7 برامج بودكاست عن العرق لابد للجميع من الاستماع إليها

اعتبروا هذا بداية لتحليل علاقاتكم العرقيّة

by

لنكن صريحين، إنّنا لم نبذل ما يكفي من الجهد لتحليل العلاقات العرقية في العالم العربي، إنّ العديد من مصادر هذا الموضوع  مبنيّة على وجهات نظر غربية، على الرغم من أنّها قد لا تتناسب مع بعض الأشخاص، إلا أنّ أساسها يجعلها مفيدة بشكل لا يصدق .

بالطبع إنّ العلاقات العرقية قابلة للتكيّف والاتساع، حيث تختلف تجربة الأمريكيين السود عن تجربة البريطانيين السود. كما أنّ تجربة العرب السود تأتي ضمن مجموعة خاصة من الاختلافات الفريدة. ولكن القيمة تكمن في المعرفة، وقد ناضل الأمريكيون والبريطانيون ذوو العرق الأسود لعقود من أجل حل هذه المسألة.

ولحسن الحظ هناك كم هائل من برامج بودكاست التي تعمل على حل هذا الموضوع، إن كنتم تبحثون عن أفضل برامج بودكاست الخاصة بالعرق، فإننا نعرض لكم هنا ما تحتاجون لمعرفته.

Code Switch
بعد إطلاقها في عام 2013 يعتبر Code Switch واحداً من برامج بودكاست الأطول زمنياً والذي يركّز بشكل حصري على العرق. يُقدّم NPR بودكاست عدداً كبيراً من الصحفيين السود وغير السود من أعراق ملونّة. حيث يشرح كل واحد منهم كيفية عمل العلاقات العرقية في كل جزء من المجتمع. هل تساءلتم يوماً عن جذر مفهوم “التضليل”؟ يوجد هناك حلقة حول هذا الموضوع.

1619
إنّ The New York Times 1619 برنامج بودكاست تستضيفه الصحفية “نيكول هانا جونز” الحائزة على جائزة بوليتزر، وهي صحفية تعمل في صحيفة TheNew York Times حيث تغطي قضايا الاضطهاد العنصري، كما أنّها باحثة مثابرة  في إرث أمريكا من العبودية. من الموسيقى إلى الديمقراطية تحلّل هانا جونز كل جوانب المجتمع من خلال العدسات السوداء.

Identity Politics
إن كنتم مهتمّين بفهم تجربة المسلم ذي البشرة السوداء في أمريكا، عندها لا بد لكم من الاستماع إلى برنامج Identity Politics. يقدّم هذا البرنامج كل من إخلاص سليم ومكة علي، وهما سيّدتان مسلمتان ذوات بشرة سوداء. يستكشف Identity Politics المجتمع من وجهة نظريهما الفريدة.

Still Processing
يُقدم هذا البرنامج اثنين من كتّاب الثقافة في صحيفة New York Times ، كلاهما من ذوي البشرة السوداء ، تقدّم Still Processing منظوراً للأحداث الحاليّة من خلال عدستهما الخاصّة.

Yo, Is This Racist؟
بعد إدارة ناجحة لمدوّنة تحمل نفس العنوان، انتقل أندرو تي إلى عالم البودكاست مع  مساعدته تاوني نيوسوم للإجابة على الأسئلة التي يرسلها أشخاص مجهولون من جمهورهم للسؤال عمّا إذا كان هناك شيء عنصري أم لا.

Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast
يقدّم هذا البرنامج شيفون درو وهبة إلياس (اثنتان من قادة المجتمع والناشطين)، يركّز هذا البرنامج على قضية العدالة العرقية. سوف تستمعون إلى الثنائي وهما تناقشان كل شيء بدءاً من إصلاح السياسة إلى أهمية المشاركة في تعداد السكان الوطني.

Sooo Many White Guys
إن كنتم تحبّون البودكاست الخاص بـ جيسيكا ويليامز Two Dope Chicks، عندها سترغبون بالاستماع إلى Sooo Many White Guys. يقدّم هذا البودكاست فيبي روبنسون وجيسيكا ويليامز، وقد تم إنشاؤه استجابة لهيمنة ذوي البشرة البيضاء على الصناعات الإبداعية. وبهدف النضال ضد ذلك، يسلّط هذا البودكاست الضوء على حياة وعمل المبدعين من ذوي البشرة غير البيضاء وعلى غير الذكور وذلك بأسلوبهما الخاص.

شارك هذا المقال

7 Vital Podcasts About Race That Everyone Should Listen To

Consider this your race relations starter pack

by

Let’s be honest, we haven’t done nearly enough work to unpack race relations in the Arab world. Many resources on the topic tend to have been written from a Western perspective, which may seem irrelevant to some people, but their essence still makes them incredibly useful.  

Race relations are, of course, adaptable and vast. The Black American experience is different from the British Black experience. The Black Arab experience comes with its own set of unique differences too. But there’s value in knowledge, and Black and British Americans have laboured for decades to unpack the topic. 

And thankfully, there’s a sea of podcasts dissecting the subject, so if you’re looking for the best podcasts about race, look no further. 

Code Switch
Having launched in 2013, Code Switch is one of the longest-running podcasts to focus exclusively on race. This NPR podcast is hosted by a myriad of journalists who identify as both Black and non-black people of colour. They each dissect how race relations function in every part of society. Ever wondered what the root of the concept of ‘hustling’ is? There’s an episode on that.

1619
The New York Times 1619, is a podcast hosted by Pulitzer Prize winning journalist Nikole Hannah-Jones, who covers racial injustice for The New York Times, and is an avid examiner of America’s legacy of slavery. From music to democracy, Hannah-Jones analyses every aspect of society through the Black lens. 

Identity Politics
If you’re looking to get a better understand of the Black Muslim experience in America, Identity Politics is a must-listen. Hosted by Ikhlas Saleem and Makkah Ali, two Black Muslim women, Identity Politics explores society from their unique perspectives. 

Still Processing
Hosted by two New York Times culture writers, who are both Black, Still Processing offers a perspective on current events through their lens. 

Yo, Is This Racist?
After running a successful blog of the same name, Andrew Ti took to the world of podcasts, joined by his co-host Tawny Newsome to answer anonymously-submitted questions from their audience about whether or not something is racist. 

Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast
Hosted by Chevon Drew and Hiba Elyass (two community leaders and activists) this podcast is largely focused on the issue of racial justice. You’ll hear the duo discuss everything from policy reform to the importance of participating in the national census. 

Sooo Many White Guys
If you liked Jessica Williams’s podcast Two Dope Chicks, you’re going to want to give Sooo Many White Guys a listen. The podcast is hosted by Phoebe Robinson and Jessica Williams, and was created in response to the dominance of white men in creative industries. To battle it, the podcast looks at the life and work of non-white, non-male creatives through their own words.

Share this article