5 طرق أحدثت بها علامة Kenzo ثورة في عالم الموضة

كيف تمكن المصمم الياباني من إعادة تعريف الرموز الثقافية للموضة

by

توفي المصمم الأيقوني كينزو تاكادا الذي يعزى إليه التعريف بالموضة اليابانية على مستوى العالم عن عمر يناهز 81 عاماً يوم الأحد في باريس جراء إصابته بفيروس كوفيد 19، وفقاً لبيان المتحدث باسم المصمم.

جاء في بيان الشركة “لقد تلقت علامة KENZO خبر وفاة مؤسسها ببالغ الأسى والحزن. لمدة نصف قرن، كان السيد تاكادا شخصية رمزية في صناعة الأزياء، لطالما أضفى على العالم لمسة من الإبداع واللون”.

لم يلبث كينزو الذي انتقل إلى باريس لأول مرة في عام 1964 أن أصبح عنصراً أساسياً في صناعة الأزياء من خلال طبعات الأدغال المبتكرة والانتقائية والقصّات المتقنة. بعد فترة وجيزة من انتقاله إلى العاصمة الفرنسية، أسس كينزو علامته التي تحمل اسمه، وافتتح أول متجر له في جاليري فيفيان في عام 1970. اكتسبت مجموعاته الجريئة التي حلت محل التصاميم الأوروبية التقليدية شهرة عالمية كبيرة.

في نفس العام، تصدّر عمله غلاف مجلة Elle وفي النهاية تصدّرت قصّاته التي اتسمت بالانسيابية ومزيج الطبعات والألوان المتعددة مجلة American Vogue والتي تمكنت من تغيير مشهد الموضة الباريسي بشكل تام، إلى أنّ أصبحت كينزو في غضون 53 عاماً قوة عالمية في عالم الموضة.

على مدى العقود التالية، تمكنت عبقرية تاكادا الإبداعية والتصميم الياباني الأصيل من إحداث نقلة نوعية في عالم الموضة من خلال الابتعاد عن التصاميم التقليدية التي سادت الصناعة في السنوات السابقة، الأمر الذي مهد الطريق في النهاية لمصممين أمثال يوجي ياماموتو، وهو واحد من بين المصممين اليابانيين الآخرين الذين جاءوا من بعده. لا يمكن إنكار حقيقة أن كينزو أعاد تعريف الرموز الثقافية للموضة، ونحن هنا للاحتفاء به. وهنا عشر طرق أحدثت فيها علامة كينزو ثورة في صناعة الموضة.

اتسمت تصميماته الأولى بقصّات كتف جديدة وفتحات كبيرة عند الذراع وفساتين بزمزمات، لقد اشتهر كينزو بجرأته في تحدّي روح العصر التي كانت سائدة في عالم الموضة في ذلك الوقت.

لم يخجل كينزو من التأثيرات الثقافية الخاصة به، لطالما قام بدمج الجمالية اليابانية في عمله، ليبتكر في النهاية منظور عالمي جديد للموضة.


تصوير: Hans Feurer Trunk Archive 1983

يعتبر كينزو أول من أضفى لمسة المرح على عالم الموضة من خلال جرأته في استخدام مزيج من الطبعات والألوان المفعمة بالحياة. 

عمل تاكادا على استعادة كلمة “جاب”، والتي كانت تعتبر لطخة عرقية، من خلال تسمية أول متجر له “جانغل جاب”. والذي كان محط جدل كبير، حيث اعترضت منظمة حقوق مدنية آسيوية أمريكية وحاولت دفعه إلى إزالة الكلمة، إلا أنّها فشلت.


تصوير: Richard Haughton

أما بالنسبة لمنصّة العرض، يُعتبر كينزو قوة رائدة في مسرح الموضة. حيث أقام عرضه عام 1979 في خيمة سيرك، واختتمه بركوبه على رأس فيل.

شارك هذا المقال

5 Ways Kenzo Revolutionized Fashion

How the Japanese designer redefined fashion’s cultural codes

by

Credited with bringing Japanese fashion to the world, the iconic designer Kenzo Takada died at 81-years-old on Sunday in Paris due to COVID-19 complications, according to a spokesperson for the designer. 

It is with immense sadness that KENZO has learned of the passing of our founder. For half a century, Mr. Takada has been an emblematic personality in the fashion industry — always infusing creativity and color into the world,” read a statement from the company. 

Kenzo, who first moved to Paris in 1964, quickly became a fixture of the fashion industry through his innovative, eclectic jungle prints and pioneering silhouettes. Not long after his move to the French capital, Kenzo established his namesake label and opened his first boutique in Galerie Vivienne in 1970. His bold collections—which did away with traditional European design—gained global recognition. 

That same year, his work was featured on the cover of Elle magazine and eventually in American Vogue where his free-flowing silhouettes, mixed-prints, and embrace of colour were slated to completely shake up the Parisian fashion scene. The rest is history. For 53 years, Kenzo became a global force in fashion. 


For the decades that followed, Takada’s creative genius and authentically Japanese design completely moved fashion away from the restrictive forms that ruled the industry in the years prior. He ultimately paved the way for the likes of Yohji Yamamoto, among other Japanese designers that came after him. Undeniably, Kenzo redefined fashion’s cultural codes—and we’re here to celebrate him.  These are ten ways Kenzo revolutionized the industry. 

With his first designs featuring then-new shoulder shapes, large armholes, and smock tent dresses, Kenzo wasn’t afraid to go against the zeitgeist of fashion at the time. 

Kenzo didn’t shy away from his cultural influences, always incorporating the Japanese aesthetic in his work, and ultimately injecting a global perspective on fashion. 

Credits: Hans Feurer Trunk Archive 1983

With his fearless pattern-mixing and vibrant colour-use, Kenzo was effectively the first to render fashion ‘fun’. 

Takada worked to reclaim the word ‘jap’, which was seen as derogatory, by naming his first store ‘Jungle Jap’. The name didn’t come without controversy, with an Asian-American civil rights organization challenging him to remove the word, and failing. 

Credits: Richard Haughton

As for the runway, Kenzo was a pioneering force in fashion’s theatrics. His 1979 show was held in a circus tent, closing with Takada riding on top of an elephant.

Share this article