10 نساء عربيات رائدات يستحققن الاحتفاء بهن اليوم وكل يوم

يوم المرأة العالمي سعيد!

by

شأنها شان المغنيات العربيات الأيقونات اللواتي شكلن العصر الذهبي للموسيقى (مثل أم كلثوم وفيروز)، لم تتوان النساء في كل مجال عن مواصلة تحدي الوضع السائد في المنطقة، وتمهيد الطريق لخلق منصّة لدعم الأصوات النسائية من خلال قوتها وقدرتها منقطعة النظير على المواجهة والصمود.

هناك شيء واحد مشترك بينهن جميعاً: أنّهن لا يخشين المخاطرة. من دفع صناعة الأزياء في المنطقة إلى تحويل العالم العربي إلى مركز فني كامل، لقد نجحن في تحقيق ما كان يُعتقد سابقاً بأنه أمر مستحيل.

قد يجادل البعض بأن المواقف الأبوية متجذرة في العالم العربي، إلا أنّ نساء اليوم ينظرن إلى الأشياء بشكل مختلف. وتكريماً لليوم العالمي للمرأة تحتفي MILLE بعشر نساء عربيات ملهمات يغيّرن العالم.

الشيخة حور القاسمي

Sheikha Hoor Al Qasimiلا أحد يُضاهي حور القاسمي في تأثيرها على المشهد الفني في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهي الفنانة والقيِّمة والمصممة التي أسست “مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون“، والتي تعتبرها الإمارات كواحدة من اللاعبين الرئيسيين في عالم الفن الإقليمي والدولي. وباعتبارها داعم وفي للفنانين الناشئين، قامت القاسمي برعاية معارض كبرى في جميع أنحاء العالم، كما تُعتبر القوة الكامنة وراء إقامات الفنانين والقيمين المتخصصين بالفنون البصرية والأفلام والموسيقى في الشارقة. تترأس القاسمي أيضاً “ترينالي الشارقة للعمارة”، وعملت كعضو في هيئة تحكيم مهرجان برلين السينمائي الدولي ومهرجان دبي السينمائي الدولي. بعد وفاة شقيقها التوأم الشيخ خالد بن سلطان بن محمد القاسمي عام 2019، تولت منصب المديرة الإبداعية لعلامته التجارية “قاسمي”.

أنيسة حلو

وهي واحدة من “أقوى 100 امرأة عربية” وواحدة من “أكثر 500 شخصية عربية مؤثرة” وفقاً لمجلة أريبيان بزنس، بدأت الشيف السورية اللبنانية عملها في مجال تصميم الديكورات الداخلية، ثم أصبحت ممثلة دار Sotheby’s في الشرق الأوسط بعد فترة وجيزة من تخرجها. كانت تدير متجراً للتحف في باريس وفي أوائل الثمانينيات، وعملت كمستشارة للعديد من أفراد الأسرة الحاكمة الكويتية الذين كانوا مهتمين بجمع مقتنيات الفن الإسلامي. بعد تشكيل مجموعاتها الخاصة، باعت كل مقتنياتها لمتابعة شغفها بمطبخ Leventine. وقد كرّست نفسها  لتبرهن للغرب مدى تنوع الطباق الشرقية ، لذا قامت بتأليف العديد من الكتب بما في ذلك “المطبخ اللبناني” (1994)، و”شارع كافيه المغرب” (1998) وهو عبارة عن مقدمة عن النكهات اللطيفة للمطبخ المغربي، و”الربع الخامس” (2004) وهو كتاب يوضح طريقة طهي الذبائح. كما حقق كتاباها الأخيران Sweet Middle East (2014) وFeast: Food of the Islamic World (2018)، نجاحاً كبيراً. وهي تخطط الآن لبناء مطبخ تعليمي خاص بها في صقلية.

نورة الكعبي

أول مواطنة إماراتية يتم تصنيفها على قائمة أفضل 100 مفكر عالمي لمجلة فورين بوليسي، لقد كسرت نورة الكعبي المعايير النمطيّة للمرأة الإماراتية في كل خطوة تقوم بها. في بداية حياتها المهنية، تولت منصب المدير التنفيذي لشركة الإعلام Twofour54 القائمة في أبو ظبي. خلال فترة وجودها هناك، عملت مع شركات مثل CNN وFox International وجذبت إنتاجات ضخمة مثل Furious 7 وStar Wars: The Force Awakens إلى العاصمة الإماراتية. الكعبي عضو متكرر في وزارات دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث شغلت منصب وزيرة الدولة لشؤون المجلس الوطني الاتحادي في عام 2016، ثم وزيرة الثقافة وتنمية المعرفة في عام 2017، وعُينت مؤخراً وزيرة للثقافة والشباب في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في يوليو 2020.

سهير بلحسن

كانت الناشطة الحقوقية والصحفية التونسية من أشد المنتقدين للرئيس التونسي السابق بن علي خلال ثورة 2011 وقد ناضلت في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان في بلدها لسنوات. بدأت عملها مع الرابطة التونسية لحقوق الإنسان عام 1984 لتصبح نائبة رئيس المنظمة بعد ثماني سنوات. كما شغلت منصب رئيس الاتحاد الدولي لحقوق الإنسان ومقره باريس في عام 2007. وقد حصلت هذه المرأة البالغة من العمر 77 عاماً على جائزة “شمال – جنوب” لمجلس أوروبا.

نادين لبكي

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Nadine Labaki (@nadinelabaki)

لا تكتمل القائمة دون ذكر المخرجة اللبنانية نادين لبكي. وهي مشهورة بتحديها للصور النمطية الإقليمية ومعالجة المحرمات الاجتماعية والثقافية من خلال أعمالها. لطالما كان الدين والحرب ودور المرأة في المجتمع وتحديات الحياة اليومية في لبنان المواضيع التي تُحب لبكي تسليط الضوء عليها في كل أعمالها. تم عرض فيلمها الكوميدي الرومانسي “كراميل” لأول مرة في مهرجان كان السينمائي في عام 2007 وحقق نجاحاً كبيراً، حيث أصبح اليوم من الأفلام المفضلة لعشاق المخرجة. غالباً ما تعمل مع ممثلين غير محترفين وتطور أفلاماً تدور حول قصصهم الحقيقية كما في فيلمها ” كفرناحوم” لعام 2018. فاز هذا الفيلم العاطفي بالعديد من الجوائز الدولية وتم ترشيحه لجوائز الأوسكار وغولدن غلوب، وهو الآن الفيلم العربي والشرق أوسطي صاحب أعلى إيرادات على الإطلاق. في ظل إخراج أربعة أفلام فقط، لا يسعنا الانتظار لنرى ما في جعبة لبكي.

تانيا فارس

رائدة الأعمال والناشطة في مجال الأعمال الخيرية وراعية الفن ومستشارة الموضة تانيا فارس هي مؤسسة منظمة Fashion Trust Arabia (FTA) غير الربحية. تكرّس هذه اللبنانية نفسها للكشف عن مواهب الموضة في المنطقة ورعايتها. بدأت مشروعها الذي مقره لندن في عام 2011 مع Fashion Trust وهي مبادرة تدعم المصممين البريطانيين في المملكة المتحدة. بعد مساعدة مصممين مثل ماري كاترانتزو وإميليا ويكستيد وصوفيا ويبستر في الوصول إلى الشهرة، قررت فارس العودة إلى جذورها من خلال إطلاق منظمة Fashion Trust Arabia.

هدى قطان

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Huda Kattan (@huda)

لم تتمكن أي امرأة عربية أخرى من ترك بصمتها الخاصة في صناعة الجمال مثل هدى قطان. وفقاً لمؤشر Cosmetify، تم تصنيف خبيرة التجميل ومؤسسة علامة “هدى بيوتي” للتجميل الأكثر مبيعاً في العالم كأفضل شخصية مؤثرة في عالم الجمال. بدأت قطان حياتها المهنية كفنانة مكياج ومدونة تجميل، أطلقت هدى قطان أول منتج لها في عام 2011 وكان عبارة عن زوج من الرموش الاصطناعية. اليوم توسّعت علامتها التي تحمل اسمها لبيع مجموعة جديدة من منتجات المكياج من أحمر الشفاه السائل إلى كريمات الأساس التي توفر تغطية كاملة والبودرة، وكلها تباع بسرعة هائلة. كما أضافت قطان إلى مجوعتها العطور ومجموعة للعناية بالبشرة تسمى Wishful. استقالت من منصبها كرئيسة تنفيذية لشركة “هدى بيوتي” مؤخراً للتركيز أكثر على إنتاج المحتوى، تفتخر فنانة الماكياج بحضورها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي حيث حازت على 2.2 مليون متابع على الإنستاغرام  و4.15 مليون مشترك في قناتها على يوتيوب.

لينا الأزعر

Lina Lazaar

خبيرة الفن المولودة في السعودية هي ابنة جامع المقتنيات الفنية التونسي كمال الأزعر ورئيس مؤسسته الفنية التي تحمل الاسم نفسه. في بداية مسيرتها المهنية انضمت إلى دار Sotheby’s حيث تعاملت مع الفن المعاصر، ونظمت بعض أهم معارض الفن الإسلامي بالإضافة إلى المزادات الفنية العربية والإيرانية. ثم أسست “إبراز” وهي منصة على الإنترنت مخصصة للفنون من المنطقة، وJaou وهو حدث فني سنوي على مستوى المدينة في تونس. بصفتها القوة الرائدة في مؤسسة كمال الأزعر، أسست B7L9 وهو مركز فني يقع في قلب بلدة ريفية بسيطة في تونس “بحر لزرق” لإضفاء الطابع الديمقراطي و جعل الفن متاحاً للجميع في وطنها الأصلي.

الأميرة ريما بنت بندر آل سعود

بعد الانتهاء من دراستها للفنون في الولايات المتحدة، عادت الأميرة ريما بنت بندر آل سعود إلى وطنها المملكة العربية السعودية حيث ركزت على تمكين المرأة في المملكة. في عام 2000 شاركت في تأسيس “نادي يبرين” وهو نادٍ رياضي نسائي. ثم عملت بعد ذلك على دمج المرأة في العمل في متجر “هارفي نيكولز الرياض” الفاخر، وافتتحت أول حضانة في مكان العمل في المتجر، ثم قامت بتأسيس “ألف خير” وهي مؤسسة اجتماعية تسعى لتحقيق الاكتفاء الذاتي المالي للمرأة السعودية. كما أصبحت عضواً مؤسساً لجمعية زهرة  للتوعية بسرطان الثدي. ركزت آل سعود على وجود المرأة في الرياضة بصفتها نائب رئيس شؤون المرأة في الهيئة العامة للرياضة السعودية وعضو في اللجنة الأولمبية السعودية واللجنة الأولمبية الدولية ولجنة المرأة في الرياضة. في عام 2019 تم تعيينها سفيرة للمملكة العربية السعودية في الولايات المتحدة لتصبح أول سفيرة للسعودية.

عزة عبد الحميد

كرسّت عبد الحميد نفسها لتحسين دور الأيتام في مصر، لذا أسست جمعية “نداء” في عام 1997 للمساعدة في إعادة التأهيل والاندماج الاجتماعي للأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطرابات التواصل الحسي. بعد عقد من الزمن ارتقت بمشروعها من خلال إنشاء جمعية “وطنية لتنمية وتطوير دور الأيتام”. تعمل المنظمة على مبادرات تهدف إلى تمكين الأيتام ودور الأيتام ومقدمي الرعاية وتنميتهم، فضلاً عن برامج رعاية الأطفال ومنتديات الشباب والمنح التعليمية. كما تعاونت “وطنية” مع وزارة التضامن الاجتماعي لفحص الجودة والإشراف على دور الأيتام ومع المنظمات غير الحكومية الأخرى.

شارك هذا المقال

10 Trailblazing Arab Women to Celebrate Today and Everyday

Happy International Women’s Day!

by

Like the iconic Arab divas who shaped the music golden era for over a century—think Um Kulthum and Fairuz, women across every field have continued to challenge the status quo in the region. From the art and fashion to the culinary world, Arab women are paving the way for a valuable presence of female voices through their unmatched resilience and strength. 

One thing they all have in common: they’re not afraid of taking risks. From pushing forward the region’s fashion industry to transforming the Arab world into a fully-fledged art hub, they’ve made what was once thought impossible happen.

Some might argue that patriarchal attitudes are steeped too deep in the Arab world, but these women clearly see things differently. In honour of International Women’s Day, MILLE is celebrating 10 Arab women visionaries beating to their own drum. 

Sheikha Hoor Al Qasimi

Sheikha Hoor Al QasimiFew women have impacted the UAE’s art scene like Hoor Al Qasimi. The artist, curator and designer behind Sharjah Art Foundation, has been cementing the Emirates as one of the key players in the regional and international art world. A faithful supporter of emerging artists , Al Qasimi has curated major exhibitions worldwide and is the force behind artist and curator residencies in visual art, film and music in Sharjah. Al Qasimi also spearheads the Sharjah Architecture Triennial, and has served as a jury for Berlin International Film Festival and Dubai International Film Festival. After the death of her twin brother Sheikh Khalid bin Sultan bin Muhammad Al Qasimi in 2019, she took over as creative director of his brand Qasimi.

Anissa Helou

One of the “100 Most Powerful Arab Women” and the “500 most influential Arabs” according to Arabian Business magazine, the Syrian-Lebanese chef started with a career in interior design, going on to become a Sotheby’s representative for the Middle East soon after graduating. She ran an antique shop in Paris and in the early 80’s served as an adviser to several members of the Kuwaiti ruling family who were then forming collections of Islamic art. After forming her own collections along the way, she sold everything to pursue her passion for Leventine cuisine. On a mission to demonstrate to the West the diversity of Eastern food, she wrote many books including Lebanese Cuisine (1994), Street Café Morocco (1998) an introduction to the subtle flavours of Moroccan cuisine and The Fifth Quarter (2004) a book on the uses and delights of offal. Her latest books Sweet Middle East (2014) and Feast: Food of the Islamic World (2018) were also a major success. She is now planning to build her own teaching kitchen in Sicily.

Noura Al Kaabi

The first UAE National to be ranked on Foreign Policy magazine’s Top 100 Global Thinkers List, Noura Al Kaabi has been breaking the norm for Emirati women in her every move. Early in her career, she took on the role of CEO of Abu Dhabi-based media company Twofour54. During her time there, she worked with companies including CNN and Fox International and attracted blockbuster productions like Furious 7 and Star Wars: The Force Awakens to the Emirati capital. Al Kaabi has been a recurrent member of the UAE’s ministries; she was the Minister of State for Federal National Council Affairs in 2016, then Minister for Culture and Knowledge Development in 2017 and recently she was named UAE’s Minister of Culture and Youth in July 2020.

Souhayr Belahssen

The Tunisian human rights activist and journalist was a vocal critic of former Tunisian President Ben Ali during the 2011 revolution and fought in defense of human rights in her country for years. She started out with the Tunisian Human Rights League in 1984 becoming Vice President of the organization eight years later. She also served as the President of the Paris-based International Federation for Human Rights in 2007. The 77-year-old also has a North-South Prize of the Council of Europe under her belt.

Nadine Labaki

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Nadine Labaki (@nadinelabaki)

The list would not be complete without leading Lebanese filmmaker Nadine Labaki. She is known for challenging regional stereotypes and addressing social and cultural taboos in her productions. Religion, war, women’s role in society, and everyday life challenges in Lebanon are all topics that Labaki loves to put at the forefront of her work. Her romantic comedy Caramel premiered at Cannes Film Festival in 2007 and was a huge success, standing as a cult-favourite today. She often casts non-professional actors and develops films around their real stories as in the case of her 2018 film Capernaum. The emotional drama won several awards internationally and was nominated in both the Academy Awards and Golden Globes. It is now the highest-grossing Arabic film, and the highest-grossing Middle-Eastern film of all time. With only four films under her belt, we can’t wait to see what Labaki still has up her sleeves.

Tania Fares


Entrepreneur, philanthropist, art patron and fashion consultant Tania Fares is the woman behind non-profit organization Fashion Trust Arabia (FTA). The Lebanese-born has been on a mission to uncover and nurture fashion talents in the region like no other. Based in London, her venture began in 2011 with Fashion Trust, an initiative supporting British designers in the UK. After helping designers like Mary Katrantzou, Emilia Wickstead and Sophia Webster rise to fame, Fares decided to go back to her roots by launching Fashion Trust Arabia. 

Huda Kattan

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Huda Kattan (@huda)

No other Arab woman has made her mark in the beauty industry like Huda Kattan. The beauty mogul and boss is the founder of Huda Beauty, the world’s most in-demand beauty label according to The Cosmetify Index. Kattan began her career as a makeup artist and beauty blogger, going on to launch her first product—a pair of eyelashes—in 2011. Today, her namesake brand has grown to sell an array of makeup products from liquid lipsticks to super-inclusive foundations and baking powders, all of which are quick to sell out. Kattan also added fragrances and a skincare line named Wishful to her repertoire. Recently stepping down as CEO of Huda Beauty to focus more on content production, the makeup artist boasts a cult-like social media presence, with 2.2 million followers on IG and 4.15 million subscribers to her YouTube channel.

Lina Lazaar

Lina LazaarThe Saudi-born art guru is the daughter of Tunisian collector and patron Kamel Lazaar and the president of his namesake art foundation. Early on in her career, she joined Sotheby’s where she dealt with contemporary art, organising some of the most important Islamic Art exhibitions as well as Arab and Iranian arit auctions. She then established Ibraaz, an online platform dedicated to art from the region. Jaou, an annual city-wide art event in Tunis, followed. As the leading forces within Kamel Lazaar Foundation, she was behind the establishment of B7L9, an art hub set in the heart of one of Tunis’s most impoverished neighbourhoods, Bhar Lazreg, with a mission to democratize art in her native country.

Princess Reema Bint Bandar Al Saud

After finishing her studies in arts in the US, Princess Reema Bint Bandar Al Saud returned to her home country Saudi Arabia, where she focused on the empowerment of women in the Kingdom. In 2000, she co-founded Yibreen, a women’s gym. She then worked on female inclusion as part of luxury retail company Harvey Nichols Riyadh, opening up the first workplace nursery in the retail store and going on to found Alf Khair, a social enterprise pushing for Saudi women’s financial self-sufficiency. She also became a founding member of the Zahra Breast Cancer Awareness Association. Al Saud has been focused on female presence in sports as Vice President of Women’s Affairs at the Saudi General Sports Authority and a member of the Saudi Arabian Olympic Committee, the International Olympic Committee and Women in Sports Commission. In 2019, she was appointed Saudi Arabia’s ambassador to the US, becoming the first female Saudi ambassador. 

Azza Abdel Hamid

Abdel Hamid has been on a mission to improve orphanages in Egypt and to do so she founded Nida Society in 1997 to aid in the rehabilitation and social integration of children with sensory communication disorders. A decade later, she took things to another level, creating the Wataneya Society for the Development of Orphanages. The organisation works on initiatives aiming to empower and develop orphans, orphanages and caregivers, as well as childcare programs, youth forums and educational scholarships. Wataneya also cooperated with the Ministry of Social Solidarity to quality check and supervise orphanages and other NGOs.

Share this article