أول سينما فنيّة في دبي تسلط الضوء على الأفلام العربية الوثائقية

سينما عقيل و Warehouse421 يتعاونان لإطلاق برنامج لمدة ثلاثة أيام

by

للسنة الخامسة على التوالي، تدخل سينما عقيل وهي أول سينما فنية في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في شراكة مع Warehouse421 لجلب أفضل ما في السينما العربية المعاصرة. هذه المرة ستتمتعون بمشاهدة الأفلام وأنتم في منازلكم.

ينطلق البرنامج في 28 أكتوبر ويستمر لمدة ثلاثة أيام، ويشمل بعضاً من أكثر الأفلام الوثائقية الجديرة بالثناء في المنطقة، بما في ذلك فيلم “توب العيرة” للمخرجة لين الفيصل و”عسل ومطر وغبار” للمخرجة نجوم الغانم و”الحديث عن الأشجار” للمخرج صهيب قسم الباري. سيتم بث العروض عبر الإنترنت من خلال منصة البث الرقمي Screener، وهي متاحة للجميع في الإمارات.

Leen Alfaisal's A Borrowed Dressفيلم “توب العيرة” للمخرجة لين الفيصل

إلى جانب سينما عقيل يعمل Warehouse421 وهو مركز للفنون والتصميم في الإمارات العربية المتحدة للترويج لأعمال الفنانين ومخرجي الأفلام من المنطقة. يصادف البرنامج هذا العام شراكته الثامنة مع سينما عقيل التي تأخذ على عاتقها نفس الهدف.

تتمحور الأفلام المختارة حول موضوعات الثقافة والجغرافيا السياسية والتنوع البيولوجي السائدة في العالم العربي. يتتبع فيلم “توب العيرة” رحلة الفيصل للهروب من سوريا التي دمرتها الحرب للعيش مع ابنتها في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، في حين تشتت بقية أفراد أسرتهم في أنحاء العالم. يستقصي فيلم “عسل ومطر وغبار” للمخرجة الغانم الممارسات القديمة لتربية النحل في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وقضية قربها من الانقراض الذي يعد مأساة بيئية. في حين يسلط الفيلم السوداني “الحديث عن الأشجار” للمخرج قسم الباري الضوء على الرحلة التي يتكبدها أعضاء مجموعة سينما السودان لإحياء عروض الأفلام في مجتمعهم.

Talking About Treesفيلم “الحديث عن الأشجار” للمخرج قسم الباري

قال فيصل الحسن رئيس معرض Warehouse421 عن المشروع “لا يقتصر طموحنا على أن نكون مجرد منصة عرض، بل نهدف إلى عرض قصص بشرية ملهمة تعمل كمحفز للمحادثات العميقة والمبادرات الجديدة والمشاريع الإبداعية”.

عادةً ما يتم إحياء ذكرى هذا التعاون من خلال دور السينما الموجودة في أبو ظبي. ولكن بسبب الوباء تقرر إطلاق نسخة رقمية من هذا البرنامج. لكن لا تقلقوا، يمكن للمشاهدين والضيوف الانضمام إلى جلسة الأسئلة والأجوبة الرقمية بشكل مباشر مع مخرج كل فيلم لمعرفة كل ما يمكن معرفته عن إنتاج الأفلام.

للاشتراك، يجب عليكم التسجيل على موقع Warehouse421.

warehouse421.ae

 

الصورة الرئيسية: فيلم “عسل ومطر وغبار” للمخرجة نجوم الغانم

شارك هذا المقال

Dubai’s First Arthouse Cinema Puts the Spotlight on Arab Documentaries

Cinema Akil and Warehouse421 come together for a three-day programme

by

For the fifth year in a row, the GCC’s first arthouse cinema, Cinema Akil is partnering up with Warehouse421 to bring you the best of contemporary Arab cinema. This time, it’s from the comfort of your own home.

The three-day programme, which will commence on October 28, will include some of the region’s most praiseworthy documentary films, including Leen Alfaisal’s A Borrowed Dress, Nujoom Al Ghanem’s Honey, Rain and Dust, and Suhaib Gasmelbari’s Talking About Trees. The screenings will take place online through digital streaming platform, Screener; and anyone in the UAE can tune in. 

Leen Alfaisal's A Borrowed DressA Borrowed Dress by Leen Alfaisal

Along with Cinema Akil, Warehouse421, a UAE-based arts and design centre, has always worked to promote the works of artists and filmmakers from the region. This year’s programme marks their eighth partnership with Cinema Akil, and their mission has not changed.   

The selected films centre around the themes of culture, geopolitics and biodiversity that are prevalent in the Arab world. A Borrowed Dress follows Alfaisal’s journey on escaping war-torn Syria to live with her daughter in the UAE, whilst the rest of their family is displaced around the globe. Al Ghanem’s Honey, Rain and Dust, delves into the ancient practice of beekeeping in the UAE, as well as its proximity to extinction which is an ecological tragedy. The Gasmelbari-directed Sudanese film Talking About Trees, shadows the journey that members of the Sudan Film Group endure to revive film screenings in their community.

Talking About TreesTalking About Trees by Suhaib Gasmelbari

“We aspire to not just be a screening platform, we aim to showcase inspiring human stories that act as a catalyst to deep conversations, new initiatives, and creative projects,” says the head of Warehouse421, Faisal Al Hassan, on the project.

The collaboration is typically commemorated through pop-up cinemas in Abu Dhabi. However, due to pandemic, they have decided to move forward with a digital version. That doesn’t mean you’ll have to settle for less. Following the screenings, guests can join live digital Q&A with each film’s director to find out everything there is to know about the production of the films.

To sign up, you’ll have to register on Warehouse421’s site.
warehouse421.ae

 

Main image: Honey, Rain and Dust by Nujoom Al Ghanem

Share this article