علامة Okhtein تسترجع ذكريات الماضي

العلامة المصرية ترتقي باستحضار الذكريات إلى مستوى آخر

by

قالت لنا كل من موناز وآية عبد الرؤوف مؤسستا العلامة المصرية “أختين” أو Okhtein في إشارةٍ إلى فترة الحجر الصحي: “للمرة الأولى منذ زمن، شعرنا أن الوقت توقف فعلاً وتمكنا من التعمق أكثر في اكتشاف أنفسنا”.

بعد أن عاشتا في القاهرة، وجد الثنائي عزاءهما في التأمل وإعادة التواصل مع ذاتهما الداخلية، وأحدث مجموعة لهما بعنوان “Re-connect” خير دليل على ذلك.

هذا الموسم، لم تبتكر الأختان رؤوف أيّ تصاميم جديدة، بل قامتا باستحضار التصاميم الكلاسيكية لعلامة Okhtein، وأعادتا ابتكار القطع من مجموعات العلامة القديمة، ولكن لا تعتقدون أن هذا حصل بسبب افتقار العلامة إلى الإلهام!

في الواقع، لا علاقة للإلهام بهذه الخطوة، فقد أرغمت عمليات الإغلاق والحجر الصحي حول العالم الجميع على إعادة الاتصال بالطبيعة، وهذا ما حصل مع هذه العلامة أيضاً، إذ قامت عمداً بإضفاء لمسات مستوحاة من الطبيعة على أحدث مجموعة، خاصةً وأن الطبيعة كانت السبب الأساسي في شعور المصممتين بالهدوء والسكينة أثناء تلك الفترة.

تشرح المصممتان “لقد استحضرنا التصاميم القديمة وأعدنا ابتكارها وأضفنا عليها لمسات مستوحاة من بالطبيعة”.

والنتيجة كانت ابتكار الحقائب المصنوعة يدوياً من مواد عضوية تتميّز بالألوان الترابية بأسلوب يراعي الاستدامة. وحقيبة كلاتش Terra خير مثال على ذلك، فهي قطعة أعيد تصميمها بشكل نصف دائري ومزودة بمقبض متعرّج ورباط شد، تأتي بثلاثة تصاميم تتميّز بطبعات مستوحاة من صور مجهرية لجسم الإنسان.

تم تصميمها بدقة متناهية بأيدي الحرفيين المهرة في الهند باستخدام مواد مستدامة مثل نسيج النخيل الإسباني والهندي.

تضيف الأختان “مجموعتنا لموسم ربيع وصيف 2021 هي احتفاء بالأرض وبتراثنا وإحياء لفكرة الاعتناء بأنفسنا والبيئة“.

لإضفاء لمسة أخرى من القرب من الطبيعة والهروب من الواقع، تعاون الثنائي مع مصور الأزياء المغربي موسى المرابط لتصوير هذه الحملة المذهلة في موقع جبلي جميل بعيد، حيث تظهر عارضة الأزياء Athiec Chol Malel مرتدية فساتين ذات ألوان زاهية مستوحاة من الطراز البيزنطي، في إشارة إلى عصر الإمبراطورية البيزنطية للفن والثقافة في مصر.

mr.okhtein.com

شارك هذا المقال

Okhtein Takes A Trip Down Memory Lane

The Egyptian label takes reflection to a new level

by

“For the first time in a while time stood still and we were able to dig deep into ourselves,” Mounaz and Aya Abdel Raoul, the founders of Egyptian label Okhtein tell us. The designer sisters are referring to the lockdowns, of course. 

The duo found solace in reflection and reconnecting with their inner selves. Naturally, their latest collection ‘Re-connect’ is a testament to that.

This season, the Raouls held back from introducing any new styles. Instead, they have revisited Okhtein classics, reinterpreting pieces from previous collections. This isn’t due to a lack of inspiration, though. 

In fact, inspiration might have nothing to do with it. Lockdowns forced the world to reconnect with nature, and they were no exception. They’ve decidedly given their signature pieces a touch of what kept them grounded through it all: nature. 

“We would look back at old designs, rework them, and reminisce over their inspirations linking them to nature,” they explain.

As a result, the handmade bags ooze organic structure and earthy colors and are made with sustainability in mind. The Terra bag, a semi-circular clutch with a zig-zag-shaped handle and drawstring detailing, is reinterpreted in three customized print designs, inspired by patterns of microscopic images from the human body, for example.

Meticulously crafted by artisans in India, they are all created using sustainable materials like Spanish and Indian raffia. 

“Our SS21 collection is a celebration of earth, our heritage, and the vitality of looking after both ourselves and the environment,” the sisters state. 

To add yet another layer of naturalism and escapism, the duo teamed up with Moroccan fashion photographer Mous Lamrabat to shoot a dreamy campaign in a beautiful remote mountain location. Model Athiec Chol Malel is seen in brightly colored Byzantine-inspired gowns, in a nod to Egypt’s Byzantine era of art and culture.

mr.okhtein.com

Share this article