7 علامات مناهضة للعنصريّة تستحق أن تشتري منها

لا مزيد من الأعذار.

by

لقد أثّر التزامنا بشراء الملابس الرخيصة على بيئتنا بشكل هائل. إنّ صناعة الملابس مسؤولة الآن عن 10% من انبعاثات الكربون على كوكب الأرض ممّا يجعلها ثاني أكثر صناعة ملوّثة في العالم.

إلا أنّ الوعي البيئي لا يقف عند حدّ مسؤوليتنا الاجتماعية كمتسوّقين فقط. لقد أظهرت أسابيع من النشاط الأدائي للعلامات التجارية الكثيرة التي تدعم BLM ضرورة التدقيق في العلامات التي نتسوّق منها. في النهاية ما فائدة البيان الغامض المناهض للعنصريّة الذي تنشره على صفحتك على الإنستاغرام في الوقت الذي تسيء فيه معاملة عمّال مصنعك وتدفع لهم أجوراً زهيدة خاصّة النساء ذوات البشرة السوداء او السمراء؟ (اهلا بكم في موقع Fashion Nova)

لهذا السبب قرّرنا إجراء هذا التدقيق بالنيابة عنكم. هذه بعض العلامات التجارية المفضّلة لدينا والتي تعتبر صديقة للبيئة ومناهضة للعنصريّة.

Atelier Mundane

View this post on Instagram

UPDATE: THE MASKS HAVE SOLD OUT We understand that currently we in the west are in turmoil. However we can’t ignore the fact that Yemen is and has been facing the worlds largest humanitarian crisis in our existence that has killed over 100,000 and counting. 16 million Yemenis are affected by the food crisis among other crises engulfing the country. At least 50,000 infants die every year, a child under the age of 5 dies every 10 minutes in Yemen due to famine. To help, we are selling a limited amount of triple layered washable masks to keep you and your environment safe. We want to give you the opportunity to name your own price starting at £10,- per mask. ALL PROCEEDS will go to @mercybakery who provides the most basic form of sustenances – bread for FREE to the Yemeni people. The volunteering staff of mercy bakery in Yemen consists of 6 young female Yemeni orphans. For more information on the crisis there’s a link in our bio. Dm or email us at [email protected] to purchase.

A post shared by MUNDANE (@ateliermundane) on

تُعدّ Atelier Mundane قبل كل شيء علامة مستدامة. على الرغم من أنّ هذه العلامة العراقية القائمة في لندن تستخدم في تصاميمها المواد المعاد تدويرها والجلود الصناعيّة إلا أنّها تتجاهل القضايا الاجتماعية. ولكن في الآونة الأخيرة قامت العلامة بابتكار وتصميم أقنعة ثلاثية الطبقات قابلة للغسل بحيث تذهب العائدات إلى Mercy Bakery  وهي منظّمة يمنية يديرها عدد من المتطوّعين توفّر الخبز المجّاني للشعب اليمني.

Aliette

View this post on Instagram

💙💛❤️

A post shared by ALIÉTTE (@alietteny) on

لطالما اشتهرت الموضة على مرّ التاريخ بالعنصريّة، وباعتبار مصمّم الأزياء Jason Rembert من ذوي البشرة السوداء فقد لمس هذه الحقيقة بشكل واضح. في عام 2019 قام Rembert بإطلاق علامته الخاصة Aliette والتي يرتدي تصاميمها عدد من المشاهير أمثال Ezra Miller  و Issa Rae ممن يحرصون على ارتداء ملابس من تصميم السود في كلّ المناسبات.

Asata Maise

هل تبحثين عن حقيبة جديدة؟ لا غنى لك عن قطع Asata Maise الملوّنة. منذ تأسيس العلامة بدأت المصمّمة باستخدام الخامات الملوّنة لابتكار حقائب فريدة للتوجه في النهاية إلى تصميم الفساتين والجاكيتات والقبّعات بشكل دلو. تستخدم المصمّمة السوداء الشابّة في تصاميمها الخامات المعتّقة التي تشتريها من Etsy و eBay، وفي حال لم تفعل ذلك فإنّها تقوم بدعم الشركات الصغيرة من خلال شراء الخامات من المتاجر المحليّة.

Aliya Wanek

لا غنى لكم عن علامة Alya Wanek  عند شراء القطع الأساسية، ستجدون هناك كل شيء بدءاً من القمصان البيضاء إلى الفساتين السوداء الناعمة. أسّست هذه العلامة التجاريّة امرأة سوداء اشتهرت بتمثيلها للسيّدات الملونات، وبكونها علامة مستدامة لأبعد الحدود حيث تستخدم الألياف الطبيعيّة فقط وتدفع أجوراً جيدة لشركات الإنتاج الصغيرة، بالإضافة إلى أنّها تستخدم عبوات قابلة لإعادة التدوير.

Come Back as a Flower

View this post on Instagram

🌱✨@imaanhammam

A post shared by @ comebackasaflower on

هل تبحثون عن كنزتكم الجديدة المفضلة؟ ستجدون ما تبحثون عنه في Come Back as a Flowe. تشتهر هذه العلامة التي يملكها السود باستخدام القطن معاد التدوير بنسبة 100% في كافة تصاميمها، بالإضافة إلى استخدام كل شيء مصبوغ يدوياً ويتم إنتاجه بطريقة أخلاقية في لوس أنجلوس.

One and Four Studio

الاستدامة هي السمة الأساسية لعلامة One and Four. تقوم هذه العلامة التجارية بالحصول على الخامات من مصادر صديقة للبيئة، كما تمتاز تصاميمها بأنّها ذات تكاليف ضئيلة وتناسب الجنسين. تُعتبر هذه العلامة التجارية واحدة من القلائل الذين تحدثوا ضد العنصرية في المنطقة. تقدّم مؤسسة العلامة إنجي مهدي خدمات استشاريّة مجّانية للمبدعين السود الشباب.

Brother Veillies

View this post on Instagram

A bride 🤎🦢 @elainewelteroth in Ivory Olivia Pumps

A post shared by BROTHER VELLIES (@brothervellies) on

عندما يتعلّق الأمر بصنّاع الأحذية فقد تصبح الاستدامة أمراً مستحيلاً. إلا أنّ علامة Brother Veillies نجحت في تخطّي المستحيل دون المساس بالتصميم. أسّست المصمّمة الغانيّة الكندية Aurora James علامتها التجارية في عام 2013، وتهدف العلامة إلى حماية أعمال التصاميم الأفريقية على نحو مستدام. إنّهم يستخدمون الجلود الصناعيّة المدبوغة والنعال المصنوعة من الإطارات المعاد تدويرها والخشب المنحوت يدوياًّ والريش الملوّن بالإضافة إلى مواد أخرى صديقة للبيئة وأخلاقيّة.

شارك هذا المقال

7 Eco-Conscious Anti-Racist Brands You Need to Buy

No more excuses.

by

Our allegiance to buying cheap clothes has taken an immense toll on our environment. It’s the reason why the fashion industry is now responsible for 10 per cent of the entire planet’s carbon emissions – making it the second-most polluting industry in the world. 

But eco-consciousness isn’t where our social responsibility as shoppers stops. Weeks of performative activism shown by countless brands in support of BLM have demonstrated the need to really vet the labels we’re shopping. After all, what good is a vague anti-racist Instagram statement when you’re mistreating and underpaying factory workers mostly comprised of black and brown women? (Hi, Fashion Nova).

For that reason, we’ve decided to do the vetting for you. These are a few of our favourite brands that are both eco-friendly and actively anti-racist.

Atelier Mundane

View this post on Instagram

UPDATE: THE MASKS HAVE SOLD OUT We understand that currently we in the west are in turmoil. However we can’t ignore the fact that Yemen is and has been facing the worlds largest humanitarian crisis in our existence that has killed over 100,000 and counting. 16 million Yemenis are affected by the food crisis among other crises engulfing the country. At least 50,000 infants die every year, a child under the age of 5 dies every 10 minutes in Yemen due to famine. To help, we are selling a limited amount of triple layered washable masks to keep you and your environment safe. We want to give you the opportunity to name your own price starting at £10,- per mask. ALL PROCEEDS will go to @mercybakery who provides the most basic form of sustenances – bread for FREE to the Yemeni people. The volunteering staff of mercy bakery in Yemen consists of 6 young female Yemeni orphans. For more information on the crisis there’s a link in our bio. Dm or email us at [email protected] to purchase.

A post shared by MUNDANE (@ateliermundane) on

Above all, Atelier Mundane is sustainable. The Iraqi London-based label uses upcycled materials and vegan leathers to create their collections. And they’re anything but silent when it comes to social issues. Most recently, the label created and sold triple-layered washable masks with all proceeds going to Mercy Bakery, a volunteer-run Yemeni organization that provides free bread to Yemeni people. 

Aliette

View this post on Instagram

💙💛❤️

A post shared by ALIÉTTE (@alietteny) on

Fashion is and has been notoriously racist, and as a Black celebrity stylist, that reality was very clear to Jason Rembert. In 2019, Rembert took matters into his own hands and launched his own label, Aliette, which has already been worn by the likes of Ezra Miller and Issa Rae (who exclusively wears Black designers on every occasion).

Asata Maise

Looking for a new bag? Asata Maise’s patchworked pieces are a must-buy. The designer began her label using colourful fabrics to create one-of-a-kind bags. Eventually, she delved into everything from dresses, jackets, and bucket hats. The young black designer sources her vintage fabrics from Etsy and eBay, and if not, she supports small businesses by buying from local fabric shops. 

Aliya Wanek

There’s no reason for anyone to buy his or her basics at fashion conglomerates whilst Alya Wanek exists. Whether it’s a white T-shirt or a go-to little black dress, , you’ll find it here. The brand, founded by a black woman, is known for its representation of women of colour. They’re ultra-sustainable too, working with only natural fibres and paying a living-wage to small batch production companies, as well as using zero-waste packaging. 

Come Back as a Flower

View this post on Instagram

🌱✨@imaanhammam

A post shared by @ comebackasaflower on

Looking for your new favourite sweater? Your search ends at Come Back as a Flower. The Black-owned label makes all of their pieces with 100 per cent recycled cotton, with everything hand-dyed and ethically produced in Los Angeles. 

One and Four Studio

Sustainability is One and Four’s primary mission. The brand sources ethical fabrics, and their designs use minimal amounts of product. They’re also unisex. The brand was also one of few to speak out against racism in the region, with its founder, Engy Mahdy offering free consulting services to young black creators. 

Brother Veillies

View this post on Instagram

A bride 🤎🦢 @elainewelteroth in Ivory Olivia Pumps

A post shared by BROTHER VELLIES (@brothervellies) on

When it comes to shoe manufacturers, sustainability seems far-fetched. But, Brother Veillies does it, without compromising one bit on styles. Founded in 2013 by Ghanaian-Canadian designer Aurora James, the label’s aim is to safeguard African design practices, and they do it sustainably. They use vegetable-tanned leathers, soling from recycled tires, hand carved wood, floral dyed feathers, among other environmentally friendly, and ethically-produced materials.

Share this article