حان وقت التوقف عن شراء الأزياء السريعة

تسوقي من هذه العلامات المحلية بدلاً من ذلك

by

في الأسبوع الماضي، كشف مراسلٌ لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز عن سر قذر ربما افترضناه معظمنا ولكننا تجاهلناه. إذ تعرضت علامة Fashion Nova المفضلة لدى الشخصيات المؤثرة وإحدى أكبر تجار التجزئة على الإنترنت في العالم، لفضيحة عدم دفعها لرواتب العمال في مصانعها في لوس أنجلوس.

فلنكن صادقين، ما الذي قد نتوقعه من شركةٍ للأزياء السريعة تنتج كميات كبيرة من القطع والموديلات الجديدة بين عشية وضحاها بينما تظل أسعارها رخيصة نسبياً؟

كشف التقرير أن عمال المصانع الذين قاموا بصنع هذه الملابس كانوا يحصلون على أجور منخفضة بشكل غير قانوني (حيث يبلغ متوسط أجر العامل حوالي 4.66 دولار في الساعة؛ بينما يبلغ الحد الأدنى لمعدل الأجور في لوس أنجلوس 13.25 دولار في الساعة). فإن لم تكن المضار البيئية التي تسببها هذه الأزياء السريعة حافزاً كافياً على ضرورة إيقافها، فينبغي أن تكون معاناة عمال المصانع الذين يتلقون رواتب منخفضة قادرة على ذلك.

لقد أثرت حاجتنا المتزايدة للملابس الرخيصة (التي أدت بنا في النهاية إلى ارتداء القطعة لمرة واحدة فقط لوضع منشور على الإنستاغرام) على بيئتنا بشكلٍ كبير. فوفقاً لدراسةٍ حديثة، أصبحنا نشتري اليوم 60٪ من الملابس أكثر مما كنا نفعل في بداية العقد، ونحتفظ بتلك الملابس لنصف المدة التي كنا نحتفظ فيها بملابسنا سابقاً. واليوم، يمثل إنتاج الأزياء والملابس 10% من انبعاثات الكربون البشرية، وينتهي 84% مما نشتريه في مكب النفايات كل عام وفي محيطاتنا بنهاية المطاف.

فقد حان الوقت لإيقاف هذه الأزياء السريعة على الفور. وبالتالي حان الوقت لكي تصبح الأخلاق عاملاً رئيسياً في اختياراتنا لملابسنا. ومع انتشار العديد من العلامات الصغيرة والأخلاقية والصديقة للبيئة في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي، لم يعد من الصعب علينا القيام بذلك. ولمساعدتكم في الاطلاع على الأسواق، جمعنا لكم العلامات المستدامة المفضلة لدينا لتتسوقوا منها.

Atelier Mundane

تُعتبر هذه العلامة أولاً وقبل كل شيء، مستدامة. إذ عادةً ما تكون قطعهم مصنوعة من مواد معاد تدويرها، كما أنهم يستخدمون الجلود النباتية.

Shabab International

View this post on Instagram

Time Crisis 🌐

A post shared by شباب (@shababintl) on

إذا كانت هناك علامة واحدة لملابس الشارع يجب دعمها، فهي Shabab International. ونظراً لوجودها منذ عام 2012، تُعد هذه العلامة الشعبية واحدة من العلامات الأولى في المنطقة. فهم حريصون على تصنيع ملابسهم في دبي حصراً، ويتعاملون مع الخياطين المحليين الذين يتقاضون رواتبهم في المقام الأول.

One and Four Studio

View this post on Instagram

How many pieces is she wearing? #OAFSTUDIO #AW20

A post shared by ONE AND FOUR STUDIO (@oneandfourstudio) on

تُعتبر الاستدامة هي الأساس بالنسبة لهذه العلامة. فمصادرهم أخلاقية تماماً بما فيها أقمشتهم، وتستخدم تصاميمهم أقل كمية ممكنة من المواد، كما أنها مخصصة للجنسين.

Tania George

تتميز هذه العلامة بأناقتها وأخلاقيتها أيضاً. إذ تركز هذه العلامة الأردنية على الحرفة، وبالتالي فهي تعمل في المقام الأول مع الخياطين المحليين من جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط.

Precious Trust

View this post on Instagram

See you there 🌊

A post shared by Precious Trust (@precious.trust) on

حازت هذه العلامة منذ إطلاقها في عام 2017 على شهرةٍ كبيرة في دبي وخارجها. فهي تشتهر بتصاميمها البسيطة والأنيقة، تماماً مثل Shabab، حيث يتم تصنيعها محلياً من قِبَل خياطين بأجور مناسبة وعادلة.

شارك هذا المقال

It’s Time to Stop Buying Fast Fashion

Buy these homegrown labels instead

by

Last week, a reporter for the New York Times unveiled a dirty secret that most of us assumed but overlooked. Fashion Nova, the influencer-favourite and one of the world’s biggest online retailers, was exposed for massively underpaying workers in its Los Angeles Factories.

If we’re being honest, what else did we expect from a fast fashion company that mass-producesnew pieces and styles overnight while remaining relatively cheap?

The report disclosed that the factory workers who made the clothing were being paid illegally low wages (one of the worker’s pay averaged to about $4.66 an hour; when the Los Angeles minimum wage rate stands at $13.25 per hour.) If fast fashion’s damage to the environment wasn’t enough proof that it needs to end, the suffering of underpaid factory workers should be.

Our growing need for cheap clothes (that we ultimately end up wearing once for an Instagram post) has taken an immense toll on our environment. According to a recent study, we buy 60 per cent more garments today than we did in the beginning of the decade, and we only keep the clothing for half as long. And today, fashion production accounts for 10 per cent of humanity’s carbon emissions – and 84 per cent of what we buy ends up in the dump every year and ultimately in our oceans. 

To put it simply: it’s time for fast fashion to die. It’s time for ethics to become a major factor in our sartorial choices. Smaller, ethical, and eco-conscious brands are rising across the Arab world, so it’s not hard to do.  To help you navigate the market, we round up our favourites homegrown sustainable brands for you to shop.

Atelier Mundane

This label is first and foremost, sustainable. Their pieces are typically made from upcycled materials and they strictly use vegan leathers.

Shabab International

View this post on Instagram

Time Crisis 🌐

A post shared by شباب (@shababintl) on

If there’s one streetwear label to support, it’s Shabab International. Having been around since 2012, the community-driven label is one of the region’s first. The label strictly makes their clothing in Dubai, working with local tailors, who first and foremost, are not underpaid.

One and Four Studio

View this post on Instagram

How many pieces is she wearing? #OAFSTUDIO #AW20

A post shared by ONE AND FOUR STUDIO (@oneandfourstudio) on

Sustainability is One and Four’s primary mission. The brand sources ethical fabrics, and their designs use minimal amounts of product. They’re also unisex.

Tania George

Tania George isn’t just cute, it’s ethical too. The Jordanian label places focus on the craft, working primarily with local tailors from across the Middle East.

Precious Trust

View this post on Instagram

See you there 🌊

A post shared by Precious Trust (@precious.trust) on

Since launching in 2017, Precious Trust has garnered a cult following in Dubai and beyond. Known for their minimalist aesthetic, just like Shabab, Precious Trust is made locally, with adequately-paid tailors.

Share this article