7 أمور ستشعرون بها عند تحرير عقولكم بشكل فعال من المعتقدات الاستعمارية

إنّها رحلة ليست بهذه السهولة

by

علينا الاعتراف بأن انتقاص الذات هو أحد الحقائق المتجذرة في نشأة العرب. لقد أمضى الكثيرون منا سنوات من حياتهم وهم يشعرون بالخجل من أصولهم ولا يتقبلون هويتهم العربية أبداً.

مر أكثر من خمسة عشر عاماً من حياتي، وأنا أبرر لنفسي أسباب رفضي لهويتي العربية، معتقدة بأني مختلفة، وأنني ولدت في المكان الخطأ.

ولكن تدريجياً، وعيت بمعتقداتي المتجذرة في العقلية الاستعمارية، وبدأت باستيعاب الدونية الثقافية بداخلي، وتمكنت في النهاية من فهم كل شيء. ما عانيت منه أنا والكثير من أصدقائي عندما كنت مراهقة كان أكثر من مجرد سمات شخصية غريبة، لقد كان نتيجة سنوات من الاستعمار ومن إضفاء طابع نمطي موحد ينسجم مع المعيار الغربي.

عندما بلغت سن الرشد، بدأت في فك تشفير أفكاري التي استحوذت عليها المعايير الاستعمارية؛ والتي لطالما تم إغفالها. كنت أتذمر من عيوب الشعوب العربية، وغير راضية عن شكلي لأنه لا يتوافق مع معايير الجمال الغربية وأرفض الفنون والثقافة المحلية.

كما كنت أشعر بعدم الرضا والقدرة على تقبّل التعايش مع هذه الحقائق. منذ ذلك الحين، بدأت رحلة تحرير عقلي من الرواسب الاستعمارية وتحرير نفسي من تداعيات التلقين العقائدي، وهي عملية أثارت مشاعري طوال الوقت. إن كنتم قد مررتم بنفس هذه الرحلة، نعرض لكم بعض الأمور التي ربما راودتكم أثناء ذلك. أما إن لم تخوضوا هذه التجربة بعد، فإليكم بعض الأشياء التي يمكنكم توقعها.

الذنب
قد ينتابكم الشعور بأنكم جاهلين أو غير وطنيين لأنكم تتنكرون لثقافتكم، وقد تشعرون أن استحواذ العقلية الاستعمارية على أفكاركم يجعلكم غير جديرين بهوية موطنكم الأصلي. لكن تذكروا دائماً حقيقة أن تأثير الاستعمار هو مشكلة جماعية وهو أكثر شيوعاً مما تعتقدون.

تجهلون نقطة البداية
عندما تحاولون جاهدين تحرير عقولكم من الاستعمار، فقد تشعرون بالضياع فيما يتعلق بالوسائل والممارسات التي يجب عليكم اتباعها. نظراً لتلقيننا عقيدة رفض الفنون والثقافة المحلية والاستخفاف بها، فقد نعتقد أنه لا يوجد ما يستحق عناء استكشافه، إلا أنّ الواقع غير ذلك تماماً، لأنّ وسائل الإعلام المحلية والفنانين والمشاهد الإبداعية في ازدهار مستمر، ويُعتبر الوطن دائماً هو نقطة البداية المثلى.

تشعرون بفوات الأوان أو أنّ الوقت غير كافٍ
إنّ التغيير العقلي عملية صعبة وقد تستغرق وقتاً طويلاً. قد تشعرون بأن أنماطاً معينة من التفكير لا يمكن التراجع عنها لاستحواذها بشكل متجذر على عقولكم، إلا أنّ الأمر مجرد مسألة وقت حتى تبدأ عادات التفكير بالتغيّر. تحلوا بالصبر وتذكروا أنها رحلة تمتد مدى الحياة وتتطلب عملاً متسقاً.

أرهقكم النزاع الداخلي اليومي
دعونا نعترف بأنّه من الأسهل أن تكونوا مرهونين بالتفكير بدلاً من الاضطرار إلى إعادة تقييم وجهات نظركم عن العالم ومحاولة تغييرها بفاعلية. في كل مرة تجدون أنفسكم تبحثون عن المصداقية الغربية أو تشعرون بالدونية الثقافية الداخلية، عليكم أن تنتقدوا ذاتكم وتقوموا بدور المرشد للتغيير في نمط تفكيركم، إنها تجربة عاطفية ستمرون بها كل يوم.

تفتقدون التواصل مع عقليتكم القديمة
بمجرد أن تبدأ أنماط تفكيركم بعملية التغيير، ستتغير أيضاً خياراتكم وأذواقكم وأفكاركم القديمة. وبالتالي، قد تشعرون بالانفصال عن هويتكم، وبالكاد تستطيعون تمييز أنفسكم. إنه أمر طبيعي فقط لأنكم تكسرون العقلية الاستعمارية النمطيّة المتجذرة بعمق في أذهانكم منذ الطفولة.

تشعرون بخيبة الأمل تجاه هويتكم
عندما تبدأون في فك شيفرة الطبيعة الاستعمارية أو العنصرية أو العنصرية البيضاء المتأصلة في وسائل الإعلام الغربية التي اعتدتم الإعجاب بها، تبدأ مشاعر خيبة الأمل بالتسلل إلى أعماقكم، وقد ينتهي بكم الأمر إلى الشعور بعدم الاهتمام بما كنتم تعتبرونه ذات مرة معياراً أساسياً، مما قد يؤدي إلى أزمة هوية.

تفتقدون حماستكم وتحزنون على عقليتكم الاستعمارية
هذه نتيجة خيبة الأمل التي شعرتم بها تجاه المُثل والمعايير الغربية التي استحوذت على عقولكم من قبل. إنها سائدة على وجه الخصوص بين الأشخاص الذين لديهم عقلية استعمارية ناتجة عن التفاعل ما وراء الاجتماعي (ارتباط نفسي مع شخصيات في وسائل الإعلام وخاصة على التلفزيون)، والذي يمثل مصدراً لمشاعر مثل الإعجاب والإثارة. عندما تقوم عملية التحرر من الاستعمار بسحق تلك العادات، فقد تنتابكم تجاهها مشاعر الشوق والأسى.

شارك هذا المقال

7 Things You Feel When You’re Actively Decolonizing Your Mind

It’s not an easy journey

by

Hard to admit as it may be, self-deprecation is one of the realities of growing up Arab. Many, myself included, spend years of their lives feeling ashamed of their origins and never truly embracing their Arab identity

For over fifteen years of my life, I’ve cultivated the reasons why I didn’t want to be identified as Arab. I told myself, I was different. I believed I was born in the wrong place.

But slowly, I unraveled my colonial mentality, unpacked the internalized cultural inferiority within me. Eventually, everything started to make sense. What I and a lot of my friends had suffered as teenager was more than just weird personality trait. It was the result of years of colonization and homogenization of taste in favour of a western standard.

As I took steps into adulthood, I started to untangle signs of my colonized mind; a few too many to ignore. I had constantly been complaining about the flaws of Arab people, disliking how I look because I don’t fit into western beauty ideals and rejecting local arts and culture.

I’d carried a toxic thought pattern that I was no longer willing to live with. Since then, I have been on a journey to decolonize my mind and free myself from the aftermath of indoctrination. A process that has sparked a roller coaster of emotions along the way. If you’ve gone through the same journey, these are a few things you probably felt along the way. If you’ve yet to, these are a few things you can anticipate. 

The guilt 
This can take on the form of thinking you are ignorant or unpatriotic to have been self-deprecating about your own culture. You might feel that having a colonial mentality makes you unworthy of your home identity. But it’s important to remember that the impact of colonization is a collective problem and it’s more common than you think.

You don’t know where to start
When you’re actively trying to decolonize your mind, you might feel lost as to which resources and practices you should follow. Because we have been indoctrinated to reject and look down on local arts and culture, we might even think that there isn’t much to explore. But reality speaks differently. Local media, artists, and creative scenes are booming, and home is always a good place to start. 

You feel it’s too late or not enough
Mental change is a challenging process and could take a long time. You might be feeling like certain thought patterns are irreversible and have an unbreakable control over your mind but it’s only a matter of time until your thinking habits start to shift. Be patient and remember that it’s a lifetime journey that requires consistent work.

You are overwhelmed by the daily internal fight
Let’s admit it. It’s easier to be conditioned to think than having to reassess your views of the world and actively change them. Every time you catch yourself seeking western validation or feeling an internalized cultural inferiority, you have to be your own critic and guide the change within your thought pattern. It is an emotional labour that you will go through every day.

You feel a disconnect with your old self
Once your thought patterns start changing, your old preferences, tastes and ideas will change too. Thus, you might feel a disconnect with your identity, like you can’t recognize yourself. It’s only normal as you’re breaking a colonial mentality that has been steeped deeply in your mind since childhood.

You feel disappointed about your identity
When you start deciphering colonial, racist or white supremacist natures in western media that you used to admire, feelings of disappointment start creeping in. You might end up feeling uninterested in what you once considered the standard, which can result in an identity crisis.

You lose excitement and mourn your colonial mentality
This is an aftermath of the disappointment you feel towards the western ideals you once had. It’s especially prevalent if you have a colonial mentality due to parasocial interaction (a psychological connection with people in the mass media, particularly on television), which represents a source of feelings like admiration and excitement. When the act of decolonizing bashes those habits, you can feel a sense of longing and mourning for it.

Share this article