.net

شارك هذا المقال

4 Middle Eastern Films Are Heading to Toronto Film Festival

Another major score for representation

by

Despite Covid-19 placing almost all film productions on hiatus, 2020—the year that will go down in history whether we like it or not—has also been the year that the film industry has made a major pivot towards proper representation.

With 17 Arab filmmakers selected to join the Oscars jury, Tunisian producer Dora Bouchoucha joining the Venice Film Festival jury and Ramy Youssef scooping up three Emmy nominations – the weighty presence of filmmakers from North Africa and the Middle East in major film institutions is gaining momentum.

Having just announced their 50-film line-up, this year’s Toronto Film Festival—which will be a mix of physical and digital screenings—is due to be one for the books, and potentially one of the first to have any kind of post-lockdown physical iteration.

Film festival favourites Tarzan and Arab Nasser will be screening their second feature film ‘Gaza Mon Amour’, a love-story set in their native Gaza featuring ‘Fauda’ actor Salim Daw. The story follows a Gazan fisherman who is secretly in love with a market stallholder (played by ‘Ramy’ and ‘Succession’ actress Hiam Abbass).

Hailing from Egypt, 35-year-old filmmaker Mayye Zayed will be premiering her second feature film ‘Ash Ya Captain’ (‘Lift Like a Girl’ in English). The film is particularly interesting as it explores and reconfigures the notion of “femininity” in the Arab world, trailing and documenting the life of an aspiring female weightlifter in Egypt.

Iranian director Manijeh Hekmat, whose films often explore themes of violence against women and women’s rights, will be screening her new film ‘Bandar Band’, a highly cinematic take on the traditional road trip movie, which sees a band take a day-long journey across a flooded landscape to Tehran. Female Iranian filmmaker Farnoosh Samadi will be showing ‘180 Degree Rule’ – her second feature film –which tells the story of a school teacher from Tehran who is forbidden from attending a wedding in northern Iran by her husband.

Toronto Film Festival runs from September 10 – 19
tiff.net

Share this article