هذا الملاذ الهادئ في كاليفورنيا وجهتكم لعطلة استرخاءٍ فاخرة

مكان مختلف عن لوس أنجلوس

by

لا يوجد وقت أفضل من ذروة فصل الشتاء لزيارة جنوب كاليفورنيا. قد تكون لوس أنجلوس هي الوجهة الأشهر، ولكن إذا كنتم تبحثون عن مكانٍ أخف ازدحاماً دون أن تضطروا لرؤية الكثير من الناس، فلا داعي للمزيد من البحث.

تقع “نيوبورت بيتش” على بعد 45 دقيقة فقط بالسيارة من مطار لوس أنجلوس الدولي، فهذه المدينة الساحلية الصغيرة التي تتميز بفخامتها، موجودة في قلب مقاطعة أورانج (وهي منطقة تشتهر بالتزلج على الألواح وركوب الأمواج وبشواطئها الرملية وبرامج التلفزيون الشهيرة مثل “لاغونا بيتش” و “ The OC”).

وهي مثالية لقضاء عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في حال كنتم تزورون مدينة لوس أنجلوس بالفعل، أو لعطلة طويلة في جنوب كاليفورنيا. إن نمط الحياة في نيوبورت بسيط ورائع: فهي مدينة حيوية وطقسها مشمس دائماً وركوب القوارب فيها شائع جداً، كما أن كل متاجركم ومطاعمكم وعلاماتكم التجارية المفضلة قريبة جداً. تخيلوا منطقة بيفرلي هيلز لكن مع شواطئ ومياه وبدون ازدحامٍ مروري. إنه بمثابة حلم!

فإذا كنتم تبحثون عن عطلة فاخرة في كاليفورنيا، فيما يلي أفضل الأشياء للقيام بها في نيوبورت بيتش.

احجزوا إقامتكم في فندق بيليكان هيل

Pelican Hill view terraceيقع فندق بيليكان هيل المذهل في قمة التلال المحيطة بالمدينة مع إطلالات بانورامية على المحيط.

Pelican Hill view on the oceanيُعتبر هذا الفندق رمزاً للفخامة بفيلاته المستقلة متعددة الغرف وقصوره الصغيرة (المتاحة للإيجار والمثالية للإقامات الطويلة) وبحوض سباحته المستوحى من الكولوسيوم والعديد من الخلجان المشمسة التي تقع على بعد أقدام قليلة من الفندق – فزيارتكم إلى كاليفورنيا لن تكتمل دون زيارة بيليكان (كما يدعونه السكان المحليين). وإذا لم ترغبوا بالإقامة فيه، يمكنكم حجز جلسة تدليك للاسترخاء لمدة ساعة مع تناول الغداء بجوار حمام السباحة – نؤكد لكم بأنكم لن تندمون.

Pelican Hill poolتبدأ أسعار الغرف العادية من 356 دولار أميركي في الليلة الواحدة خارج موسم الذروة
pelicanhill.com

قوموا بزيارة جزيرة بالبوا

Balboa Island in Newportإذا كنتم من محبي Arrested Development”، فهذا هو المكان الذي جرت فيه أحداث هذا المسلسل الكوميدي. وإذا كنتم من هواة الثقافة الأميركية، فعليكم بزيارة جزيرة بالبوا الصغيرة الرائعة التي تحتوي على طريق واحد. ويُعتبر الموز المجمد من الأطباق المميزة في هذه الجزيرة، لذا احرصوا على زيارة ) Sugar n’Spice وهو المكان الأكثر شهرة في الجزيرة للموز المجمد).

تسوقوا في Fashion Island

Fashion Island in Newportتقدم Fashion Island تجربة تسوق رائعة في الهواء الطلق، حيث يمكنكم شراء أي شيء من ساعة Patek Philippe الماسية والمتعددة الألوان والتي تبلغ تكلفتها 1.2 مليون دولار أو أحدث سترة جلدية من Jil Sander أو كل ما ترغبونه من علامة Prada. كما يمكنكم تناول الطعام في Cheesecake Factory، فهو قريب جداً. ولتجربة أكثر رفاهية، احجزوا خدمة تنسيق الملابس المجانية، حيث سيسعدهم ترتيب أمر تنقلاتكم من فندقكم، والأفضل من ذلك أنكم إذا كنتم من نزلاء فندق بيليكان، فسيجلبون بضاعة المتاجر إليكم. سواء كنتم تريدون الأزياء الفاخرة القادمة من باريس مباشرة، أو إلقاء نظرة عامة وشاملة على كافة مجموعات الربيع والصيف، فهنا كل شيء ممكن.

ركوب اليخت عبر المارينا

yachts in the Newport Marinaلا يوجد مكان أرقى من مرسى نيوبورت. هنا لا يوجد أصحاب الملايين بل المليارات! فقلة المساحات المطلة على البحر تعني أن أسعار العقارات هنا فلكية (إذ أن نيوبورت بيتش موطنٌ لأغلى العقارات في أميركا). حيثُ ستجدون هنا بعضاً من أجمل القصور الضخمة في نيوبورت واليخوت الكبيرة التي ترسو بالخارج. تأكدوا من القيام بما يقوم به السكان المحليون واستأجروا قارب دافي “Duffy”. فقوارب Duffy التي تذكرنا بالقوارب الشراعية الإيطالية، هي وسيلة التنقل الشائعة لسكان نيوبورت المحليين (حتى لو كانوا يملكون يختاً ضخماً). وهي تبحر عند غروب الشمس وترسو في نوبو في ليدو لتناول الطعام. ويُعد المطعم المكشوف المكان المثالي للاستمتاع بتناول سلطة فطر الشيتاكي الرائعة التي يتميزون بها.

استمتعوا بالسباحة في خليج “كريستال كوف”

Crystal Cove beachيعتبر هذا الخط الساحلي المتواصل الممتد على طول 3.5 ميل جوهرة مدينة نيوبورت ويُثبت أنها المدينة الشاطئية الهادئة المثالية في كاليفورنيا. فهذا المكان محاط بالرمال البيضاء والكهوف والأكواخ المبينة بوحي من فترة العشرينات والمياه النقية، ليس هناك مكان أفضل لركوب الأمواج أو الغوص في مياه كاليفورنيا.

شارك هذا المقال

Newport Beach is Your Key to Laidback Luxury

Move over Los Angeles…

by

In the deepest darkest depths of Winter, there’s no better time to plan a visit to Southern California. Los Angeles might be the destination on most people’s lips (and geo-tags) but if you’re looking for something more low-key, with no pressure to see or be seen, then look no further. 

A mere 45-minute drive from LAX is Newport Beach, a petite coastal city that oozes luxury, nestled in the heart of Orange County (a region that’s best known for skateboarding, surfing, sandy beaches and cult moneyed teenage TV shows like ‘Laguna Beach’ and ‘The OC’). 

As the perfect weekend getaway if you’re already visiting LA, or the perfect long-stay Southern California vacation, the lifestyle in Newport is simple and infectious: it’s always sunny, juicing is life, boating is as common as Ubering, and all your favourite shops, restaurants and brands are all within an arms reach. Imagine Beverly Hills if it was surrounded by water and traffic didn’t exist. A dream. 

If you’re looking for the ultimate luxury California vacation, look no further. These are the best things to do in Newport Beach.

Stay at Pelican Hill

Pelican Hill view terraceSimply put, Pelican Hill is paradise. Nestled on top of the surrounding hills, with panoramic views of the ocean, Pelican Hill is the pinnacle of luxury.

Pelican Hill view on the oceanWith multi-bedroom stand-alone villas and mini-mansions (available to rent and perfect for long-stays), a colosseum-inspired swimming pool, and miles of sun-drenched coves within a few feet of the hotel – no visit to California is complete without a stop-off at Pelican (as it’s known to locals). Book in for an hour-long relaxation massage and have lunch by the pool if you’re just passing through – you won’t regret it. 

Pelican Hill poolBasic rooms start at $356 per night during low season
pelicanhill.com

Visit Balboa Island

Balboa Island in NewportIf you’re a fan of ‘Arrested Development’ then look no further – this is where the sitcom is set. This miniscule and unbelievably adorable one-road island is a must-see. If nostalgia and Americana is your thing, then Balboa is perfect. Frozen bananas are the island’s signature bite, so be sure to pay a visit to Sugar n’Spice (the island’s first and most-cult frozen banana spot). 

Shop at Fashion Island

Fashion Island in NewportThis is just as good as it sounds. Fashion island is quite literally a huge open-air shopping experience where you can buy anything from a $1.2 million fully customised multi-coloured diamond Patek Philippe, the latest Jil Sander leather jacket, or shop all the Prada your heart desires. You could also just post up at Cheesecake Factory too. It’s that accessible. For the ultimate luxury experience, book in a complimentary styling service, where they will happily organise transport for you from your hotel. There’s even a hotel located directly opposite Fashion Island, which is perfect if you want to shop on your doorstep. Or even better, if you’re staying at Pelican, they will happily bring the shops to you. Whether that be Haute Couture sent in straight from Paris, or an overview of all the S/S collections – everything is possible.

Yacht through the Marina

yachts in the Newport MarinaThere’s no bigger flex than Newport’s Marina. Move over millionaires, this is where the term billionaire’s playground comes into play. The lack of sea-facing space means that real estate prices here are astronomical (Newport Beach is home to the most expensive real estate in America). This is where you’ll find some of Newport’s best mega-mansions and super-yachts docked out front. Be sure to do as the locals do and hire a Duffy boat. Reminiscent of Italian sailing boats, a Duffy boat is every Newport locals go-to transport (even if they own a mega-yacht). Sail by sunset and dock and dine at Nobu at the Lido. The breezy open-air restaurant is the perfect spot to indulge in their iconic shitake salad. 

Swim in Crystal Cove

Crystal Cove beachThis is where 3.5 miles of pristine uninterrupted coastline shows Newport for what it really is – the perfect laidback Californian beach town. Surrounded by white sand, caves, 1920s bungalows and clear water, there’s no better spot to surf or scuba dive on the California coastline.

 

For more travel tips and info, head to visitnewportbeach.com 

Share this article