حسب مجلة Time مخرجة فيلم “إلى سما” تم اختيارها كواحدة من أكثر 100 شخصية مؤثرة

تعرّفوا على مخرجة الأفلام السورية الرائدة

تعتبر وعد الخطيب مخرجة الفيلم الوثائقي المثير للجدل والمرشح لجائزة الأوسكار “إلى سما” واحدة من أشهر الشخصيات المؤثرة في العالم. تم اختيار المخرجة السورية لتنضم إلى قائمة مجلة تايم المرموقة للشخصيات الأكثر تأثيراً في العالم لتصبح واحدة من بين  100 شخصية مؤثرة في عام 2020.

تم اختيار الخطيب ضمن فئة “الريادة” في القائمة عن فيلمها الوثائقي.

صرّحت Action for Sama في منشور على الإنستاغرام “لقد تم إطلاق قائمة تايم التي تضم 100 شخصية الأكثر تأثيراً في العالم، ونحن فخورون جداً بكون [وعد الخطيب] جزء من هذه المجموعة القوية ” تهدف الحملة التي أطلقتها الخطيب إلى إنهاء الهجمات التي تستهدف المستشفيات في سوريا. “نشكركم على رفع أصواتكم ودعم عمل Action for Sama”.

إن استحقاق الخطيب الانضمام إلى القائمة أمر لا نزاع فيه. قامت المخرجة والناشطة بتصوير فيلم “إلى سما” على مدار خمس سنوات في خضم الحرب السورية. تم تصوير الفيلم بكاميرا محمولة لتسليط الضوء بقوة على واقع الحياة في حلب وسط الحرب. يلقي المشاهدون في هذا الفيلم نظرة عميقة على حياة الخطيب عندما أصبحت أماً.

A still from the documentary 'For Sama'فاز فيلم “إلى سما” بجائزة L’Oeil d’Or لأفضل فيلم وثائقي في مهرجان كان السينمائي في عام 2019، وترشح لجائزة الأوسكار في نفس العام.

كتب ريز أحمد لمجلة تايم في بيان عن انضمام الخطيب إلى القائمة “لقد روت قصة أبطالها وهم أناس عاديون يخاطرون بكل شيء ليعيشوا متحررين من الحكم الاستبدادي، إنّها تصور أطباء يعملون تحت النار لإنقاذ الآخرين ومدرسون يعلّمون الأطفال في فصول دراسية تحت الأرض بينما تتساقط القنابل في الخارج. إنّها قصة عن الوحشية والأمل الذي لا ينتهي”.

“في الوقت الذي تعرضت فيه جوائز الأفلام مرة أخرى لانتقادات بسبب افتقارها للتنوع، كان من المذهل رؤية وعد وهي لاجئة مسلمة تمشي على السجادة الحمراء في حفل توزيع جوائز الأوسكار إلى جانب ابنتها الصغيرة وهي ترتدي ثوباً مطرزاً بقصيدة باللغة العربية تقول “تجرأنا على الحلم ولن نتخلى عن كرامتنا”.

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

مقالات رائجة

‘For Sama’ Director Named One of Time 100 Most Influential People

Meet Syria’s pioneering filmmaker

by

Waad Al Kateab, best known as the director of critically-acclaimed and Oscar-nominated documentary For Sama, is officially one of the world’s most influential people. The Syrian filmmaker was included in Time magazine’s prestigious Time 100 Most Influential People 2020 list. 

Al Kateab was named in the ‘pioneering’ category of the list for her documentary work. 

“Time’s list of the 100 Most Influential People in the world is out, and we are so proud to share that [Waad Al Kateab] is a part of this powerful group,” read an Instagram post by Action for Sama—the campaign launched by Al Kataeb to end targeted attacks on hospitals in Syria. “We thank you – always – for raising your voices and supporting the work of Action for Sama.”

Al Kateab’s inclusion in the list is inarguably well-deserved. The filmmaker and activist shot the film For Sama over the course of five years in the midst of the Syrian war. Shot with a handheld camera, the film is a powerful look into the reality of life in Aleppo in the midst of war. In it, viewers get a deep look into Al Kateab’s life as she becomes a mother.

A still from the documentary 'For Sama'For Sama went on to win the L’Oeil d’Or for Best Documentary prize at the 2019 Cannes Film Festival, and eventually snagged an Oscar nomination that same year. 

She told a story whose heroes are ordinary people risking everything to live free from tyranny: doctors working under fire to save others, teachers educating children in underground classrooms as bombs rain down outside. A story of extreme brutality but also of endless hope,” wrote Riz Ahmed for Time magazine’s announcement of Al Kateab’s inclusion in the list. 

In a year when film awards were, once again, criticized for their lack of diversity, it was incredible to see Waad, a Muslim refugee woman, walk the red carpet at the Oscars alongside her young daughter, wearing a gown embroidered with a poem in Arabic that read, “We dared to dream and we will not regret dignity,” he continued.

Share this article