فيل يقتل امرأة ثم يعود ليدهسها مرة أخرى في جنازتها

الموضوع أعمق مما قد يبدو

by

لقد قرأت مقالاً في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع يروي كيف قام فيل بدهس امرأة مسنة حتى الموت قبل أن يعود ليسحق جثتها مرة أخرى في جنازتها. كما هو متوقع قام الإنترنت بتسليط الضوء على القصة بأكملها، فما فرصة حدوث ذلك؟ كما لو أن هناك يد فلكية تدخلت حتى يحدث هذا لأي شخص.

elephant kills a woman kenya

تم دهس المرأة الهندية Maya Murmu والبالغة من العمر 68 عاماً حتى الموت من قبل حيوان هارب وذلك أثناء إحضارها المياه في قرية Raipal بالهند يوم الخميس.

رغم تمكن القرويين من تحديد مكانها أخيراً بعد اختفائها، فقدت حياتها مع الأسف وهي في طريقها إلى المستشفى، ليصدر أمر بعدها بتشريح الجثة، وفي المساء وبعد أن قامت عائلتها بنقل جثتها للقرية لتشييعها، وبينما كانت تتم تأدية الطقوس الخاصة بالموت عاد الفيل الذي لم يكن لوحده ليدوس على جثتها مرة أخرى، وبحسب المصادر. . قيل أن الأسرة استمرت في الجنازة حتى بعد رحيل الحيوان. تبين أن الأفيال قامت بمهاجمة منزل العائلة أيضاً كما ألحقت أضرار بثلاث عقارات أخرى كانت قريبة من المكان.

قد تبدو القصة مناسبة لفيلم من إخراج Tarantino، حيث تسعى الأفيال للانتقام من جميع أشكال الظلم التي حدثت لأجناسهم عبر التاريخ، ولا شك أنه سيكون فيلم رائع.

تكمن حقيقة الأمر أن هناك سبب أكثر خطورة يجعل هذه الحيوانات المسالمة عادة تهاجم البشر، فوفقاً لأحدث استبيان والذي تم في عام 2017، تعد الهند موطناً لما يقارب 27000 من الأفيال البرية، وقد ساهم كل من الصيد الجائر والتعدي على الموائل وتضاؤل مناطق الغابات في انخفاض عددها.

وعلى المستوى الإقليمي فقد تم مؤخراً تصنيف هذه الأنواع على أنها مهددة بالانقراض، لتضاف إلى القائمة الطويلة للحيوانات التي تتدخل البشرية في موائلها الطبيعية.

إن الفيلة ليست حيوانات مفترسة، فعندما تقرر الهجوم لا تهاجم إلا بعد أن تكون قد مت، فهم لا يأكلون ما يقتلونه، وإذا قام الفيل بمهاجمة أحد فعادةً ما يكون ذلك بسبب ذعره أو تعرضه للتهديد أو إصابته، ففكرة أن يشعر حيوان يبلغ وزنه ستة أطنان بأي مما سبق هذا يعني أن المشكلة كبيرة، ورغم أن ما حصل بالضبط بين Murmu والفيل لا يزال مجهولاً إلا أنه يصعب تخيل ما يمكن أن تفعله امرأة تبلغ من العمر 68 عاماً لإثارة غضب شيء كبير مثل الفيل.

لم تكن هذه الحادثة الأولى من نوعها فوفقاً لـWorld Wildlife Fund تقتل الأفيال ما بين 100 و300 شخص في الهند كل عام، وقد تم في الأسبوع الماضي وحده دهس أربعة أشخاص أو أكثر حتى الموت في أحداث منفصلة في جميع أنحاء الهند.

يُفترض أن أحد الأسباب الرئيسية وراء هذا السلوك الذي تتبعه الأفيال مرتبط بموضوع الصيد الجائر وتجارة العاج غير المشروعة، ويجد الخبراء أن عبارة “الفيل لا ينسى أبداً” صحيحة جداً، كما تقول Joyce Poole مديرة الأبحاث في مشروع Amboseli Elephant Research في كينيا “إن الأفيال قادرة على فعل ما هو أكثر من الانتقام.”

كما قالت: “إنهم بالتأكيد أذكياء بما فيه الكفاية ولديهم ذكريات كثيرة عن الوقائع والتي تكفي ليفكروا بالانتقام. قد يشعر المسؤولون عن الحياة البرية أنه من الأسهل إطلاق النار على الأفيال التي يُزعم أنها المشكلة بدلاً من مواجهة غضب الناس “.

“يتم إطلاق النار على الفيل دون إدراك العواقب المحتملة التي تصيب أفراد الأسرة المتبقين، وإمكانية أن يولّد هذا حلقة من العنف لا تنتهي.”

لا يمكننا تخيل نظرة أكثر إشراقاً للحيوانات ولا حتى للجنس البشري مع تفاقم وازدياد سوء الوضع البيئي. الأمر المثير للدهشة هو كيف أن البشر لا يمكنهم أن يشبهوا الأفيال حتى، فالفيل إذا شعر بالتهديد فإنه يدافع عن نفسه في حين يكون البشر أكثر من سعداء بالجلوس مكتوفي الأيدي وانتظار أن يتم تدمير الكوكب. إذا كان هناك شيء واحد علينا تذكره بعد كل هذا هو أن القيام بأي خطوة دائماً ما يكون أفضل من عدم اتخاذ أي خطوة على الإطلاق.

 

شارك هذا المقال

Elephant Kills Woman, Returns to Funeral to Trample Her Again

It’s deeper than you think

by

Earlier this week I was reading an article on how an elephant crushed to death an elderly woman before returning to trample her corpse at her funeral.

The internet, rather predictably, made light about the whole story, because I mean what are the chances? Like there’s literally an astronomically low percentage of this happening to anyone, ever.

elephant kills a woman kenyaThis however wasn’t the case for Maya Murmu. The 68-year-old Indian woman was trampled to death by the escaped animal while fetching water in Raipal village, India, on Thursday.

After raising the alarm, the villagers were able to locate her. Unfortunately, she lost her life en route to the hospital. Post-mortem examination of her body was ordered. In the evening, her family members retrieved her body and returned to the village to give her a funeral. Only for the elephant to return, with others, and trample her corpse while her family performed death rites, according to sources.

The family is believed to have carried on with the funeral after the animal had left. The elephants even attacked her family home; three more nearby properties were damaged in the attack.

On face value, this could be the plot to a Tarantino movie, where elephants seek retribution for all of the injustices that have happened to their kind throughout history. Which by the way sounds like a great movie – but I digress.

The fact of the matter is that there’s a more sinister reason why these usually peaceful animals attack humans. According to the most recent survey in 2017, India is home to roughly 27,000 wild elephants. Poaching, habitat encroachment, and dwindling forest areas have all contributed to a decline in the population.

Regionally, the species is now classified as endangered, making it just one of many animals who have had their natural habitats interfered with by mankind. 

Elephants are not predatory, when they attack, they don’t just attack until you die; they don’t eat what they kill. If an elephant attacks, it’s usually because they are startled, threatened, or injured and for a six ton animal to feel any of the above means that the problem must be a large one. And with Murmu’s interaction with the elephant still unknown, it’s hard to imagine what a 68 year old woman could have done to infuriate something as large as an elephant.

It’s not an isolated event either.  According to the World Wildlife Fund, elephants kill between 100 and 300 people in India each year— at least four people were trampled to death in separate events across India last week alone. 

One of the main causes for this behavior in elephants is assumed to be because of poaching and the illegal ivory trade. The phrase “an elephant never forgets” has never been more true, according to experts. Joyce Poole, research director at the Amboseli Elephant Research Project in Kenya said that, “elephants are more than capable of vengeance.”

“They are certainly intelligent enough, and have good enough memories, to take revenge,” she said. “Wildlife  managers may feel it is easier to just shoot so-called ‘problem’ elephants than face people’s wrath.”

“So an elephant is shot without realizing the possible consequences on the remaining family members, and the very real possibility of stimulating a cycle of violence.”

With the situation getting worse for the environment it’s hard to imagine a brighter outlook for the animals, or even the human race. What is super interesting is how humans are yet to become like elephants. If an elephant feels threatened, it defends itself, whereas humans are more than happy to sit idly by and wait for the planet to be destroyed. If there’s one thing we should take away from this, it is that any action is always better than no action at all. 

 

Share this article