تعرّفوا على فلوكة: أسلوب جديد من الراب المصري

فنانة نيو سول تقلب الهيب هوب العربي رأساً على عقب

by

بعد قرن من ظهور أم كلثوم الأسطورية لأول مرة، لا تزال المرأة بمثابة ركن أساسي في الموسيقى العربية. عبر أجيال من المغنين الفولكلوريين إلى البوب ​​التجاري، لا تزال كل من فيروز وصباح ووردة ونانسي عجرم وإليسا في صدارة المشهد الموسيقي العربي.  

ومع اعتماد العرب لموسيقى الهيب هوب كموسيقى مفضلة لديهم، قاموا باتباع القالب الأمريكي لهذه الموسيقى التي يسيطر عليها الذكور. من المغرب إلى الخليج يسيطر الرجال على المشهد الموسيقي.

باعتبار مصر موطناً لأحد أكبر مشاهد الراب في المنطقة، فقد أحرزت تقدماً كبيراً في هذا النوع الجديد من الموسيقى، من خلال استحواذ مغنّي الراب الذكور أمثال أبيوسف ومروان موسى ومروان بابلو على المشهد الموسيقي. إلا أنّ فلوكة، واسمها الحقيقي سارة المسيري، تمكنت من إعادة تعريف مصير الراب العربي ليكون أكثر انسجاماً مع تاريخ الموسيقى العربية الذي لطالما استحوذت عليه النساء.

على الرغم من أنّها تبلغ من العمر 22 عاماً فقط، إلا أنّ موسيقاها تقف بقوة بمفردها كدليل على قدرتها على الاستحواذ على مشهد الراب العربي . أطلقت فلوكة في أكتوبر ألبومها الأول بعنوان Citadel، حيث شبه عشاق موسيقى الهيب هوب العرب موسيقاها التي تنتمي إلى فئة موسيقى السول الجديدة بصوت لورين هيل وإريكا باد، وغيرهم الكثير.

مع تزايد عدد معجبيها، لفتت فلوكة انتباه شركة سبوتيفاي، التي قامت بإدراج أغانيها إلى جانب أغاني أبيوسف ومروان بابلو ضمن منصة أغاني الراب المصرية. في الآونة الأخيرة، استحوذت مغنية الراب الشابة على قناة البث العملاقة المحبوبةArab X  . مع إطلاق ألبومها الجديد Dream 23 أضافت المغنية إلى نجاحها إنجازات كبيرة.

احتفاءً بإصدار ألبومها الجديد، التقينا بالفنانة لنتحدث عن إبداعاتها في خضم الوباء وحبها للكتابة ومدى تأثير القاهرة على موسيقاها.

علينا في البداية السؤال عن لقبك الذي نال شهرة كبيرة. هل يمكنك إخبارنا بقصّة اختيار هذا اللقب؟
كنت أجلس مع أمي في شرفة منزلنا في القاهرة نقترح أسماء للفرقة عندما خطر ببالي اسم فلوكة. ما زال الجدال حول الاسم مستمراً . أريد أن أجسد المد والجزر في أشعاري تماماً مثل الزورق الذي يبحر على طول النهر.

من الواضح تأثّر فنك بالقاهرة. كيف كان يبدو الأمر عندما نشأت في هذه المدينة؟
أن تنشأ في القاهرة أمر مثير للاهتمام لأن لدينا تجربة غربية كبيرة في المحتوى الشرق أوسطي. بإمكاني التحدث فقط عن نفسي وعن الدائرة المحيطة بي، لكن يبدو أن جيلي والجيل القادم نتجه نحو صحوة جديدة معاصرة فيما يتعلق بالشعور بالفخر بالطبيعة الديناميكية والتطور الحقيقي للموسيقى والثقافة العربية. نحن لسنا مقيّدين بالتقاليد إلا أنّها تعتبر قوة دافعة لنا نحو نقطة التقاطع: حيث يلتقي جوهر الشرق الأوسط بالطابع الغربي.

كونك مقيمة الآن في مدينة نيويورك. كيف يمكنك البقاء على تواصل مع منطقة أنت بعيدة عنها؟
على الرغم من أنني أعيش حالياً في نيويورك إلا أنني لم أشعر أبداً بالبعد عن العالم العربي. أنا على تواصل تام معه من خلال الموسيقى والثقافة وتنوع الأشخاص من حولي. القاهرة هي موطني وهذا أمر مفروغ منه.

انتقلت إلى مدينة نيويورك لدراسة الكتابة الإبداعية. هل تؤثر هذه التجربة على موسيقاك؟
لقد كان كتاب مثل رضوى عاشور وهاروكي موراكامي وشعراء مثل نيرة وحيد وأوشن فونغ مصدر إلهام كبير بالنسبة لي. إن نثرهم وشعرهم يؤثر بي بشكل كبير لدرجة أنه دفعني نحو الاستوديو.

الشيء الوحيد الذي يميز موسيقاك هو براعتك في تقديم موسيقى الراب التي تمزج بين اللغتين الإنجليزية والعربية. كيف تبدو عملية الكتابة؟
أحب دمج اللغات والأساليب والمفاهيم في عملي. في الواقع لم يكن يمثل هذا الأمر تحدياً من وجهة نظر الإنتاج؛ لأنني عندما أكتب أشعاري لا افكر باللغة بل بالطريقة التي تحرك مشاعري . قد تكمن الصعوبة في كيفية تلقي الناس لهذه المادة. إنني لا ابتكر موسيقى للبث أو المتابعين. يجب أن أبقى وفية لعملية الإبداع الخاصة بي؛ والحقيقة أن كليهما يأتيني بشكل طبيعي.

لقد أطلقت ألبومك الجديد Dream 23، هل يمكن أن تخبريني عن مصدر إلهامك؟
يعتبر ألبوم Dream 23 مزيجاً من التجارب التي مررنا بها خلال أوائل عام 2020. وكان الإلهام محتوماً. لقد استوحيت الألبوم من فنانين أمثال لورين هيل وجاي كول. إنّ إلهامي مزيج من الهواء والأرض وهي عناصر قد ميّزت الألبوم.

لقد كتبت وسجلت الألبوم في خضم انتشار جائحة كورونا. هل وجدت التجربة صعبة؟
تم كتابة الألبوم بالكامل وتسجيله خلال الجائحة. بصراحة، وجدت من تلك الفترة سهولة في التركيز على الموسيقى والعمل. لم أحبس نفسي في مكان وزمان بقدر ما تركت الإلهام يتدفق من خلالي. قضيت وقتي في منتصف الطريق بين هارلم وبروكلين، وأقوم بتسجيل وتبادل النغمات والملاحظات مع المنتجين، لقد كانت تجربة غاية في الروعة.

شارك هذا المقال

Meet Felukah: a New Kind of Egyptian Rapper

The neo-soulful artist flipping Arab hip-hop on its head

by

A century after legendary Umm Kalthum made her debut, women remain the lynchpin of Arabic music. Across generations, from folk to commercial pop, it’s Fairuz, Sabah, Warda, Nancy Ajram and Elissa that stand on Arab music’s highest pedestals. 

But as Arabs welcome hip-hop as their preferred genre, its American male mold was adopted too. From the Maghreb to the Khaleej, men rule the scene. 

Egypt, home to one of the region’s biggest rap scenes, leapt at the new genre without exception, with male rappers Abyusif, Marwan Moussa, and Marwan Pablo raking in the most streams. But, Felukah, born Sara El Messiry, might just reconfigure Arab rap’s fate to one that’s more in line with Arab music’s female-led history

She might be just 22-years-old, but her music staunchly stands on its own as testimony to that possibility. In October, Felukah dropped her debut album ‘Citadel’, and Arab hip-hop enthusiasts compared her neo-soul sound to that of Lauryn Hill and Erykah Bad, flocking to hear more. 

As her fanbase grew, Felukah caught the attention of Spotify, with her songs playlisted alongside Abyusif and Marwan Pablo on the platform’s Egyptian Rap playlist. Most recently, the young rapper covered the streaming giant’s coveted ‘Arab X’ playlist. With a new album ‘Dream 23’ having just dropped, her list of accomplishments is bound to grow. 

To celebrate her latest release, we caught up with the artist to chat about creating it in the midst of a pandemic, her love for writing, and how Cairo influences her music. 

To start off, your name immediately stands out. Can you tell us the story behind it?
I was sitting with my mom in our balcony back in Cairo bouncing stage names back and forth when she thought up Felukah. The philosophy around the name unfolded organically after that. Just like a felucca that’s sailing along the river, I want to embody an ebb and flow in my verse. 

Clearly, Cairo has served as an influence in your art. What was it like to grow up in the city?
Growing up in Cairo was interesting because we had a very Western experience in a Middle Eastern context. I can only speak for myself and my own circle, but it feels as though my generation and the next are waking up to a certain postmodern pride in the dynamic nature and true evolution of Arab music and culture. We are not bound by tradition, we are fuelled by it and moved to the point of crossover: where Middle Eastern essence meets Western delivery.

But now you’re based in New York City. How do you stay connected to the region being so far away?
I currently live in New York, yes, but I never really feel far from the Arab world. I’m always connected through music, culture, and the diversity of the people around me. Cairo is my home-base and that goes without saying.

You moved to NYC to study creative writing. Does that experience influence your music?
Writers like Radwa Ashour, Haruki Murakami and poets like Nayyirah Waheed and Ocean Vuong inspire me deeply. Their prose and poetry speak volumes to me, so much so that it pushed me into the studio. 

One thing that sets your music apart is your dexterity in rapping in English and Arabic. What does that writing process look like?
I do like fusing languages, genres and concepts in my work. It actually hasn’t been challenging from a production standpoint; I think and feel in this way so I’m just staying true to my process. The difficulty might be in how people receive the material. But I don’t make music for streams or followers. I have to just stay true to my creative process; and the fact is that both come naturally to me. 

You have new album out, ‘Dream 23’, what inspired you to create the record?
“Dream 23” was an amalgamation of experiences felt and processed during early 2020. The inspiration was a long time coming, though. I drew on artists like Lauryn Hill, Mac Miller, and J Cole. [My] inspiration is a combination of air and earth, elements highlighted in the album.

You wrote and recorded the album in the midst of a pandemic. Did you find the experience challenging?
The entire record was written and recorded during the pandemic. Honestly, I found it easy to zone in and surrender to the craft. I didn’t lock myself in a space and time as much as I let it flow through me. Spending my time halfway between Harlem and Brooklyn, recording and exchanging beats and notes with producers, then polishing it all was a beautiful experience.

Share this article