حول الموسيقى وفلسطين: حوار مع نجم المنطقة الصاعد Saint Levant

من القدس إلى العالم

by

يهدف الفنان Saint Levant المعروف على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لوضع فلسطين على الخارطة وجعل ثقافة البلاد تتألق وتتجاوز حدودها الجغرافية، وقد كلّف هذا المبدع الشاب نفسه بهذه المهمّة واستطاع أن يحقق ذلك من خلال الموسيقى.

بينما يسهر الناس في منطقتي الليلة لوقت متأخر بعد العيد بعد أن أتخموا أنفسهم بالمأكولات الشهية، ها هو النعاس يدفع بالقاهرة لتنام بعد كل هذا الطعام. على الضفة الأخرى وفي وقت مبكر من الصباح حوالي الساعة 9 على وجه التحديد كان Saint Levant مستيقظاً منذ مدة بعد أن عاد لتوّه من جلسة العلاج الفيزيائي جعلني هذا أشعر بمدى طموح والتزام هذا الفنان المولود في القدس بعد آخر مرة التقينا فيها في أغسطس.

يقول: “أنا شخص ملتزم للغاية وأحب ذلك، أذهب إلى النادي الرياضي كل يوم من هذا الوقت إلى هذا الوقت، ولا أقترب من وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي خلال النهار، وعندما أفعل ذلك يكون لمدة ساعة واحدة فقط حيث أقوم بالنشر والرد على الجميع ثم أغلق هاتفي المتحرك فوراً،”

ستجدون اليوم أغلب منشوراته حول الموسيقى التي يصنعها بعد أن كان معروفاً في الأشهر السابقة باسم مروان عبد الحميد، حيث استطاع هذا الشاب البالغ من العمر 21 عاماً أن يصنع لنفسه اسماً منذ بداياته في عالم الموسيقى من خلال نشره لمقاطع فيديو تحكي الواقع وتوضح حقيقة الصراع الحاصل وترفض الروايات الداعمة للصهيونية، كما أطلق أغنية “Haifa in a Tesla” احتفاءً بتراثه الفلسطيني وتنديداً بالإجراءات الخانقة التي فرضتها قوات الاحتلال على وطنه، نعم هذا ما يقوم به Saint Levant في الوقت الحالي.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Saint Levant (@saintlevant)

يقول طالب العلاقات الدولية في السنة الرابعة لـMille: “يعود اختيار الاسم بشكل أساسي إلى علامة Yves Saint Laurent لكن تمّ التلاعب في الكلمات لأنني أردت في الحقيقة الإشارة إلى بلدي: بلاد الشام، وقد وجدتها وسيلة لتكريم المنطقة بأكملها متجاهلين بذلك الحدود التي رسمها المستعمرون، فكلّما أكون في لبنان أو الأردن أو فلسطين أشعر أنني في بيتي بغض النظر عن البلد الذي أنا فيه. لقد فكرت بالاسم من هذا المنطلق ووجدته رائع ومناسب جدّاً”

“حدث التغيير الأكبر بالنسبة لي عندما عانيت من أزمة ربع العمر، فعلى الرغم من أنني لا زلت بعمر الـ21 إلا أنني كنت دائماً أسأل نفسي ما الذي أريد أن أفعله في حياتي، مع العلم أنني كنت أقوم بالكثير من الأشياء في نفس الوقت فقد كنت أعدّ مقاطع فيديو وأنواع أخرى من المحتوى وكل ذلك إلى جانب تأليف الموسيقى في الخفاء”.

وتابع: “أكثر ما كنت أفكر فيه هو أنني لا أريد أن أصل للثمانين من العمر وأنظر للماضي بأسف لأنني لم أقم بتجربة كل ما أريد تجربته”.

لقد أصبحت الموسيقى أولويته منذ ذلك الحين حيث استطاع Levant أن ينجح برسم طريق النجاح ويتألق ويحافظ على مستواه الإبداعي الموسيقي وقدراته الفريدة، إنه أكثر من مجرّد مغني وقد ينسب البعض تميزه لنمط موسيقاه الفريدة والخاصة به بينما يرى آخرون أن خلفيته متعددة الثقافات والتي ساعدته على الاستفادة من جميع أنواع الإيقاعات المختلفة هي السبب. لقد كان لديه تجارب مع معظم أنواع الموسيقى حتى لا نقول جميعها من موسيقى الـDrill إلى الـHip Hop وذلك بهدف زيادة خبرته ومهاراته وإتقان عمله وجذب أكبر عدد ممكن من الجمهور. قد تظنون أنه يفعل كل هذا لتحقيق النجومية لكن في الحقيقة كل ما يريده Saint Levant هو رد الجميل لمجتمعه.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Saint Levant (@saintlevant)

كما يقول: “هدفي الأساسي هو أن أكون قادراً على بناء جامعة وربما دخول عالم السياسة، إن الموسيقى رائعة ولكنها لا تساعد في الجغرافيا السياسية. انظروا إلى  Bob Marley الذي لم يكن له مثيل لقد حاول بشتى الوسائل توحيد الناس ولم يستطع ذلك، أريد حقاً أن أكون قادراً على توقيع اتفاقيات أو صفقات مهمة.”

“كل ما أفعله مرتبط بـ 2048، إنها مثل OVO الخاصة بي. يجب أن نعود للقرن الماضي أيام النكبة لنضع تصوراً حول كيف ستبدو فلسطين فيما لو كانت حرة. إنها روح بأكملها “

إنه بالفعل يعمل على تحقيق كل ذلك حيث يشرح: “لقد  أسست شركة وهناك الكثير في الطريق بما في ذلك افتتاح علامة أزياء وإنشاء مجلة ونشر كتاب خاص بي وما إلى ذلك. ستستغرق الأمور بعض الوقت ولكنني آمل أن يتحقق كل شيء أتمناه”.

لا يزال Saint Levant يرى نفسه ببداية الطريق حتى الآن، حيث يعمل الفنان والسياسي الطموح على بناء فريق قوي بتوجّه فني يتمّ العمل عليه بشكل مميز ومدروس.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Saint Levant (@saintlevant)

كما يقول: “حققت حتى الآن 0.5 من مسيرتي المهنية، إن أحد أكبر مصادر إلهامي للموسيقى هو Hamza لأن إبداعه سيبهرك مهما فعل، فهو يبتكر أشياء رائعة ومميزة كما يضيف أسلوبه الخاص إلى أي نوع يغنيه. هذا ما أريد أن أكون قادراً على فعله.”

وفي حديثه عن مصادر الإلهام الأخرى بالنسبة له يضيف Saint Levant: ” أتطلع أيضاً لأكون مثل Tyler the Creator ولا أعني بالضرورة أن أشابهه بأسلوبه الغنائي، أكثر ما يعجبني فيه في الحقيقة أفكاره التي يفعل أي شيء لتحقيقها، أعني مثلاً لقد ذهب مرّة إلى إيطاليا لمدة شهرين ليصنع عطراً.”

يجدر بكم متابعة خطوات Levant القادمة المليئة بالطموحات والتخطيط للمستقبل المشرق، ولا بد أن نتوقع من هذا المبدع الشاب أن يحقق الكثير من الإنجازات بعد تخرجه كأن يغني بشكل مباشر وأن يجول جميع أنحاء العالم ويلتقي بالمبدعين الجدد. ونحن سعداء لملاحظة أن هذا الفنان الفلسطيني الشاب قد بدأ بالفعل في صنع اسم لنفسه رغم أنه ما زال بعمر الـ21 عاماً فقط.

شارك هذا المقال

On Music and Palestine: A Conversation with Saint Levant, the Region’s Rising Star

From Jerusalem to the world

by

Far from being an unfamiliar face on social media, Saint Levant is on a stellar mission to put Palestine on the map and make the country’s culture shine past its geographic borders. Think of it as a self-assigned task that the young creative is closely following to the letter—and he’s making it happen through music. 

It’s a late post-Eid evening from where I am. Stomachs are full of end-of-Ramadan delicacies and Cairo is slowly heading towards postprandial somnolence. On the multi-hyphenate’s side, it’s early in the AM, around 9 o’clock to be precise. Saint Levant has been up for a while already as he’s just come back from physio-therapy. I already had a sense of how ambitious and rigorous the Jerusalem-born artist was from the last time we caught up in August. This proved it further. 

“I’m a very disciplined person and I love it,” he says. “That’s my flex. I go to the gym every day from this time to this time, I don’t use social media during the day, and when I do, it’s for an hour only as a creator, I post, reply to everyone and immediately get off,” he continues. 

Today, you’ll find him posting mostly about the music he makes. But for the months prior, he was known as Marwan Abdelhamid. The 21-year-old had made a name for himself by actively challenging pro-zionist narratives through short yet pragmatic explanatory videos about the conflict and was in the early stages of his musical adventures. Eventually, he released “Haifa in a Tesla”: a tribute track dedicated to upholding his Palestinian heritage while sharply targeting the suffocating measures imposed by the occupying forces of his homeland. Now, he’s Saint Levant full time. 

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 
Une publication partagée par Saint Levant (@saintlevant)

“The choice of name ultimately comes down to branding. It’s an obvious play of words using Yves Saint Laurent’s heritage while nodding back to my own: the Levant. It’s an homage to the whole sub-region that I’m from as I’m not too big into borders drawn by colonialists. Can I be in Lebanon, Jordan or Palestine, I feel at home regardless of the country. And I just really rate the name, it rolls, it’s nice”, the fourth year International Relations student told MILLE.

“The switch happened when I had a quarter-life crisis. Although I’m 21, I was asking myself what I wanted to do with my life,” he explains. “I was doing so much at the same time. I was building a startup, making videos and other types of content all while making music on the low.”

“I was thinking about how I didn’t want to be 80 years old and look back at the past with regret for not having tried out whatever I wanted to try out,” he continued. 

Since then, music has been his clear priority. Levant revved his engine by keeping on his meteoric rise and pushed his sonic vision to the furthest of his abilities. Lyrically more than capable, some might say that it’s his own musical compass, or his multicultural background, that’s been steering him to tap into all kinds of different rhythms. From hard hitting Drill to hip moving dancehall, he’s jumped onto most, not to say all, genres of music you can think of to perfect his skills, master his craft and appeal to the widest possible audience. And while you might assume his goal is superstardom, Saint Levant is actually on a mission to give back to his own community.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Saint Levant (@saintlevant)

“The ultimate aim is to be able build a university and maybe get into politics. Music is cool but doesn’t help with geopolitics. Look at Bob Marley, no one was bigger than him: he was all about uniting people but nothing really happened. I want to actually be able to sign agreements or deals that matter,” he says. 

“All of what I do goes under my 2048 umbrella. It’s like my own OVO. It should nod back to the century that’s gone by since the Nakba and theorise what Palestine would look like if it would be free. It’s a whole ethos,” 

He’s already working on making it all happen. “I launched a fellowship through it and there’s so much more that’s coming on the way including a fashion brand, making a magazine, publishing my own book and so on. It takes time but hopefully everything will materialize,” he explains.

At this stage, Saint Levant still considers himself at a grassroot level. The artist, and aspiring politician is working to build a strong team and distinctly tailored artistic direction for him to follow through with. 

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Saint Levant (@saintlevant)

“I’m at 0.5 of my career. One of my biggest music inspirations is Hamza,” he says. “Put him on any track and he’ll kill it. Nothing that he comes up with feels forced. He adds his own elements to whatever genre he goes into. That’s what I want to be able to do,” he says. 

Speaking on other sources of inspiration, Saint Levant adds: “Tyler the creator is also someone that I look up to. Not necessarily always in a sonic form but it’s the fact that he has ideas and does whatever to make them happen. I mean, he went Italy for two months to make a fragrance.”

Full of ambition and savant plans for the future, Levant’s next steps are definitely some to keep a close eye on. With graduation being the next milestone to get out of the way, playing live, moving around the world and meeting new creatives are some of the things we can expect the young creative to be doing in the times to come. At just 21-years-old, the young Palestinian artist is already making a name for himself. 

Share this article