لا أريد أن أكون مغنية الراب المفضلة لدى أي شخص، السودانية Nadine El Roubi تتحدث عن أعمالها الموسيقيّة الجديدة والنسويّة وما يخبئه المستقبل لها

التقينا بالمغنية قبل إصدار أحدث أغنية لها «Freestyles PT I»

by

أصبحت موسيقى الهيب هوب شائعة بشكل متزايد في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي تقريباً، ورغم أن السودان لن تكون أول دولة تتبادر إلى الذهن عند التفكير في مشهد الراب الصاخب في المنطقة، إلا أن الأمور تتغير شيئاً فشيئاً بالنسبة للدولة الواقعة في شمال شرق أفريقيا، خاصة بمساعدة المبدعين ذوي المواهب الصوتية مثل مغنية الراب Nadine El Roubi المقيمة في القاهرة. تعيش هذه الفنانة السودانية والتي تعمل أيضاً كصحفية موسيقية، من أجل الموسيقى وتوثق كل خطوة من صعودها نحو الاعتراف العالمي بموهبتها ومهاراتها المطلقة على حسابها الرسمي على Twitter.

تشتهر El Roubi إضافة لسردها للقصص من خلال كل عمل من أعمالها بكونها صريحة بشأن أكثر ما يهمها. لا تخجل هذه النجمة الصاعدة أبداً من وضع موضوع النسوية في طليعة موسيقاها مهما كان الإيقاع الموسيقي، كما أنها لا تفوت فرصة لإبراز موهبتها الفريدة من خلال الأبيات الحادّة والقوافي الشديدة والكلمات الهادفة التي تمثل الهوية الموسيقية لهذه المغنية السودانية والتي يمكننا ملامستها من خلال إصدارها الأخير.

تعد “Freestyles PT I” أول أغنية تصدرها مغنية الراب الشابّة في هذا العام الجديد، ولأول مرة تقوم الفنانة بربط العديد من الأبيات الارتجالية لتشاركها جميعها في أغنية واحدة. وتبعاً لما قالته الفنانة من المفترض أن يتم فهم الأغنية الجديدة على أنها «شريط مختلط، إلا أنها أغنية واحدة مدتها عشر دقائق».

واحتفالاً بإطلاق أغنيتها المنفردة الجديدة، قررنا طرح بعض الأسئلة على هذه الفنانة التي تتحدى الصعاب باستمرار لمعرفة المزيد عن خطواتها الأولى في هذا المجال ومسيرتها الإبداعية فضلاً عن خططها المستقبلية. سيداتي وسادتي، قابلوا Nadine El Roubi.

كيف بدأت قصتك مع الموسيقى؟

بدأت قصتي مع الموسيقى منذ الطفولة فقد كان والدي دي جي وكنت أذهب معه إلى النوادي وأجلس بجواره على المنصة أثناء العروض، ولا شك أنني أيضاً تعملت من هناك أول كلمة بذيئة. دائماً ما كانت تعزف الموسيقى في أنحاء المنزل وفي السيارة، كما أنني عزفت على آلة البيانو لعشر سنوات وعلى آلة الكمان لفترة قليلة.

لقد كنت أغني أيضاً منذ أن كنت طفلة حتى أنني قدمت أول عرض لي عندما كنت في الثامنة من عمري في عرض المواهب في المدرسة.

ما الذي دفعك لاختيار متابعة موسيقى الراب على وجه الخصوص؟

لقد وقعت حقاً في حب موسيقى الهيب هوب عندما كنت في الجامعة بين عامي 2013 و 2016. كنت أستمع لكل من A$AP Rocky و Kanye West وSchoolboy Q حتى أصبحت مهووسة بمدى ما يمكن أن يقوله مغني الراب في مدة قصيرة من الزمن، إضافة لاتساع الموضوعات التي يمكنهم التطرق إليها. أتذكر أنني في حوالي عامي 2014 و2015 كتبت مقالاً عن أغنية Jay-Z وKanye West “No Church in the Wild” من أجل مقرر جامعي.

بدأت في التفكير بشكل جدي في إمكانية دخولي عالم الراب بين عامي 2015 و2016. كنت أكتب أشياء لنفسي ولا أظهرها لأي شخص، كما كنت أجرب الغناء الارتجالي مع اثنين من الأصدقاء فقط بداعي التسلية، ومنه كانت الرغبة الأساسية دائماً موجودة وعندما قابلت مغنيي الراب السودانيين أمثال MaMan وJaily وAKA Keyz في عام 2018، دفعني ذلك حقاً إلى الاعتقاد بأنني أستطيع فعل ذلك بنفسي.

أنت نشيطة للغاية وتشاركين في جميع جوانب هذا المجال، من كونك مؤدية إلى كونك صحفية موسيقية أيضاً. ماذا يجلب لك هذا من بصيرة؟

إن الحصول على فرصة الكتابة عن الموسيقى مع Scene Noise علمني الكثير عن صنع الموسيقى والجانب التجاري للموسيقى. وبالحديث عن الجانب التجاري، فقد ساعدني ذلك في فهم أفضل طريقة للتعامل مع المنشورات لموسيقاي الخاصة: ما هي المعلومات التي ستكون مفيدة لهم، وكيف يجب أن أصف موسيقاي لإلهام جانب مثير للاهتمام من القصة… لقد وضعني هذا في منظور جديد كلياً. على جانب صناعة الموسيقى، فقد أعطاني كل من تحليل وتفسير موسيقى الآخرين ومراقبة كيفية تفاعل الناس مع موسيقاهم على صفحة SceneNoise، فكرة عما يحبه الناس وما يستمعون إليه، إنه أمر مفيد للغاية. أحب كتابة الموسيقى وربما سأفعل ذلك دائماً رغم أنني بالتأكيد أستمتع بصنع الموسيقى أكثر.

ما هي الأهمية التي تحملها لك الكتابة كصحفية وفنانة؟

 تعتبر الكتابة كل شيء بالنسبة لي، لقد كنت أقرأ الكثير وأنا أكبر، كما كنت أسجل اليوميات من قبل أن أبلغ عشر سنين. كانت الكتابة وستظل دائماً الطريقة التي أفهم بها هذا العالم.

كيف تبدو عملية إنتاج الموسيقى بشكل منفرد ومستقل؟

تتغير العملية مع كل أغنية، ولكن في الغالب أكون جالسة بمفردي وأشعر بالإيقاع وأضيع في عملية الكتابة، أما بالنسبة للأسلوب الارتجالي قأقوم عادة بالتسجيل الأشياء على هاتفي أو مباشرة على برنامج Logic…

لقد استمتعت للغاية في صنع الموسيقى مع Kubbara صديقي الموسيقي والمنتج والمهندس والموهوب بشكل لا يصدق. كان العمل معه مذهلاً لأنه يتمتع بأذن موسيقية كما أنه موسوعة بأنواع مختلفة، لذا فهو يحصل حقاً على الصوت الذي أسعى للوصول إليه، ولكني رغم ذلك أحب أن أدخل الإستوديو معه ومع مجموعة من الموسيقيين الآخرين لنصنع الموسيقى من الصفر، مثل Ahmad Hossam وMallawany Wegs وMickey.. وسيكون هذا حلم كبير يتحقق.

تبقى فكرة أن تكون مستقلاً أمر صعب، لأنك تريد أن تدفع للناس مقابل وقتهم وعملهم إذا استطعت، وفي الوقت الحالي، لست في هذا الموقف حقاً، لأتمكن من الدفع لمجموعة من الموسيقيين المختلفين مقابل جلسة أو الدفع مقابل ساعات من وقت الاستوديو. إنني بحاجة لشركة ممولة حقاً، ففي الوقت الحالي لا أرى أي محترفين يقومون بذلك بشكل مستقل، إنها عملية مرهقة، مرهقة وطويلة، أريد صفقة حقيقية من أجل إصدار موسيقاي.

في أغنيتك الجديدة، تعترفين بأنك تحتقرين كونك مصنفة كمغنية راب أنثى. هل يمكنك أن تخبرينا المزيد عن ذلك؟

يتم استخدام الجنس لتأهيل كل شكل من أشكال الفن. إنه أمر محبط فقط لأن الراب والهيب هوب… غير مرتبطان بأي جنس، إنها مجرد وسيلة للتعبير ومجموعة مهارات، وكوني امرأة ليس أمراً مهماً. لا أريد أن أكون «مغنية الراب» المفضلة لدى أي شخص، أريد أن أكون مغني الراب المفضل لشخص ما، إنتهى.

أغنيتك فريدة من نوعها، حيث أنها تمزج كلمات من على مر السنين في أغنية مدتها 10 دقائق. كيف جاءت هذه الفكرة إليك؟

كان الأمر برمته في الواقع فكرة مديرة أعمالي (Megatronic)، فدائماً ما كانت تقول “أسلوبك الحر في الغناء رائع والناس تحبه. يجب أن نصنع شريط مختلط منه.” كنت دائماً أقول لها «نعم… بالتأكيد». شعرت بالكسل لإعادة توظيف المحتوى القديم. لكن بعد ذلك حاولت أعادة ترتيبها بالملاحظات الصوتية والرسائل التي تلقيتها من الأصدقاء وبمرور الوقت بدا الأمر جيدا حقاً. شعرت بطريقة بأني أكثر موضوعية و أشبه بصاحب قصة يجب أن تروى.

لقد أرسلت المنتج إلى Meg وأحبته، لكنها شعرت أنه يمكن ربطه بطريقة أكثر سلاسة، لذلك استعانت بصديق لها دي جي John Vincent الذي سبق وعمل مع فنانة أخرى في قائمتها، Desta French. لقد مزج المقاطع والملاحظات الصوتية معاً بالطريقة التي نسمعها اليوم، وبالنسبة لي يبدو الأمر وكأنني أستمع إلى ترّهاتي في السيارة، وأتلقى مجموعة من رسائل البريد الصوتي على طول الرحلة. أحببت ذلك حقاً.

لقد أصدرت أغاني فردية فقط حتى الآن، ولكن متى نتوقع منك مجموعة أكبر؟

سأطلق أول ألبوم قصير لي في أكتوبر. وسيكون اسمه Triplicity، وسيتضمن خمس أغاني. أنا متحمسة جداً لإطلاقه.

 

شارك هذا المقال

‘I Don’t Want to be Anyone’s Favorite Female Rapper’: Sudanese MC Nadine El Roubi On New Music, Feminism, and What the Future Holds

Chatting about her latest EP ‘Freestyles PT I’

by

Hip-hop is an increasingly popular genre across almost the entirety of the Arab World. Still, Sudan isn’t necessarily the first country that comes to mind when thinking of the region’s bustling rap scene. But things are slowly changing for the Northeast African country, especially with the help of skilled sonic ambassadors like Cairo-based MC Nadine El Roubi. 

The Sudanese singer, who also happens to be a music journalist, lives and breathes music, documenting each step of her ascent towards global recognition for her sheer talent and skills on her official Twitter account.

Bringing fresh and underrepresented narratives to life through each one of her tracks, El Roubi is also known for being vocal on what matters to her the most. Never shying away from putting her female perspective at the forefront of her music, whatever the beat, the rising star never misses an opportunity to demonstrate her assortment of talent through sharp bars, scarring rhymes, and meaningful lyrics — a recurring element in the Sudanese songwriter’s musical identity that we are about to witness again through her latest release.

Titled Freestyles PT I, it is the young rapper’s first sonic offering since the new year. Debuting today, the artist strings several different freestyle verses, shared over time, all together on one track only. Owing to the artist’s own words, the new track is meant to be received and understood as “a mixtape, but on one ten-minute long song.”

To celebrate the launch of her new single, we shot over some questions to the ever-defying artist to learn more about her first steps in the industry, her creative process, as well as future plans. Ladies and gentlemen, meet Nadine El Roubi. 

Where does your story with music begin? 

My story with music began from childhood. My dad is a DJ and would take me with him to clubs. I’d be sitting on the stand next to the decks while he played. It’s also apparently how I learned my first swear word. But music was always playing around the house, in the car. I played piano for 10 years, and violin for a little bit too. I’ve also been singing since I was a kid— I performed for the first time at like eight-years-old at a high school talent show. 

What pushed you into pursuing  rap in particular? 

I really fell in love with hip-hop as an art form in university between 2013 and 2016. A$AP Rocky, Kanye West, Schoolboy Q— I became obsessed with how much rappers could say in such a short amount of time and the breadth of themes they could touch upon. I remember in around 2014 and 2015 I wrote an essay on Jay-Z and Kanye West’s No Church in the Wild for a university class.

 It was around 2015 and 2016 that I started really getting into the idea of rapping myself. I was writing things for myself and not showing anyone, freestyling with a couple of friends for fun. So the core desire was always there. It was when I met Sudanese rappers like MaMan, Jaily, and AKA Keyz in 2018 though, that really pushed me into believing I could do it myself.

You’re very proactive and engage with all aspects of the industry, from being a performer to being a music journalist as well. What insight does that bring you? 

Having the blessing to write about music with SceneNoise definitely taught me a lot about both making music and the business side of music.

On the business side, it helped me understand the best way to approach publications for my own music: What information would be useful to them, how I should describe my music to inspire an interesting angle for a story… It put a lot in perspective. 

On the music-making side – from analyzing and interpreting other people’s music, and observing how people were engaging with their music on the SceneNoise page — it gave me an idea of what people like and what they listen for. It’s very insightful. I love writing about music and probably always will – but I definitely enjoy making music more. 

What importance does writing hold to you as both a journalist and an artist?

Writing is everything to me. I read a lot growing up. Journaled since before I was 10. Writing always has and always will be the way I make sense of the world

What does the process of making music solo, and independent, look like? 

The process changes with each song, but mostly, when I’m by myself, it’s about sitting down, absorbing a beat, and getting lost in the process of writing. Freestyling melodies, recording things on my phone or directly into Logic… 

I’ve had the privilege and pleasure of making music with Kubbara, a friend of mine who is an incredibly talented musician, producer, and engineer. Working with him has been amazing because he has an incredible ear and vast archival knowledge of different genres. So he really gets the sound that I’m going for. But I would love to get in the studio with him and a bunch of other musicians and make music from scratch, like Ahmed Hossam, Mallawany, Wegz, Mickey.. That would be a dream come true. 

Being independent though, something like that is hard. Because you want to pay people for their time and work if you can. And at the moment I’m not really in that position, to be able to pay a bunch of different musicians for a session or to pay for hours of studio time. I only want a label for the funds and resources really. At the moment I don’t see any pros to doing this independently. It’s exhausting, draining, and long. I want a record deal, fact. 

In your new track, you admit you despise being labeled a female rapper. Can you tell us more about that? 

Gender is being used to qualify every art form. It’s just frustrating because rap, rapping, hip-hop… it’s a genderless genre. It’s just a medium of expression. A skillset. Me being a woman should have nothing to do with it. I don’t want to be anyone’s favorite “female rapper.” I want to be someone’s favorite rapper, period.

Your track is unique in that it mixes verses from over the years in a 10-minute-long song. How did the idea come to you? 

The whole thing was actually my manager (Megatronic’s) idea. For ages, she’s been like “Yo, your freestyles do really well. People love them. We should make a mixtape out of them.” I was always kind of like, “yeah…sure.” It felt lazy to just repurpose old content. But then I tried sequencing them with voice notes and messages I’ve gotten from friends over time, and it sounded dope. It felt way more intentional and story-like. 

I sent the sequence over to Meg, and she loved it, but felt it needed to be tied together more smoothly. So she enlisted the help of a friend of hers, DJ John Vincent, who’s worked with another artist on her roster, Desta French. He mixed the verses and voice notes together in the way you hear today. To me it sounds like I’m listening to my shit in the car, getting a bunch of voicemails along the journey. I love it. 

You’ve only released singles so far, but when can we expect a long sonic statement from you?  

I’m releasing my first ever EP in October. It’s going to be called Triplicity. It’s five songs. I’m very excited for that to be out, too. 

Share this article